We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 12 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really lovely stay here”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Five us booked and stayed here last Saturday night, with the cost of hotels coming down in recent years it has been a while since we booked a guest house and to be honest when we booked we didn't expect much from here as it was very affordable, had plenty of secure parking and is in a fantastic location so we thought look its got all this going for it so the rooms, service or breakfast can't be great also but we were wrong, Service here is top notch, nothing is too much trouble, lots of help and advise about the town, where to eat, where to have a drink etc, bed's were cosy, room's very clean, breakfast was yum yum yummy, was offered more of everything , everyone left after a great sleep, a full belly and all saying any time we head to carlow again we will look for rooms here first. It is a real find this place and we will be back again .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    23
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
31
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We are having a great time in Carlow, Ireland with the main reason being the Red Setter Guesthouse B&B. The location of the Red Setter can not be beat as it is literally 100 steps from bars, food and shopping. The owner, Gavin, is very welcoming and the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdwguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Wonderful sums this place up! Stayed two nights for my graduation in Carlow. Excellent location to pubs clubs and bars. Welcomed with a warm smile and all shown to our rooms. Given wifi password straight away. Fantastic private and very large car park at the rear, felt very safe leaving the car here. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room with two yummy bars of chocolate..a very nice touch! Breakfast both mornings was delicious and just what we needed after a good night in Carlow! Would highly recommend this bnb for anyone looking to stay in the heart of Carlow town.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The B& B owners are Irish hospitality personified. Immaculate rooms, fabulous breakfast and fantastic location makes this the best place to stay in Carlow. I have stayed at other places but this is the best that I have been in. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. My son wasn't feeling too well and didn't feast on the full Irish breakfast as usual, they went out of their way and packed some food for him. Thanks to the sweetest couple - Gavin and Trina. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I booked this B&B in Carlow because I was doing a holistic and craft fair in Tullow that week-end. I couldn't have found a nicer place. Triona, the owner and her husband Gavin welcomed me warmly and made me feel at home, showing me my gorgeous room, a double bed room. It was extrememly clean, very prettily decorated, very cosy, with everything you would want when you arrive from a long drive. Tea and coffee facility with even 2 yummy chocolate bars. The bathroom was very clean and spacious, with a little shelf to put beauty products. The power shower was brilliant and the room was nice and warm and cosy. Triona asked me if I wanted a hot bottle water and I thought it was so thoughtfull. I was chating to Triona, and asking her how to get out of town to visit a friend that evening, about 15 miles from Carlow, and after telling her jokingly that she had better give me very precise indications as I have absolutely no sense of direction whatsoever, she kindly proposed me to drive me there to put me on the right direction, and I would follwow her with my car! I was stunned by her kindness, but not only that, she then said that if I didn't get back too late, I could text her and she'd meet me on the road back and I could follow her back to the B&B!! I was so delighted because I genuinely have no sense of direction. Triona got me rid of the stress of finding my way around and made my stay so enjoyable and completely stress free. And she did that 2 days in a row, as I had to go somewhere else the day after. For breakfast, I said that I didn't want the irish breakfast, and you should have seen the plate she brought me instead! A full size plate filled with 4 different kinds of cheeses, (including Brie, yum!) ham, Parma ham, different salamis, a real feast! With that, scrumptious fresh brown bread that she buys every morning, with croissants, real jam, and even a lemon that I could squeeze in my tea! I also loved the private locked car park. I had such a pleasant 2 nights-stay that I wouldn't hesitate in coming back and recommanding this beautiful B&B to anybody, right in the center of town. Gavin and Triona have a beautiful place and are genuinely nice and kind. I left feeling happy and refreshed after 2 very restful nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Thanks again to Triona and Gavin!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglasharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This must be one of the finest houses in Carlow for Bed & Breakfast .I have stayed now several times and always get a great welcome from the Owner Gavin.he really goes out of his way to make sure your stay is a very pleasant one.The rooms are very clean and Hotel standard,With shower/.Wc Tv phone and nice fluffy towels.I enjoyed my early cup of tea with biscuit.The breakfast served by Gavin is truly an Irish experience, .The sitting room opposite the dining room has a wealth of local information and some nice reading material ,I loved the books on Ireland past.The Red Setter has its own secure car park.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gslondon48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was such a great place, at a really small price. Smack in the middle of town with private parking behind. Rooms quaintly old fashioned but very clean, and nice quality bedding and beds. Huge delicious Irish breakfasts with home made breads, and great coffee. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute staying here and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoppalongkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.3 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.7 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Setter Townhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Setter Townhouse B&B

Property: Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Address: Red Setter House 14 Dublin Street | Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Setter Townhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Setter Town House B&B offers town centre affordable accommodation in Carlow. Based in an unrivalled central position we provide FREE lock-up car parking to all guests.We are next to a large selection of services: shops, restaurants, pubs, attractions. We cater for all types of guests: business, weddings, birthdays, families etc. A warm friendly welcome and a memorable stay await you. We invite guests to enjoy absolute comfort and privacy with immediate access to the heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Setter Townhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing