We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Courthouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courthouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Only stayed for one night staff were all very nice and friendly, food was good and they do really nice pints! Rooms are very clean, some of the decor is a bit retro but this just gives the place more character.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drkelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    19
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This hotel was excellent in every respect: great value for money, great food, spotlessly clean, wonderful breakfast, great staff....

This hotel has all the qualities of the best hotels at far less cost.

Room Tip: Rooms to back might be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismiseseamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinios
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

McHugh's Court House Hotel was the BEST hotel I have ever stayed in.
The food was delicious, all the staff were very nice and helpful.
The room was very nice, the shower was great. the room was so clean.
If I had a choice between the hilton and McHugh's Court House Hotel I would pick McHugh's.
Complements to the whole staff.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlliniosEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

When we arrived there was no-one on reception. We were told where our room was, no lift, no offers to help with luggage. We were in room 102 at the front of the hotel. It was such a hot room but we could not have the windows open as it was so noisy on the street.
The carpet was filthy with lots of black marks all over it. We asked for an iron and ironing board and was told it would be right up. We had to ring reception 3 times before it was brought up.
The breakfast was good, quick and tasty and the bar downstairs was also ok. The shower was also good but this did not make up for ann the other poor aspects of the hotel.
We got this at a reduced price from a friend. If we were paying full price I would have definately complained, asked to be moved rooms or even hotels!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopard34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2006

I stayed here in March 2005, not having booked in advance. Even though I arrived at 10.00a.m., they were totally unfazed, and offered me breakfast while they made up a room.
The room was absolutely first rate - spacious, utterly spotless, and with modern fittings throughout. The staff were extremely helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel also is a very pleasant pub, and has a really good restaurant, where food, drink, ambience and welcome were all A1.
The only drawback is the lack of a car-park, but there are two public ones within 100 yards, and I had no difficulty with these. So provided you are prepared to wheel your luggage a few yards, then this is somewhere in the very centre of the town where you can have a very pleasant stay. The main shopping area and the town's amenities are all within strolling distance, and it's a good base to explore the surrounding countryside too.
I'd have no hesitation in returning.

Helpful?
12 Thank ajmcgLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineDGM, General Manager at Courthouse Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
your feedback is much appreciated and we are delighted with your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Caroline Dargan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.2 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
567 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
9.0 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courthouse Hotel

Property: Courthouse Hotel
Address: 38-39 Dublin Street, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in March 2000, The Courthouse Hotel, with its town centre location and close to the River Barrow walkways, town park, shopping areas, George Bernard Shaw Theatre, Visual Art Centre, and other bars, restaurants and nightclubs, it makes for an ideal place to explore the sights of Carlow. The Hotel is located on Dublin Street in Carlow's town centre. It is approx. 1 hour from Dublin and just over an hour from Rosslare. The Hotel is also less than 10 minutes walk from local train and bus station – a great base to plan your weekend or holiday break from. With a total of fifteen bedrooms all en-suite with bath, each room has complimentary tea and coffee making facilities with multi channel television and direct dial telephone. There is also a small meeting room available for business meetings or for that presentation evening. Secure car parking is also provided directly opposite the hotel in our lock-up car-park. With newly refurbished bedrooms in May of 2013 and our friendly team, the Courthouse Hotel makes for a very memorable experience. Perfectly situated for all the action of the town but also ideal for those wishing to get away from the hustle and bustle; with the Delta Sensory Gardens located nearby, an oasis of peace and tranquility await you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing