We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Old Premier!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winscombe
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We recently used this Premier Inn as an overnight stay for Bristol Airport. It is further from the airport than I would have expected but easy to find directly off the A38 south of the airport with ample car parking. This was usual standard Premier Inn. Clean, comfortable, decorated in corporate livery. Everything worked - the bath and shower were fine. The heating system took a little time to make sense of but worked very well on a very cold night. The staff were welcoming,efficient and helpful. The Hotel is attached at the rear of a large old stone-built building which houses the Sidcot Arms - a Brewers Fayre pub. This provided the usual good choice of pub meals in traditional comfortable surroundings. These were nicely presented and service was prompt and staff were pleasantl.
All-in-all a very useful and comfortable place to spend a few nights in a lovely part of England or to stop over for the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms are accessed via a narrow spiral stair case. No Lift, so beware if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Tired needs a refurb, but great staff really clean and great location. I would recommend this hotel if you are flying from Bristol airport as its ten mins away! Great food, and selection. The only criticism is that it's old fashioned and needs an update, especially the televisions which appear to be from the early eighties!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopLoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

The Premier Inn at Sidcot is situated 10 minutes away from Cheddar Gorge and is within a very picturesque setting. Because it’s advertised as being the Premier Inn for Bristol Airport, I was expecting there to be a bit of “Plane Noise” over the weekend, but silence!
A week before we arrived I was telephoned to be asked if we required a table to be booked for Mother’s Day as they knew they would be very busy. I really appreciated the thoughtfulness to their customers with this.

The staff were extremely friendly – especially the restaurant and breakfast staff. Not the greatest of choices on the Brewer’s Fayre Menu (especially if you were a veggie) but not too badly priced.

You had to order the hot breakfast as opposed to it being served out “buffet style” – being really picky, there was something not quite right with the baked beans – they were a little bit on the spicy side and definitely did not appear to be Heinz!

The room was, as you would expect from a Premier Inn, immaculate, and well sized. Although there was some literature about there being two different types of pillows, I couldn’t actually tell the difference between the ones we had - they all seemed to be soft!

Because it was quite a cold weekend, even though we had the thermostat turned up, I would have appreciated a thicker duvet or extra blanket – I think I will definitely bring a spare with me next time just to be on the safe side!

On another note – Because we weren’t familiar with the areas I was surprised that there weren’t any of the normal “Local attraction” leaflets in reception – it was only on the last night that I found them tucked away in the corner of the Bar at the Restaurant – what a shame as they would have probably been of some use to us.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this premier Inn for those who want a weekend break in Somerset to visit Cheddar Gorge, but would advise guests to bring warm clothes and a spare blanket!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very friendly reception staff, bedroom was very cold, even though turned up thermostat for the heating. The bed was very hard we did not have a good night sleep at all, I don't know why they give the good night sleep guarantee, perhaps the staff should try sleeping in room 21. Breakfast was very good and the restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A standard Premier Inn hotel, 8 miles from Bristol airport, very welcoming at reception and helpful in the restaurant even though we were asking for food at 10pm. The only fault was that the toilet was not clean, bleach would help, and a lack of toilet brush.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I booked into this hotel to visit Cheddar Gorge as it is only a 10 minute car journey up the road and is very easy to find from the hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff at the main reception and the hotel is set in very nice grounds on the hill side with very nice views of the Somerset countryside, parking was also ample and safe outside.

The room was excellent, well finished and nice and bright, the bathroom was also very nice and well presented. I booked breakfast in the morning which was very nice indeed and we were greeted again by friendly staff ad the food was brought out to us hot and quickly.

Overall I would really recommend this hotel, especially if you plan on visiting Cheddar Gorge or the surrounding areas or arriving or departing from Bristol Airport.

Room Tip: If you can book it, choose room 17 as that room offers the best views out over the front of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

A premier inn in its own grounds built around an old mansion house with a Brewers Fayre as part of the building. A lovely view across the valley. 10/15 minutes easy drive to Bristol Airport. The hotel and particularly the restaurant appears run down in parts. The carpets and seating in the restaurant need urgent investment/cleaning. The food was not great either. This is a shame as the location is great and the staff genuinely helpful and friendly. If you need an overnight hotel for an early flight overall you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winscombe
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
2.8 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
1.2 mi away
Penscot Inn
Penscot Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipham
93 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel

Address: Bridgwater Road, Winscombe BS25 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winscombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Winscombe
Price Range: £49 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A flying visit or a long, leisurely break? The Premier Inn Hotel Bristol Sidcot is ideal for jetting off or exploring the area. Set just nine miles from Bristol Airport, our grand Victorian-fronted hotel is a great way to start (or finish) your holiday. There's lots to do closer to home too: explore the amazing caves and cliffs at Cheddar Gorge, marvel at the towering Wells Cathedral, or promenade along the Grand Pier at Weston-Super-Mare. And, whether it's an early start or a late arrival, you'll find our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and comfy beds hit the spot. Important info: Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. Transport and local information: Weston-super-Mare Beach Cheddar Gorge Tourist Attraction Wookey Hole Weston Super Mare Train Station 9 miles Bristol Airport 9 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Bristol Airport (Sidcot) Hotel Winscombe
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel Winscombe, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing