We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Carlow is not a usual stop for most in Ireland but we were attending an Altan concert in their wonderful cathedral. After driving down from the North we were exhausted and worried that we could not find the concert. A wonderful young lady named Martina checked us in. She took charge and took care of everything. We had a fantastic evening in Carlow even though the streets kind of creeped my wife out and we have been in some of the rougher neighborhoods of Chicago. The best part of the Carlow Guesthouse is Martina. If she is still there the owners need to give her a raise for fantastic service. The room was average and was comfortable enough and not much to look at but who cares you are there to sleep with your eyes closed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2009

Stayed here over weekend attending wedding in the town. Great location, staff were lovely, so friendly and room was cosy and spotless. Breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

The best thing about the place was the girl that was running the place the day we were nice. She was super friendly, fun, and maybe a little flirtatious. She even walked out to the parking lot to wave goodbye to us when we were leaving. It was clean and nice. It arrange more like a motel but had a nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lksmith33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

A gem in the Carlow area...
don't miss the chance to stay here, great value, big rooms, great hand cooked to order breakfasts, clean and with plenty of amenities including free wi-fi.
But what makes this a gem is the staff, espically the all singing all dancing Martina, always there with a smile and a witty remark, no problem too big to solve, and the most helpful person i have met in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jolly5812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2006

Stayed here for one night in early November. Really great guesthouse, conveniently close to town, secure parking, lovely area.

The room was great, lovely and big with a comfy bed and the shower was just fantastic, I could have stayed in it all day! Staff are friendly and accommodating, breakfast was just right, I can't fault it, it was just a great stay all round.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, England
14
Reviewed 4 June 2005

We stay in Carlow every year ( sometimes twice a year ) in order to take my mum & dad 'home' for a few days. We have stayed in a few different places but this year we found Carlow Guest house. What a difference. So clean & comfortable; in fact so clean and comfortable you would think it was recently built. It is very close to the town centre and also close to the main roads in and out of the place. The beds were made and the room cleaned every day and the breakfast was really good. After a days sight seeing and visiting all the relatives ( oh and checking out the Guinness - its a dirty job but someone has to do it ), we went home to Carlow guest house to snuggle up in a warm bed with a hot drink and watch some television. I cant recomend the place highly enough. And I cant go without mentioning ' Martina ', she runs the reception ( and a million other things ), she could put a smile on the face of a corpse, and she will go out of her way to make sure you have a great stay...........
Overall - a lovely house with lovely people and I dare say a lot of returning guests !

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leeds. North Yorkshire. UK
16
Reviewed 28 September 2004

Welcomed for a single night, made to feel at home and directed to a great meal in town. Comfortable bed, all facilities working, en suite and so clean. Great breakfast. No noise, so on our way well rested. Very good value for money. Will surely return. Thanks.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
0.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast

Address: Green Lane and Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: £66 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Run, 13 Bedroom Bord Failte Approved Guesthouse. All Rooms En-Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing