We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“helpful and very generous.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

stayed in this hotel for a hen weekend after the self catering place we stayed in was rude,unhygienic and not up to the standard. the talbot hotel kindly took us on (16ppl) and were very helpful and generous. the rooms in which we stayed in were al together and very spacious. i used the swimming pool in the morning. the whole experience was enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable. i would strongly recommend the talbot hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review based on your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

We were delighted to be able to accommodate you and that you were able to take the opportunity to try some of the facilities we have on offer here at the Hotel. I was very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Talbot in the future.

Thank you again and kind regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our experience of the talbot hotel was fantastic, staff could not do enough for us. We stayed in jan with our 1 yr old baby, we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to the Talbot Carlow. I was delighted to read your comments and that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the near future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Accommodated a group of 16 of us last minute due to bad accommodation elsewhere!! Hotel staff were very friendly, hotel was very clean, well maintained and comfortable! Really made our weekend!
Thanks to hotel staff and management!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to us at the Talbot Carlow. It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you at the short notice and we were delighted to read your kind words.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Talbot soon.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Shared a triple room in which we had a double, single and camp bed room on 25th Feb, room was ample as we opted for the family room for 4. Well received at reception by Sean and had to ask about breakfast times and location, lucky as dining was on the 4th floor! Bar food (Steak at €21) was very nice.Breakfast was only average with plenty of it though. Taxi €7 to/ from town centre. Pool is extremely small and gym appeared well used. Would use again, but not for a 4* event.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bardogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience and that you would use us again. Our pool is 20m and usually recieves high praise, however, I apologise if you expected a larger size pool. Our gym is indeed extremely popular with all our guests and the local people. We have only recently completed an extensive refurbishment of our changing rooms and a re-decoration program for our gym is scheduled for later this year.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our group was a hen party of 16 ppl. We called the hotel in a panic as our self catering apartments (ceatharlach moorings) ended up being a disaster-unhygienic and a beyond rude service. Nicola answered the phone at the talbot hotel and was exceptionally nice. They looked after us with a really good rate and held the rooms until we could check in after our activity.
On arrival we met Sean who checked us in with efficiency. The rooms were amazing, spacious, clean, lovely beds and all our rooms were beside each other. We had access to the hotel pool and gym which some members of the party used the next morning. The breakfast was lovely and if I had to find fault, we had to request more towels but room service was very prompt! It was only 10 mins from the town centre and had an area on the first floor where your group could have a get together for champagne etc before going out! Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciarademp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your experiences here at the Talbot Carlow.

We were delighted to be able to accomodate you at short notice and I am delighted that you found your stay an enjoyable one. I have passed on your comments to both Nicola & Sean and they would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

Thank you again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of looking after you again soon.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed one night in the Talbot Hotel in Carlow on Friday 2nd April 2012.We brought our 6 year old son with us.We found the hotel Modern and clean.We used the pool twice and were surprised to find no life guard on duty on either occasion.We used the free towels provided and found the changing room /showers really nice and very clean .We went out that night and used a babysitter the hotel recommened. Rachel, works in the restaurant as a waitress and was a wonderful sitter for our son.He was delighted with her and so were we.She was a genuinely nice girl. The beds/pillows were very comfortable and we all had a great nights sleep. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was good.The childrens portions were big .The only problem was trying to get the bar staff's attention as they seemed to keep disappearing into the back leaving no one in the bar.We were alarmed to find the windows in the room opening all the way.I could see an accident happening so easly.The breakfast the next day was really good. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review based on your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable visit and that you were able to avail of so many of the facilities on offer. I have passed on your comments to Rachel and she would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in The Talbot Hotel Carlow to celebrate a family members 60th birthday from the 24th - 26th February. The bedrooms were spacious, modern and extremely clean with excellent facilities. All members of the hotel staff and management were effecient and extremely friendly , when arranging our stay they assisted with supplying a bouquet of flowers to the room on arrival and also an excellent meal in The Liberty Tree Restaurant with window seats. Leisure facilites and spa treaments are also available in the hotel .Some of the family availed of the Revive Package in the spa, this consists of a half hour facial and half hour neck and back massage it was fantastic and most relaxing. The staff were extremely professional and friendly would recommend a visit. We will definatly return to The Talbot Carlow in the near future , ideal location , excellent service , with warm and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Tahnk you so much for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to note that you all enjoyed this very special occassion and that we were, in a small way, able to enhance the overall enjoyment for you and your family members. I am sure that all of the team here at the Talbot Carlow would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words.

Thank you again and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Talbot Carlow in the very near future.

Warm regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
610 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
122 reviews
17.7 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#7 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: £51 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's longest serving four star hotel located 5 minutes’ drive from the town centre only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favourites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Talbot Fitness Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. . A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music in Corries Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing