We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”

Barrowville Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barrowville Town House
Ranked #3 of 13 Carlow B&B and Inns
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best B&B”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have stayed in Barrowville Town House many times, whilst visiting family in Carlow.
Dermot and Anna are so friendly and cannot do enough to ensure that our stay is as comfortable as possible.
The rooms are beautifully furnished and the breakfasts are fantastic, lots of choice and freshly cooked to order, just forget the diet!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
27
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

It is within walking distance of the town center but is a very quiet place to stay with a beautiful garden area. The owners are very helpful and pointed out places of interest. I really enjoyed the choice of pancakes for breakfast as I was a bit tired of the full Irish. Good parking place available.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We arrived too early for check in but that made no differece to our host, we were invited in for tea and biscuits and as our room was not occupied we were given the keys early and told to make ourselves at home,and it realy did feel like home,the house itself is stunning with all the original windows doors coving ect;and lovely gardens and furnishings, when we went out we were given a list of recomended resturants that were all good. We were in Carlow for a wedding and on arriving back in the early hours found a note on the bed saying we hope you had a good time and breakfast will be available till 10.30 what a nice thought !! the breakfasts were all properly cooked and well presented with plenty of tea/coffee and toast to give us a good start to the day, so thank you very much Anna & Dermot for making our stay in Ireland so memerable nothing was a bother to them.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellLiverpool5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at Barrowville for two nights attending a wedding near by. Anna and Dermot were brilliant hosts. Comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and a lovely house to spend time in. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Lovely 1790s house at the edge of Carlow Town on the Kilkenny road. Free on site parking. Rooms quite luxurious and in keeping with the style of the house. Bathroom tiles need a little attention. Rooms vary in size but are quite generous. There is a guest lounge downstairs which is nice to sit in for a drink and chat. Anna the hostess is very knowledgeable about the local area and places to eat. Very good breakfast served in the conservatory. Good value at €80 per head for two nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fudge59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed for three nights during our holiday trip in Ireland. The B&B is owned by a very charming couple (Anna and Dermot) which made our stay really confortable. Our room was big, clean and nice, having nice views to a gourgeous garden which can be enjoyed by every guest. The breakfast was spectacular since the dining room is great (nicely decored with great views to the garden) and the food is really good. It is located very close to the city centre and to the IT (which also has a bus stop where it is possible to arrive directly from the airport). Very recommendable place to stay

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josep_viatjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Anne and Dermot made us very welcome in their beautiful period home. Rooms were spotless and spacious, and beakfast was excellent. Good location, near to town, easy to find with good parking. We will definately go there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virginia050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
1.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
1.5 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowville Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowville Town House

Property: Barrowville Town House
Address: Barrowville Town House | Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrowville Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes walk from the town centre, Barrowville Town House occupies a lovely location in its own ground on the south side of Carlow Town on Kilkenny Road (N9). This Regency house (which enjoys listed status) has lots of antiques and was comprehensively renovated in the late 1980s. The 7 guest bedrooms are all en suite, (5 with bath and shower and 2 with shower only), and equipped with colour television, radio, phone and hairdryer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing