We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Barrow Lodge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barrow Lodge B&B
Ranked #5 of 13 Carlow B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Thank you Mary for a lovely stay, room, quality food and truly Irish welcome after staying in a hotel on an organised coach trip that wasn't deserving of 4* grading I would recommend any coach party to do bed and breakfast and stop here the owners could not do enough for you.

Many Thanks

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moseley82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

For the little it has to offer in comparison to other places in Ireland, Carlow is an absurdly expensive place to stay so my boyfriend and I were very glad to get a room here for €50 with breakfast included, though it was a small double room (and the last one they had available). The lady owner is very chatty and takes an interest in who you are and what you are doing in Carlow, etc. and the guesthouse itself is full of interesting artwork and was very clean and so warm on a cold night! Breakfast was good but the mushrooms were like the heated up frozen ones (very thin and tastleless) but it was a large size breakfast with okay tasting orange juice and tasty bacon. Would highly recommend at this price but Carlow is very limited in good value accommodation overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinnywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca District, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a great place to stay. We stayed there in early October. From our first contact with Mary by phone to her email with directions from the airport to their lovely bed and breakfast , to her printing our boarding passes
everything was perfect . You would not get the service you get there in any 5 star hotel . Great location .Great breakfast .Great room and a lovely interesting artistic house .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsterling9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at Barrow Lodge for 3 nights earlier this month. The room, food and location were all faultless. The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfasts amazing, and with a wonderfully welcoming owner to make your stay memorable, we could not have asked for more. We would highly recommend this B&B and would not hesitate to return if the opportunity arose.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river provides a great morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Barrow Lodge B&B for a long weekend at the end of May and would certainly recommend this B&B to others. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable and we were served an excellent and plentiful breakfast (a basic breakfast was even made available to us on the last day when we had to leave early). We received a very warm welcome from the proprietor who was very willing to offer advice and assistance and even 'babysat' for us on one evening so we could go the pub (though I would hasten to add this is not an advertised facility).

The B&B is in a pleasant location beside the river, but is also close walking distance to the town centre, A very pleasant stay, and we would certainly head to Barrow Lodge if staying in Carlow again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedersenrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Perfect location in a quiet street along the river, yet walking distance to virtually everywhere in Carlow.
Very friendly owners, great breakfast (which included mushrooms, my favourite).
Good value for money (unlike the rest of Carlow!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain11-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We just spent the night at this B&B and were very impressed with the place,We had a room that overlooked the Barrow and Graigue Bridge,which was really lovely. Room was a good enough size for us,shower was small but very clean and a nice selection of toiletories and nice snow white towels. Mary was really lovely host,very friendly and helpful. We had a huge breakfast in the morning and it was delicious!. We definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can,ask for a room overlooking the barrow. But even if you don't get it,you can have a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
0.7 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
0.4 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.2 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
0.9 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrow Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrow Lodge B&B

Property: Barrow Lodge B&B
Address: Barrow Lodge The Quay, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrow Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing