We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Rheinfels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rheinfels
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stein am Rhein
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel is ideally situated, literally everything on the doorstep & right on the river. The bedroom was large & clean but seriously needed updating - shower room & decor. Public rooms quirky with suits of armour & stuffed polar bear. The evening meal, included in our tour, was adequate but we had a much better meal (also part of the tour) at the Hotel Adler in the square. The breakfast choice was minimal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dash240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We walked in from the train station, no pre-booking. We were allowed to view the room. It was like staying at your grandmothers - older decor, but clean. Our room was quite spacious. (Incidentally, getting to the town is not well marked from the station. When you exit the stub road from the stain, proceed down the road you see just off to the right that goes steeply down towards a bridge. The hotel is just on the other side of the bridge).

We loved staying here, because we could enter the public swimming area just across the street. We are over 50, but enjoyed mingling with the Swiss youth, who were swimming, boating, and jumping off the bridge. The bridge view is so attractive, as it is covered with flowers in summer.

We did not eat here - we spent time in town instead, so I can't tell you about the food. But if you're arriving by rail, you'll get here quickly without hauling your bags everywhere.

Room Tip: The swimming pool is the Rhine River - nothing better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urbanrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you appreciate historic and character buildings, this is your hotel: 5 centuries old and you can still see and feel it all around you. Location is superb being right in the old town with the river running past you (we were taking photographs of the fish in the river from our room). Unfortunately for the 2 nights we were there the WIFI was not working and the staff were not able to assist. The manageress was downright rude and uncooperative when we finally found her. A downside to the hotel is that they do not seem to have a manned reception so we had to bother the cooks with our inquiries. Also the entrance hallway is quite off-putting, one of the first sights you come across as you walk in is their 'not so spotless kitchen'. Breakfasts are OK and the rooms just acceptably clean. With a different manageress, I would recommend a stay there to really get into the mood of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WRS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel enjoys prime location directly at the Rhine river and a stone's throw from the old town which is an absolute must to see for anyone visiting Switzerland. This is not a place with many stars and a lot of trimmings; well it is some 500 years old, a good hotel with reasonable prices. However, what is spectacular is the food: especially fresh fish. Providing the weather plays along it is very nice to sit on the terrace looking at the calmly flowing Rhine. The owner couple are an excellent team together with the friendly service staff. They know what they are doing since as the family has owned and managed this property since 1954. We will be going back shortly for another look at Stein am Rhein!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aromdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This was a lovely old Swiss hotel. Yes it could do with am update here or there but this added to the character for us. We had a great room overlooking the river. It was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was pink and the towel rail did not work but it was one of the most powerful showers we had on our trip. I must say I was disappointed with breakfast. With all the reports of great dinners the breakfast was basic. Not bad but not as good as all the others we had on our trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful all in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room over the river is must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I must say I cannot believe that the last review for this hotel was back in October 2011! The hotel building is over 400 years old and has loads of character with exposed timber and creaky floorboards! Yes the halls are dark but there are light switches everywhere. We stayed for two nights and was booked by our cycle tour company. We were allocated room 36, on the third floor and it had Lake/Rhein views. What a bonus. We had good weather so there was heaps of boating activities on the lake/river. The staff were really helpful and friendly too. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was simple but sufficient to start us off on our ride to the next destination! Restaurant was really good too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

It was booked by the organizers of Star Symposium . I got a river side room, which offers a very nice view of the Rhein river. It is bit small and congested hotel. But rooms are nice. A river side restaurant is just beneath. Breakfast is fine. Staff are not nice though bit weak in English. Room charges are bit high. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeelSarovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stein am Rhein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chlosterhof
Hotel Chlosterhof
#1 of 6 in Stein am Rhein
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#5 of 6 in Stein am Rhein
54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Landgasthof Hotel Hirschen
Landgasthof Hotel Hirschen
#3 of 6 in Stein am Rhein
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Zur Rheingerbe
Hotel-Restaurant Zur Rheingerbe
#6 of 6 in Stein am Rhein
15 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#6 of 7 in Schaffhausen
160 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rheinfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinfels

Address: Rhigass 8, Stein am Rhein 8260, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Stein am Rhein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stein am Rhein
Price Range: £123 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rheinfels 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rheinfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing