We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect ending to a wonderful trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wallawwa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The perfect ending to a wonderful trip!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked The Wallawwa for our last night in Sri Lanka to be close to the airport without being in touristy Negombo. We arrived early in the afternoon so that we could take full advantage of what appeared to be a beautiful, peaceful hotel. We are so glad we did! The hotel itself was great: sleek and modern but with loads of character. The service was very good: check in and check out were quick, and the hotel arranged transportation for us to the airport for our flight. And the food was very good, as well.

This was a perfect place for us to begin to transition back into life in the UK after nearly 3 weeks abroad. The Wallawwa embodies all of the things we grew to love about Sri Lanka: the beautiful flora and fauna, the amazing food, and the warm hospitality. But the modern conveniences offered at this hotel (easy-to-use printer for printing off our boarding passes) made leaving all that behind just a little bit easier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    171
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
192
556
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel. The service, facilities and food were excellent. The Wallawwa should be viewed as more than a airport stop - it was a most enjoyable experience and worth including as part of any trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebushfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at The Wallawwa. It is close to the airport and a great place to recover after a long flight. The room was lovely and spacious with a large bathroom and window overlooking a garden. It was beautiful around the pool, the staff were very caring and helpful. The food was wonderful, in fact out of the many delicious Sri Lankan curries we had during our ten day stay,this was the best one for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mya_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

20 minutes from the airport and an excellent alternative to the touristy hotels on Negombo.It has an old world colonial feel, leafy, tranquil and gentile. The staff are helpful but unobtrusive and property large enough to feel as though the other guests do not intrude. Rooms are well appointed with huge bathrooms and excellent soft furnishings. Complimentary tea and cake is served each afternoon around the lawn. If you had a lengthy lay-over, this would be the perfect spot to doze or read a book. Lovely choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Overall this hotel couldn't have been better! It provides exactly what you need and far more. We stayed here for one night after arriving from the airport and returned here for dinner on our last night.The staff are great, food is fantastic (and there is lots of choice too) and the room was really comfortable. We considered this initially as an 'airport' hotel, but we left wishing we had spent more time here! I also thought their email communication was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent our first night and last night in Sri Lanka here as it was fairly near the airport (20 mins) - also the website looked so nice! We were met on arrival after a long flight and taken in air-conditioned comfort to the hotel - an oasis with beautiful lush gardens and a refreshing swimming pool which we loved. We had a family suite on both visits - with a connected room for the children and a two huge bathrooms. The rooms were modern, clean and nicely decorated with mosquito nets over the beds. The air conditioning worked very well. The highlight was the food - probably the best Sri Lankan curry we had on our trip, and excellent breakfasts - we enjoyed watching the ground squirrels at play nearby! We also appreciated the nice extras such as afternoon tea on the terrace which was complimentary. The staff had a very friendly and relaxed attitude and the driver who took us down to Galle to our next stay (Amangalla - another excellent hotel!) was very pleasant and drove very well using the new highway which had recently opened. Because of the beautiful lush surroundings of this hotel there are mosquitos - they provide mozzie spray and plug-ins in the room so the mozzies were not an issue in the rooms. A great 'airport' hotel that is nothing like an airport hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflowergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for one night at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka and arriving off a busy main road you end up in a beautiful, peaceful retreat that feels like you are surrounded by green country. We stayed in the Mountbatten Suite as the trip was part of our honeymoon, it was incredible with a lovely private plunge pool, we did see the garden rooms and would happily go back and stay in one of those rooms in the future as they are beautifully appointed and finished too.

The food was delicious, we had an amazing evening meal in the lovely restaurant setting and also enjoyed a great breakfast with a good choice of Sri Lankan and international options. We also enjoyed the complimentary tea and biscuits and they delivered a Congratulations cake to our room, knowing that it was out honeymoon.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the whole experience made us feel like we were actually enjoying the stay rather than filling time before going to the airport.

Room Tip: The garden rooms looked lovely. The Mountbatten Suite is a fantastic treat with it's own plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeatkins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
974 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
453 reviews
15.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
15.6 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 50 in Colombo
232 reviews
9.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 41 in Negombo
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Property: The Wallawwa
Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing