We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sha-Roe Bistro

Sha-Roe Bistro
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This restaurant delivers on everything...food, service, atmosphere, price etc. My husband booked this as a treat for my birthday earlier this year and as presants go he did really well (this time!) Stephanie (owner) was really friendly and the restaurant itself and adjoining reception room is very cosy. The atmosphere is homely and welcoming.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDinnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A little oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had an lovely evening at Sha-Roe. Everything was just right, the setting, the welcome, the service, and of course the food.

The Bouillabaisse inspired fish soup was excellent, as was the platter of cold meat terrine and pate.

My wife raved about the scallop Thai green curry, and the kids and myself thoroughly enjoyed the steak, although in hindsight the beef cheek with pink veal may have been a more adventurous choice....

The deserts were lovely with the pannacotta with rhubarb and white wine jelly being our favourite.

Two small points.
1. There isn't a children's menu, although they are happy to provide half portions of anything on the menu. Our kids loved this!
2. There are some interesting wines a number of which are available by the glass. I had an excellent Rioja, although by the glass it was quite expensive at €10 compared with buying a bottle (which as far as I remember was €35).

Overall, an excellent Restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelin_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Sha-roe is in Clonegal right beside the entrance to Huntington Castle and opposite the Derry river. The restaurant is a blessing in more ways than one: it shows how an old house can be converted in the best of taste to house a contemporary restaurant, it adds to the charm of Clonegal and blends in, it offers the best of food you will find, and it makes you feel at home.

I had Sunday lunch there alone today, got the best of attention from Stephanie and the restaurant staff. I was given a table beside a small cottage window, which allowed me to peep into the kitchen and see chef Henry preparing the food.

I am a vegetarian, and it is difficult to find inventive restaurants, but I have to say Henry excelled: I had a wonderful cauliflower soup with a crouton with Wexford cheese, accompanied by home made bread served on a wooden platter. This was followed by the best gnocchi I have had in years and seasonal vegetables and leaf salad with a mystical dressing. As dessert I took the panacotta with rhubarb and fresh mint tea.

It was a beautiful day, so after lunch went for a stroll in the gardens at Huntington Castle. Such a magical experience. If you visit Carlow, Wicklow or Wexford be sure to make a stop in Clonegal to dine at Sha-roe and see Huntington Castle. They are not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheamusbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burt1972
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Had ox cheek for main and was divine. All three courses fantastic though. Will definitely go back. nice setting and nice old pub next door. Highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank burt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

our second trip to Sha - Roe Bistro; both occasions brilliant time; the food is absolutely gorgeous, This is a special restaurant not the usual run of the mill; the service and atmosphere excellent;
Clonegal is a lovely rural village, we had a pre-dinner drink in Osborne's next door, it is a lovely quaint pub. The only downside we had was the echo in the restaurant, very noisy with a large crowd. Highly recommend for that special occasion, it is expensive; and also it is a small restaurant so book well in advance.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wexford007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sha-Roe Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sha-Roe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing