We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value Break”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My family and I went on the Triple Treat package and I have to say it is one of the best value breaks that I have ever been on. The room was clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and as efficient as they could be (I will get back to that). The food was as ever really excellent. Unfortunatly the management seem to be running the hotel on a shoe string. It was very understaffed, I felt sorry for the staff struggling to keep up with the amount of guests there, althought they never complained and always had a smile. We had one of our evening meals in the restaurant, the food and service was 1st class, but they have stopped using linnen table cloths as they used to, no candles and the cutlery was old and miss matched. The towels in the bedrooms were old scratchy and one had a huge brown makeup stain on it. It would have been easier to find out what was going on in fort knox as to find out what was on offer in the spa (no information in the rooms). My final gripe was the Wi Fi we had to get passwords every day for our 3 phones and lap tops (what a pain). But I will end on the note of don't let these things put you off, the staff's friendliness and great food and great offers will bring me back there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresabrown3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to us at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to note that it is not your first visit here and that you were able to avail of one of the many special offers we have available. I fully appreciate that you felt that the the staffing was tight and it is something of a concern for us at this time. We are currently recruiting new members to our team to ensure that we can continue to offer the excellent service that we strive for. We have currently engaged the services of a new Beauty Company to run our Spa facility and new literature is being designed to reflect this. Although we do provide complimentary WiFi to all of our guests it is for your security and protection that we have a policy and provider in place that requires a login each 24 hour period.

Thank you again for your honest and constructive review and we very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the near future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    314
    136
    59
    51
See reviews for
479
320
18
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Great value, excellent facilities, overall very happy

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review based on your recent stay with us at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just back from a 3 day break with family and friends. Fantastic value including all evening meals and Bottle of Wine. Hotel was completly full but staff were always helpful and obliging.
From housekeeping,to waiter staff ,regardless how busy they were,nothing was too much trouble.
Evening meals were fabulous with a great selection on kids menu and not the usual chicken nuggets.
Breakfast time was very very busy but staff did an excellant job,keeping waiting time to a minimum .
Only slight gripe,please remove high tables in bar and provide more sofas,low tables etc,
There was always a mad rush to get low tables as others were so uncomfortable.
Thanks to all staff for a wonderful stay, regards anne

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annetcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us here at the Talbot.

I was delighted to read your comments in relation to your experience and the team here at the Hotel were equally delighted to recieve such positive feedback. All of our guest feedback is relayed back to all of the staff on a regular basis and is discussed at departmental level to implement improvements. It is always nice to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay and it makes our efforts worthwhile.

In relation to your comments about the furniture in the bar area, we try to ensure that we have facilities to suit everyone's needs and although we are limited to a degree with space it is our intention to maximise this space and offer our guests the most comfort and relaxing surroundings we can.

Thank you again, not just for your review but for your loyalty to the Talbot Carlow and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

the food was excellent in both the bar and restaurant,There was an entertainment centre next door to the hotel also which had ten pin bowling pool tables and a host of other fun stuff for the kiddies (and adults) All in all this hotel is good value for money and a pleasent place to stay. Hope to go back again as there is so much more to do in the area to suit everybody and the staff are all so welcoming .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly40070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words in relation to your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read your comments in relation to the food and the staff here at the Hotel. It gives us all a great boost to read comments such as yours and all of the staff are informed of all our guests feedback in their regular departmental meetings.

I was delighted to note that you were able to use some of the facilities that are available not just in the Hotel but in the surrounding area.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow soon and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband received a voucher for the Talbot Hotel for Christmas. We decided to spend it on a meal in the Corries bar at the hotel. We arrived at about 9pm and the bar was packed with families. We had a lovely meal of fillet steak which was fabulous. Staff friendly and courteous. However the ambience of the place was terrible. There were babies , toddlers and children filling the bar and most of the children were running riot around the place and at 11pm this was still the case. After our meal we decided to go out to the reception area for a few drinks as we thought we might have a more pleasant experience. However what we found was more children running a mock, running up and down stairs in and out of the lifts etc.
I understand that at the time there was a fabulous deal on a stay at the hotel which was obviously attracting families. My understanding is that it is illegal for children to be in a bar after 9pm. However the hotel was ignoring the law probably to try and maximise their profit in the bar to recoup their losses on the rooms.
My point here is that if I were to book a seemingly fantastic offer in a hotel I would make sure with management that the laws regarding children in bars after 9pm are adhered to. Otherwise the seemingly fantastic offer could turn into a miserable experience.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to us here at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your meal here in the Hotel and that you found the staff to be friendly and courteous. It is with dissappointment , however, that I read your comments in relation to the ambience. It is true to say that we try to cater for all sectors of the market and have many great value offers available to suit both families and couples. At the time of your visit we did indeed have a large number of families staying in the Hotel and it is our wish that we make every guests stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. It is the Hotel policy that all children must be supervised at all times and unfortunately this policy was not correctly adhered to on this occasion. I have spoken at length with my management team and there is a full review of all our procedures being undertaken to ensure that we can maximise the enjoyment of all of our guests.

I do hope that you will continue to use the Talbot Hotel in the future and thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

hotel was alright, rooms nice enough food is not great though

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderaroundabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is dissappointing that you felt that the food was not of the expected standard. We receive a huge amount of positive feedback in relation to all aspects of our food service in all of our food outlets and is one of the main reasons that we have such a strong footfall from local people.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and hope that one your next visit to the Talbot Carlow we will have the opportunity to show you how good our food offering usually is.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drogheda
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2012

staff very friendly, specially alison on reception and man working the night of the 30th dec, thanks again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. Both Alison & Dan were delighted to know that you singled them out for a special mention and they would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you back in the Talbot very soon.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
555 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
105 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Property: Talbot Hotel Carlow
Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing