We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful”
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wallawwa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our last night in Sri Lanka and ideal for the airport. Delightful setting with lovely gardens. Our room was excellent with an enormous bathroom with very funny shaped slate washbasins, but although we had a garden suite the terrace outside looked out onto a wall only some 10 feet away and thus one would not call it with "garden views." The pool was very disappointing - it looked very dirty and not ideal to swim in it. It had a shelf one end but no steps and thus you had to lower oneself in over the shelf - I have never come across such an odd way of getting into a pool. The dinner was very good and we were given a packed breakfast as we left early - but not impressed with it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legoupil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked The Wallawwa for our last night in Sri Lanka to be close to the airport without being in touristy Negombo. We arrived early in the afternoon so that we could take full advantage of what appeared to be a beautiful, peaceful hotel. We are so glad we did! The hotel itself was great: sleek and modern but with loads of character. The service was very good: check in and check out were quick, and the hotel arranged transportation for us to the airport for our flight. And the food was very good, as well.

This was a perfect place for us to begin to transition back into life in the UK after nearly 3 weeks abroad. The Wallawwa embodies all of the things we grew to love about Sri Lanka: the beautiful flora and fauna, the amazing food, and the warm hospitality. But the modern conveniences offered at this hotel (easy-to-use printer for printing off our boarding passes) made leaving all that behind just a little bit easier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel. The service, facilities and food were excellent. The Wallawwa should be viewed as more than a airport stop - it was a most enjoyable experience and worth including as part of any trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebushfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay at The Wallawwa. It is close to the airport and a great place to recover after a long flight. The room was lovely and spacious with a large bathroom and window overlooking a garden. It was beautiful around the pool, the staff were very caring and helpful. The food was wonderful, in fact out of the many delicious Sri Lankan curries we had during our ten day stay,this was the best one for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mya_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

20 minutes from the airport and an excellent alternative to the touristy hotels on Negombo.It has an old world colonial feel, leafy, tranquil and gentile. The staff are helpful but unobtrusive and property large enough to feel as though the other guests do not intrude. Rooms are well appointed with huge bathrooms and excellent soft furnishings. Complimentary tea and cake is served each afternoon around the lawn. If you had a lengthy lay-over, this would be the perfect spot to doze or read a book. Lovely choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Overall this hotel couldn't have been better! It provides exactly what you need and far more. We stayed here for one night after arriving from the airport and returned here for dinner on our last night.The staff are great, food is fantastic (and there is lots of choice too) and the room was really comfortable. We considered this initially as an 'airport' hotel, but we left wishing we had spent more time here! I also thought their email communication was fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FNCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We spent our first night and last night in Sri Lanka here as it was fairly near the airport (20 mins) - also the website looked so nice! We were met on arrival after a long flight and taken in air-conditioned comfort to the hotel - an oasis with beautiful lush gardens and a refreshing swimming pool which we loved. We had a family suite on both visits - with a connected room for the children and a two huge bathrooms. The rooms were modern, clean and nicely decorated with mosquito nets over the beds. The air conditioning worked very well. The highlight was the food - probably the best Sri Lankan curry we had on our trip, and excellent breakfasts - we enjoyed watching the ground squirrels at play nearby! We also appreciated the nice extras such as afternoon tea on the terrace which was complimentary. The staff had a very friendly and relaxed attitude and the driver who took us down to Galle to our next stay (Amangalla - another excellent hotel!) was very pleasant and drove very well using the new highway which had recently opened. Because of the beautiful lush surroundings of this hotel there are mosquitos - they provide mozzie spray and plug-ins in the room so the mozzies were not an issue in the rooms. A great 'airport' hotel that is nothing like an airport hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflowergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#4 of 43 in Negombo
1,097 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 43 in Negombo
551 reviews
4 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
15.6 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 55 in Colombo
330 reviews
9.3 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range: £125 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing