We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Sheer Luxury'”

Barrowville Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barrowville Town House
Ranked #3 of 12 Carlow B&B and Inns
Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Sheer Luxury'”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here with my husband for three nights last month.on our last leg of our two weeks tour.what a beautiful old house,sooo tastefully furnished with lovely period furniture..our room was enormous and so was the bathroom,gorgeous old fireplace,two big windows with long thick quality curtains and the original shutters.the room was opulant with everything that you could wish there,big screen TV,Hair D, Trow Tea/Coffee/Water ect.Very comforatable beds.The breakfast were lovely and a huge choice.Its an easy walk to Carlow Town,very helpfull owners.Highly Recomend .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tywysogesteithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
27
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We spent a very pleasant and comfortable five nights in Barrowville Guest House in April this year (10-14th incl). Dermot gave us a very warm welcome on arrival, and both he and Anna made us feel so much at home in true Irish style. Our room was most comfortable with all mod cons, their breakfasts were first class and served in most pleasant surroundings. Although they were very busy, both Dermot and Anna were perfect hosts and always found time to have a chat and a laugh with their guests at breakfast time. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return sometime in the future. We have no hesitation in recommending Barrowville Guest House to anyone visiting Carlow.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have stayed at Barrowville Town house a number of times, and I would not consider staying anywhere else in Carlow. This guesthouse punches well above it's weight, and is comparable (and superior) to a hotel in several ways, not to mention the reasonable price for accommodation.

Dermot and Anna, the owners, are both friendly and helpful - on one occasion I had a problem with my laptop charger and they gave me a loan of their own personal charger; this was a lifesaver as I was on business and giving a presentation the following day. The rooms are very comfortable and have a real country house feel - however with modern fittings etc.

The breakfast is in a category of it's own; it is the nicest breakfast I have ever had in a hotel setting. You choose from an extensive menu and the food is cooked fresh to order. Breakfast is taken in a lovely airy conservatory looking out over the garden. There is also a reading room filled with beautiful old furniture and reading material for the use of guests. I cannot rate this guesthouse highly enough, it is a real pleasure to stay there. My thanks to Dermot and Anna and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arwenconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clane
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Normally when I stay in Carlow I would stay in a hotel however for a change I deceided to stay in a B&B and lucky enough I stayed in the wonderful Barrowville Town House. When I arrived I was greated at the door by David who was very kind and helpful. He showed me where breakfast is served and then he showed me up to my room. The room was beautifully furnished and had everything I needed. The next morning I was served a lovely full Irish breakfast by Dermot. The B&B is in a great location and is only a few minutes walk away fro the town. I will definitely stay in Barrowville Town House again as it is much better than staying in a hotel and at a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dos92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My brother and I spent four weeks in Ireland and of all the places we stayed, Barrowville Town House was definitely our number one choice. Dermot and Anna were great hosts and we will greatly miss their hospitality and delicious breakfasts! Our room was nicely furnished with comfortable beds and a lovely view of the back garden and nearby mountains. Barrowville is conveniently located for day trips and within walking distance to the town center - restaurants, cinema etc. It was a great way to end our trip to Ireland and I hope to return in the not too distant future. Thank you Dermot and Anna.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have stayed in Barrowville Town House many times, whilst visiting family in Carlow.
Dermot and Anna are so friendly and cannot do enough to ensure that our stay is as comfortable as possible.
The rooms are beautifully furnished and the breakfasts are fantastic, lots of choice and freshly cooked to order, just forget the diet!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

It is within walking distance of the town center but is a very quiet place to stay with a beautiful garden area. The owners are very helpful and pointed out places of interest. I really enjoyed the choice of pancakes for breakfast as I was a bit tired of the full Irish. Good parking place available.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
1.5 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowville Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowville Town House

Property: Barrowville Town House
Address: Barrowville Town House | Kilkenny Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barrowville Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes walk from the town centre, Barrowville Town House occupies a lovely location in its own ground on the south side of Carlow Town on Kilkenny Road (N9). This Regency house (which enjoys listed status) has lots of antiques and was comprehensively renovated in the late 1980s. The 7 guest bedrooms are all en suite, (5 with bath and shower and 2 with shower only), and equipped with colour television, radio, phone and hairdryer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing