We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finishing our honeymoon in super luxury”
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wallawwa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Finishing our honeymoon in super luxury”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked our Sri Lanka honeymoon through the excellent Experience Travel - real experts on the country and incredibly helpful.

What a place to finish our honeymoon – we would’ve absolutely loved to stay longer. On arrival we were given the phenomenal Mountbatten suite. The rooms were enormous; we had a lounge area, huge bedroom, dressing room and bathroom half the size of our house! Our own private swimming pool (not plunge, swimmable swimming pool!) and walled garden really set everything off.

The food was incredible – our honeymoon cake was such a great touch. The cocktails and the mocktails both excellent, and the breakfast was done excellently in the morning before we left. The complimentary afternoon tea also went down a treat!

The staff were so nice and helpful. We’d like to give a huge thank you to Kevin, who really couldn’t do enough for us during our stay. He really did make it exceptional so thanks again.

This is what luxury honeymooning hotels should all be about. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olideacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    180
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
206
574
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The staff really stand out at this hotel. I visited the hotel for one night and from the way the staff answered the phone to the way the waitering staff served us it was very impressive. I stayed in the newly built part of the hotel. The room was cozy. We didn't like the bathroom. It was too rustic and too basic for my taste. The gardens of the hotel are nice. The hotel is ideal for one nights stay before going to the airport. The restaurant area was nicely decorated. The food was ok too. We had dinner and breakfast.
The pool looked very tempting even though we didn't use it. Would recommend the place for one nights stay. Ideal for those after a long flight or a tiring holiday around Sri Lanka. Thanks again to the lovely staff!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at the Wallawwa on our way out of Sri Lanka last weekend. The hotel is perfectly located 20 mins from the airport, and thus took out much of the hassle of trying to find a hotel in Colombo.

The Hotel itself is fantastic - friendly staff, fantastic food, and the room was amazing - the bathroom almost bigger than my living room at home! Getting a spa before flying was the perfect way to wind down after a wonderful week travelling around Sri Lanka.

As a place to stay close to the airport, i cannot recommend the Wallawwa more highly, and we will certainly be staying again next time we pass through Sri Lanka.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new block have vast bathrooms with big skylights - lovely having all that natural l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Chose this for location near airport but so wish we could have stayed more than one night.

We had room 16, very large with seating area and small private grassed area outside with more seating. Large TV (the only one on our Sri Lanka tour, did not use it), tea/coffee facilities (again the only ones on our whole tour and very much appreciated), good collection of paperbacks in the room (hotel also has a very elegant library) and some games, even a rubik cube,

Large wet room with nice toiletries, flood shower but no tub.

Restaurant was excellent, with an extensive menu including vegetarian options (I had goat cheese ravioli - delicious). Breakfast options included a wonderful fruit platter and fine 'full English'. Even Marmite !

Extensive landscaped grounds were very well kept and there was plenty of comfortable outdoor seating, whether close enough to the hotel to settle with a drink, or away from it all alone with nature. Sadly did not have time to try the pool and a little puzzled at first that it looked slightly uninviting, then realised that it was tiled in muted colours to better blend with the landscape. Nice idea.

Service throughout was exemplary - smiling and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our last night in Sri Lanka and ideal for the airport. Delightful setting with lovely gardens. Our room was excellent with an enormous bathroom with very funny shaped slate washbasins, but although we had a garden suite the terrace outside looked out onto a wall only some 10 feet away and thus one would not call it with "garden views." The pool was very disappointing - it looked very dirty and not ideal to swim in it. It had a shelf one end but no steps and thus you had to lower oneself in over the shelf - I have never come across such an odd way of getting into a pool. The dinner was very good and we were given a packed breakfast as we left early - but not impressed with it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legoupil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We booked The Wallawwa for our last night in Sri Lanka to be close to the airport without being in touristy Negombo. We arrived early in the afternoon so that we could take full advantage of what appeared to be a beautiful, peaceful hotel. We are so glad we did! The hotel itself was great: sleek and modern but with loads of character. The service was very good: check in and check out were quick, and the hotel arranged transportation for us to the airport for our flight. And the food was very good, as well.

This was a perfect place for us to begin to transition back into life in the UK after nearly 3 weeks abroad. The Wallawwa embodies all of the things we grew to love about Sri Lanka: the beautiful flora and fauna, the amazing food, and the warm hospitality. But the modern conveniences offered at this hotel (easy-to-use printer for printing off our boarding passes) made leaving all that behind just a little bit easier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yala National Park, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel. The service, facilities and food were excellent. The Wallawwa should be viewed as more than a airport stop - it was a most enjoyable experience and worth including as part of any trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebushfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,024 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
494 reviews
15.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
426 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
15.6 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Property: The Wallawwa
Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing