We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Had a great one night stay. Good room, good food and the staff were excellent and very friendly! Great location and the kids enjoyed the swimming pool they also enjoyed the dome center which is right next door to the hotel. Great value and hope to return again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear PatriciaCullen1

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the kids had a great time too! Our location and the faciliaties in the hotel to include the pool, the Dome next door to the hotel all contribute to a great stay so its lovley to hear that you all had a great night away!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stop your searching and book now!! Fantastic rooms, fantastic food and friendly helpful staff! Good location - taxi into town for a couple of euro - walkable too! Family entertainment centre and Dunnes Stores almost next door. Book book book!

Room Tip: Beautiful decorations at christmas time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Sarah C

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly for letting us know that you had great food, experienced great service, good location and also for highly recommending the loyal readers of Trip advisor to book the Talbot Carlow, sincere thanks for this Sarah, we really appreciate it!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 nights in the Talbot Carlow i think we left the hotel once for some shopping in carlow town, other then that there was no reason to leave. The corrie bar down stairs was lovely with live music every night and a great bar menu. The leisure club was the best part, they have a full gym, pool, jucuzi, steam room and sauna the most relaxing part of our stay. I would highly recommend the talbot carlow to anyone looking for any of the above..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear StephenC2011

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us and really found it to be very relaxing too!

The shopping is great in Carlow so its lovely to hear that you took an opportunity to visit some of the shops in Carlow and other than that you were able to enjoy the lovely relaxing facilities of the jacuzzi, pool and sauna during your stay with us and that the entertainment & surrounding in Corries Bar & Bistro were ideal for you too!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Genuinely friendly receptionist made us feel very welcome on arrival. One night stay. Room was spacious, modern and clean. Very comfortable bed and a nice big bath. Pool, sauna and steam room all functioning well and again very helpful staff at the leisure centre recepion. Breakfast was good, fairly standard hot and cold buffet. Nice views from restaurant over the surrounding countryside. Overall good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjdub22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear PJDub 22

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our reception team looked after you so well throughout your stay and were very friendly too! Its great to hear that you found our rooms to be very spacious, of a great standard, and that you also had an opportunity to enjoy the spa, sauna & pool area while you were here too!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I arrived as part of a group at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. All the signing in arrangements had been made. All we had to do was sign in two places and collect out electronic room key. Simples eh! The rooms were excellent. The bar service was really good with the very attentive staff. I ate in the bar a few times and I could not fault the food, quantity or quality. If I was returning to Carlow, I would surely stay there again. I cannot comment on the spa as I did not use the facility.

Room Tip: I was on a room on the first floor and I did not have any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Henry M

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your group stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the group check in to be very swift and easy. Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed Corries bar during your stay and that the team looked after you so well and that you enjoyed the food too!

Thank you for letting us know that we are your first choice for Carlow, I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed for three nights and from the time we walked in to be greeted at reception till the day we checked out all the staff couldn't have done enough for us.the food was fab and great value especially the kids meals.the only downside was the double bed in our room sank in the middle but other than that we loved it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaKilmacanogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear
Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you arrived until the moment you checked out. Its lovely to hear that the team looked after you all so well throughout your stay with us and that you all particularly enjoyed our cusine and the kids meals which are great value and this is important ! so thank you for letting us know

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just back from the talbot and all I'm over the moon we stayed there! The rooms are so stylish and modern and big. The bathroom is so classy with a beautiful shower! We ate in the restaurant and we found the food amazing. When we eventually got service, it was great and I adored the leisure facilities!

On our arrival we were welcomed by a lovely bubbly lady who really us feel so welcome that we decided to stay a second night!!

The atmosphere in the hotel was excellent and I would definitely return! I'm shocked by the negative reviews and just cannot believe it's about the same hotel we stayed in:-/

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orla1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Orla 1989

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip advisor in relation to your stay with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow, we really appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and its lovely to hear that you stayed a second night too!!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found the rooms & bathrooms to be very classy, stylish & modern.

Im happy that you all enjoyed your meals with us in the 4th Floor Liberty Tree Restaurant also!

I do hope that we will see you soon again and please do let us know when you are planning your next trip to Carlow

All the best for now and once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
4* Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
603 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: £57 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's longest serving four star hotel located 5 minutes’ drive from the town centre only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favourites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Talbot Fitness Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. . A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music in Corries Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing