We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value, excellent views, great breakfast”
Review of Hotel du Pillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Pillon
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2011

An excellent hotel; the room was very spacious, the view from the balcony was excellent and the breakfast the next morning was the second best of our entire trip, which is saying quite a lot believe me. The common area was very warm and inviting, it would be an interesting place to be during the busy winter ski season, though it's relatively dead in the summer. If you enjoy driving the road that leads up to this hotel is AMAZING, one of the best we found in Europe; I drove up and down it 3 times just for fun. The price was maybe a BIT high, but not too bad for Europe. Our only complaint was that the room itself had a somewhat unpleasant smell, I think probably it was all of the hardwood in there but I'm not sure, and who knows, someone else might like that smell and you get used to it soon enough anyway. PS there are a couple resident cats who live in the hotel, which we loved, but if you're deathly allergic to cats or something you might want to inquire about that.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyguyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

The owners describe this as a 5 star B&B rather than a hotel, but it's much more than that. Frances, the owner, sold one of his Parisian art galleries to fund the rennovation of this old Swiss finishing school and the evidence of his artistic flair is to be seen throughout the beautiful lounges and sitting rooms downstairs, all of which are available for guests to use.
The whole place is beautifully furnished to the highest quality and Frances and Charlotte are exceptional hosts, always ready to have a chat as they welcome you into their home.
We had dinner there over 3 nights (not a set menu, so you just take what's set in front of you) - the food was to the highest standard and most enjoyable.
Our whole stay was wonderful and we look forward to our next visit to Les Diablerets.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We came out from london for some late-season skiing if we could find it. The hotel was perfect for what we wanted - very friendly and the people who run it are really enthusiastic about the area and are totally helpful with advice and logistics. On top of which the food really was awesome. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xenbanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed for a week and were much impressed. the rooms are lovely. there is a log fire to welcome guests all day. the lounge areas are very comfortable and the owners are extremely welcoming. We had a health problem and they could not have been more helpful. the food is excellent too. this hotel is a little out of town and this is part of its charm because it is in a prime high position, giving the rooms spectacular views.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trippers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Du Pillon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has lots of charm and character and the rooms, whilst not luxurious, are extremely comfortable and exceptionally clean. The owner Francis was friendly and helpful without imposing in any way and his chef, Jean-Phillipe, produced outstanding traditional food. Les Diablerets is an expensive place to visit, therefore, Hotel Du Pillon isn't exactly great value for money, however, compared to the other restaurants and hotels in the village, the prices were fairly standard. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This hotel is in a lovely location about 10 minutes walk from Les Diablerets.
It is very much the personal vision of its owner who takes a lot of care both in the physical quality of the place and the service given.
My room on the first floor was quiet, spotlessly clean and charming, with a balcony and lovely view and ensuite facilities. The upper floors of the hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment , but this did not create any disturbance.
The public rooms are also very pleasant and full of character with interesting objects and paintings.
The service was excellent and very thoughtful. Please note that there is no menu for evening meal served to guests - it is whatever the owner decides to provide that evening, but it was always very good and he was very considerate in his accommodation of my specific dietary requirements. There is also a good choice of food for breakfast and in both cases some really nice local produce.
All hotels describe their customers as guests, but in Hotel du Pillon I really did feel like a guest . It is a great place not only to be in but also from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. I came away having had a wonderful time and feeling really relaxed. I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Artydeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

The owner kindly collected us from the train station upon our arrival. The hotel is about 15 min walk from the station. So it really helped as we have our luggages and 3 children with us. We had dinner at the hotel one night and the paella was very good! My only complaint was the dessert which came out of a tin can! We had a family room w ensuite shower. But we have to walk down the hall to the toilet - quite an odd configuration I thought. I couldn't believe it when I found out the hotel offers FREE internet wi-fi connection! So I was able to check my email and Facebook on my iPhone. Overall stay experience, food, cleanliness, views, location, friendliness --- all 4 stars !!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank AsianIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Diablerets
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Chamois
Hotel Le Chamois
#3 of 4 in Les Diablerets
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#1 of 4 in Les Diablerets
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sources
Hotel Les Sources
#4 of 4 in Les Diablerets
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
661 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
5.9 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#4 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pillon

Address: Bovets, chemin des 16, Les Diablerets 1865, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Les Diablerets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Price Range: £95 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Pillon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Historic Hotel, small charming hotel with 12 rooms located outside the village in the countryside, renovated in 2010. Classified catalog of the most beautiful hotels in Switzerland by Swiss Heritage for its 1900 architecture and interior decoration. Unlike the standard large hotels you will find here the feeling of being at home. The perfect location of the hotel facing the Glacier 3000; from its large terrace or from the balconies of the rooms you can admire the outstanding view on the snowy peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Pillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pillon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing