We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe Formenti - CLOSED

Caffe Formenti
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian, Irish, European
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food here is just brilliant and the staff and service excellent! I've had a few different dishes here but I always like to try their specials. They're always fab!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great character, music, coffee and skuffins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We met with a friend, this morning, in Caffe Formenti. We were the first in...I think...and received a very warm and friendly welcome from Richie, the owner and chef, and the lady who served us. We had seen this cafe recommended on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a go.
There is a great feel/vibe about the place, people seem to know each other and yet are very welcoming to visitors too. We got the impression that this really was a community cafe, where you were dropping in to meet with friends, not just staff. There was a genuine warmth about the place.
The staff are very friendly and we enjoyed a nice chat/banter with them. The skuffins are excellent and the coffee is great too. We will definitely be back!
Thank you Richie, too, for the wheaten bread...a real taste of home to us Presbyterian "Soup Christians";-)
David, Mark & Zoe x

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, service and conversation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Richie prepared a wonderful fish dinner of Dory, Hake, Salmon, Mussels, Prawn and Scallop in a light red pepper juice accompanied by very fresh vegetables. Wild mushroom lasagna for starters was also very good. Only two other diners were in tonight, so Richie had time to debate the merits of the Euro, religion vs spirituality, race relations and the meaning of life. All in all, a most stimulating Saturday evening all at a very reasonable price. I will be sure to stop in at Formenti if I pass this way again. Very highly recommended.

Tom Marshall - about to hitch the Wild Atlantic Way - from Monroe, NJ, USA

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommarsh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
“Love of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Caffe Formenti is a treasure to anyone who appreciates truly good food. The daily specials never fail to delight, generous portions of sumptuous food made with care and served with pride.

Simply put, Formenti is definitely worth a trip.

Or three.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Richie is an Artful Genius with Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I`m an occasional diner in Cafe Formenti. It`s much more than a "Cafe" - their food is freshly prepared, good portions and reasonably priced. The regular patrons prove the test of time and reliability. Repeat business is the key for any food business and Formenti is a proven winner. The Staff are attentive, discreet and helpful. If you want to be @ the centre of the Arts in Carlow, Richie`s place is the hub. Regular night time events, music, art displays etc. I`m a daytime diner and their breakfast is fit for a king while their lunchtime fare is restorative, filling and puts a smile on your face and a warm glow in your belly ! Keep up the good work and keep repeatiing the medicine - it works !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank droileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Formenti also viewed

 
Carlow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing