We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good....and not so good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good....and not so good!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Quite a nice hotel. rooms are spacious and reasonably modern. BUT.....the windows even on the fourth floor open all the way out and there is no way of just cracking them open. An accident waiting to happen if you have young children. Noise from both inside and outside the hotel carries into the bedrooms. breakfast was acceptable but it is strange that you are not given a pot of tea or coffee..instead the busy waitresses serve it which results in long delays between refills and tea which is a little cold. Also no marmalade available.
Was somewhat shocked by the grammatical howler on a public notice about attire on the restaurant door.!!!
Staff generally helpful and friendly though when checking out I was not asked if everthing was satisfactory. Thing I would clasify this as "budget" so dear enough for that at 118 euro for 2 for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from lift....quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We welcome all guest feedback and use it to continue to improve our standards and the quality of product we deliver. I have taken note of the points you raise and will have each one addressed with urgency.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    316
    138
    59
    52
See reviews for
482
321
19
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Room very spacious and all you need decor did not jump out at me however I have honestly never slept as well in a hotel the rooms were not too warm the bed was the most comfortable I ever slept in and at seven months pregant that is great praise. Tea coffe in room etc great. I didnt get a chance to use the pool however we were visiting for a wedding the food was very good. Drink prices are on the high side however with €4.95 for a red bull!!!!! My friends were paying almost €10 for vodka & redbull very pricey. Bar area is lovelly and parking very near door which is great. Breakfast was good with nice selection cereals,fruits, yougurts, full irish, pastries and breads and lovelly dining room overlooking surrounding area the lady working that morning serves tea/coffee at your request and toast. Staff were efficent and pleasant. I would definatly return perhaps with kids as the rooms are very large ideal for a family staying as you don't feel cramped. Overall good value and easy to get to.

Room Tip: I think as the hotel is not in the town but near shopping area all rooms are quiet and well located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review based on your recent visit to us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was a pleasure to note that found the stay so relaxing and that you were able to enjoy a cosy nights sleep. Our drink prices are reviewed on a regular basis and this is done to keep us competitive with other establishments and we would be keenly priced against all of the bars and hotels in the locality.

I would again like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and hope that we have an opportunity in the near future in welcoming you and your family back to the Talbot Carlow.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed at Talbot in Carlow on a three night 3 dinner break from 19th to 22nd february This was a tremendous value for money experience for us both . There was great service in all areas of the hotel The room was spacious comfortable and in room heating control. Liked this v much. Bed and pillows very comforting Great to have tea making facilities with biscuits added every day. The dinners were really scrumptious and a treat to get 3 fresh veggies every night. The desserts were a delight too. We visited the pool and Jacuzzi area Great size pool and enjoyed swimming there. Overall we found this Hotel peaceful relaxing great location and Excellent value for money Staff were always courteous and helpful .We will be back .....

Room Tip: 2nd floor south side nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay and that you were able to avail of the many facilities we have on offer. Your kind words in relation to the staff will be a pleasure to pass on.

Thank you again for your time in writing this review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot very soon.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel lacks warmth in the foyer. The bar is not cosy. Rooms very spacious and spotless. The staff are warm and most helpful. This hotel tries hard. Very hard. It is so better suited to conferences, meetings etc rather than a romantic weekend. Service excellent. The smoking area is under the bedrooms and the noise the night we were there was awful from idiots on some training course. Very badly situated smoking den. Ruined our stay. Never again.

Room Tip: at the back away from drunk smokers in their gazebo. better views too of countryside rather than car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmessan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed in Talbot Hotel, Carlow for 1 night and i am glad it was only 1 night. The room was ok but there was an awful smell of stale smoke in the corrider and room. The food was alright and swimming pool ok. The hotel is ok for a 2 or 3 star hotel but its definitely not a four star hotel. I would not go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CARMEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Talbot Carlow.

I was very dissappointed to read your comments as we are consistently praised for our food and our leisure facilities also. I fully appreciate that although we operate a no smoking policy throughout the hotel some of our guests from time to time choose to ignore this and smoke in their bedrooms.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we will take your honest and constructive feedback on board and continue to try and improve our standards an quality of product.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Myself and my partner spent 3 days in the Talbot Hotel (Sun - Wed) From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The hotel is spotless throughout. We stayed in a standard room and I was suprised how spacious it was, the bed was very comfortable. Our deal included dinner in the restaurant for the 3 nights and the food was superb. The hotel was fully booked as it was Valentines and breakfast was very busy, but I have to say the service was fantastic. The staff were so friendly and helpful, even though they were extremely busy. The only one negative thing was the entertainment. I know it was midweek and most hotels are quiet, but there was no even background music in the bar (or if there was I couldn't hear it!) However, I would not let this put me off staying in this hotel again. From the moment we arrived until we left, we throughly enjoyed our stay. It was great value for money and I would highly recommend this hotel. I will definitley be returning to the Talbot in Carlow.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dera Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent visit to us here at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you were able to avail of our 3 night offer. The team will be delighted to note your comments in relation to the service and quality of food you have commented on and I am sure that they would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words. We have live entertainment every friday and saturday evening and on the occasion of your last visit I will certainly look into why our piped music was either off or at such a low level.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Hotel Carlow in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed here with three generations of my family, a party of 13. Check-in was friendly and efficient. We were accommodated in two family rooms and two double rooms on the fourth floor. The rooms were large and clean. The beds were comfortable except for the camp bed which my daughter said was uncomfortable.The hallways were quiet during the night so sleep wasn't disturbed. The swimming pool was clean as were the changing rooms. Dinner was standard and most of the party enjoyed it. Breakfast was lovely but you'd be advised to eat early as some members of our party didn't have breakfast till almost 10.30 and weren't as impressed. We could have availed of the kids club but did not so I can't comment on this facility. The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fourth floor were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cailinrua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review based on your recent family visit to us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to note that you found the stay a relaxing and enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the near future.

Thank you again and warm regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
18.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Property: Talbot Hotel Carlow
Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing