We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a great place to stay and great value. Owner is very friendly and helpful about local knowledge. Location is also great. Bed was terrific and I slept like a log. Tea and coffee and nice biscuits in the room. I definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Take what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Red Setter is located in the centre of town and was ideal for our two night stay. There is a large secure car park at the rear with access from a small side street alongside. The Red Setter advised the pin number before we arrived. If not, 'phone and ask.The bedroom was very warm and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent with freshly baked bread on both mornings. The proprietor and his family are welcoming, friendly and helpful. An ideal place to stay in Carlow and district.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here at last minute one Saturday night with my girlfriend as the room I booked in a local hotel had flood damage.

The proprietor met us at the door at nine at night and helped us with our bags to our room. The guesthouse has a huge secure car park and free high speed wifi. Following a phone call from the hotel the proprietor informed me that the bill was taken care of and I didn't have to give credit card details etc which was great because we were in a rush to meet friends for a birthday party.

It is located in the town centre so no need for taxis. Breakfast next morning was served till ten and was delicious. We were served fresh coffee with our full irish and there was a big selection of pastries and cereals.

Guests included a middle aged French couple touring ireland, another young couple and a group of girls who were also out on the town the night before.

The room was spotless and shower was really powerful.

I would highly recommend the Red Setter Guesthouse whether you're heading out for night out in the town or if you're touring the southeast.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Withfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a beautiful guesthouse, location is exceptional, staff are fantasic, private car park at the back well secured for the cars €35 a night breakfast was lovely and defo top spot for carlow tottally enjoyed our stay:)

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here recently with my friend, on a girl’s night out in Carlow. Found it friendly and the rooms were very clean. It was reasonably priced, with a good location in town. Will be back again.

Room Tip: Have a lock up car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogojojo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We booked this guesthouse on-line and stayed on a Saturday night. There is a very secure care park at the back of the guest house, but one needs a code to enter; several calls from the car to the guest house for the code were futile; no-one answered! We parked in a public car park close by and walked around. Yes, there was someone there all right, but she said she didn't hear the phone! There also seemed to be some confusion as to who we were, even though we produced a copy of the booking receipt! However, this was eventually sorted, and the young lady went "to get our room ready" Eh? But if we were expected, why wasn't the room ready?

The room was a family room, with two double beds, an en-suite bathroom, T.V.; phone, tea and coffee, and some nice biscuits(good touch!). Old-fashioned, heavy furniture, but fitting for the house itself. A beautifully laid-out guest house, full of vintage touches; lots of lovely nooks and crannies, all with comfy chairs.

All the staff we met were actually kitchen-based; we are still not sure who the proprietor is. We were given two keys - one for the room and one for the front door. There was lots of hot water and a good strong shower, and we sallied forth for the evening.
Breakfast next morning was full and plentiful, freshly cooked to order, and decent tea. There was a little confusion over the breakfast order, but the staff are so warm and kindly that it didn't matter. There was further confusion over settling our bill...."did you not see( a male member of staff) when you came last night?" No, we said, we met you; so she asked us to settle up....in cash only. It was 80 euro for a night's B&B. Not competitiive at all, as the 4 star Seven Oaks just down the road has a similar tariff. A small moment of panic, as we pooled our resources, having expected to pay by credit card! And.............no receipt either. Not happy with that.

However, the place is clean, well set out, and the staff are warm and friendly...and money doesn't buy niceness!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear; much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nannymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I arrived at the guest house and was warmly welcomed by Gavin Feeney the owner. I was shown to my room which was spacious, comfortable and well furnished with a double bed. The room had tea and coffee making facilities. A comfortable armchair in my room made working on my laptop a pleasant task with free WiFi.
The breakfast offered a good choice of cerals, fruit and juices as well as a full Irish breakfast. My work appointment wa not until 1230 and I was able to spend the morning working in a comfortable sitting room and Gavin kindly brought me coffee (no charge) at 11. Why pay almost twice as much for a hotel and not get the home comforts.

The guest house is right in the centre of Carlow and has a large enclosed car park which is free.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
0.7 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Green Lane House
Green Lane House
#4 of 11 in Carlow
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
1.8 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Setter Townhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Setter Townhouse B&B

Address: Red Setter House 14 Dublin Street | Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: £63 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Setter Townhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Setter Town House B&B offers town centre affordable accommodation in Carlow. Based in an unrivalled central position we provide FREE lock-up car parking to all guests.We are next to a large selection of services: shops, restaurants, pubs, attractions. We cater for all types of guests: business, weddings, birthdays, families etc. A warm friendly welcome and a memorable stay await you. We invite guests to enjoy absolute comfort and privacy with immediate access to the heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Red Setter Townhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing