We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Red Setter Guest House for two nights and I was highly pleased with this place it's hard to find any faults. Room was immaculate spotlessly clean and the bathroom also. Toiletries provided. Tea and coffee making facilities and a chocolate bar - lovely gesture. Breakfast is too class, choice of cereals , fresh fruit juices ,yoghurt and fresh fruit lovely brown bread and then the full irish breakfast made to your liking friendly atmosphere great service lovely breakfast room plenty of everything. Secure parking at back of guest house up side street code on gates for entry. Gavin and triona make contact with you before hand about estimated time of arrival and provide you with gate code for access for parking. I will be sure to stay in this fantastic guest house if I am ever in Carlow again and I will also mention it to people looking for somewhere to stay. Gavin and Triona you both have a fantastic set up here I highly compliment ye on such a great place to stay when in Carlow. Thank you again for making my two nights at Red Setter Guest House such a pleasant and enjoyable stay. I hope to see ye again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costelr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great place to stay - room was comfortable, they offer free secure private parking right outside the back door with proper gates and all. Owner is a very friendly and extremely helpful lady - we were able to check in & leave our luggage at 9 in the morning and she sent one of her staff to get an extra key made for us so we could come in late at night. When we had a little trouble with our onward journey, she lent us her personal iPad so we could get information and make bookings. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The Red Setter Guest House was very comfortable, clean and had a great location. I was really impressed with the more than ample parking available in the guest house's own private car park right outside the back door.
Right from our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly owner, who showed us to our extremely clean rooms. The rooms were well decorated and furnishings were very comfortable.
Breakfast was self service cereals, juices, yogurts, bread, fruit along with a very nice full-Irish breakfast.
Top marks to the owners of the Red Setter Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victorious_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Five us booked and stayed here last Saturday night, with the cost of hotels coming down in recent years it has been a while since we booked a guest house and to be honest when we booked we didn't expect much from here as it was very affordable, had plenty of secure parking and is in a fantastic location so we thought look its got all this going for it so the rooms, service or breakfast can't be great also but we were wrong, Service here is top notch, nothing is too much trouble, lots of help and advise about the town, where to eat, where to have a drink etc, bed's were cosy, room's very clean, breakfast was yum yum yummy, was offered more of everything , everyone left after a great sleep, a full belly and all saying any time we head to carlow again we will look for rooms here first. It is a real find this place and we will be back again .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareWithTheHairCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We are having a great time in Carlow, Ireland with the main reason being the Red Setter Guesthouse B&B. The location of the Red Setter can not be beat as it is literally 100 steps from bars, food and shopping. The owner, Gavin, is very welcoming and the breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdwguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Wonderful sums this place up! Stayed two nights for my graduation in Carlow. Excellent location to pubs clubs and bars. Welcomed with a warm smile and all shown to our rooms. Given wifi password straight away. Fantastic private and very large car park at the rear, felt very safe leaving the car here. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room with two yummy bars of chocolate..a very nice touch! Breakfast both mornings was delicious and just what we needed after a good night in Carlow! Would highly recommend this bnb for anyone looking to stay in the heart of Carlow town.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The B& B owners are Irish hospitality personified. Immaculate rooms, fabulous breakfast and fantastic location makes this the best place to stay in Carlow. I have stayed at other places but this is the best that I have been in. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. My son wasn't feeling too well and didn't feast on the full Irish breakfast as usual, they went out of their way and packed some food for him. Thanks to the sweetest couple - Gavin and Trina. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
0.7 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
1.8 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Racey Byrnes B&B
Racey Byrnes B&B
#1 of 4 in Carlow
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Setter Townhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Setter Townhouse B&B

Address: Red Setter House 14 Dublin Street | Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Setter Townhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Setter Town House B&B offers town centre affordable accommodation in Carlow. Based in an unrivalled central position we provide FREE lock-up car parking to all guests.We are next to a large selection of services: shops, restaurants, pubs, attractions. We cater for all types of guests: business, weddings, birthdays, families etc. A warm friendly welcome and a memorable stay await you. We invite guests to enjoy absolute comfort and privacy with immediate access to the heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Red Setter Townhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing