We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but hot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights B&B. Check in was fast and earlier than expected as our room was early. The reception staff were the friendliest I have seen in a hotel. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean but so, so hot. It was stifling! It wasn't particularly warm outside but the room was so warm we all slept on top of the bedding on both nights. The bathroom was unbearably warm.....Breakfast was plentiful and delicious but we had to ask for tea and toast several times on both mornings. We ate in the bistro in the evening and we found the food to be delicious but my husband thought the portions could be a little more generous. Our waitress was superb and I regret not finding out her name!....As for the Kids club, it was my first experience with a kids club and Louise was excellent! Although I was a bit miffed with the 'Splash and Dash' session in the pool as it was basically the kids in the pool with the staff watching on...I was glad we were also in the pool as we actually entertained them....The changing facilities are very good in the leisure centre. We went to the Dome leisure/entertainment complex next door which is also owned by the hotel but at €7 a head entry and €5 for coffee and a small danish, it is pricey. I really liked this hotel and the relaxed atmosphere but I have to say I wouldn't return in summer because of the lack of air con.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JDevenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an post a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found all of the team here at the Hotel helpful & friendly. I will take on board your comments and we will discuss as a management team as to how we can continuously improve what we offer. It was exceptionally warm weather during the period that you stayed with us and I apologise that the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms had a negative impact on your stay.

We do hope to have the chance to look after you once again in the future and thank you for your honest and constructive feedback.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Every thing was nice.rooms could do with air conditioning and check in could be earlier.
I personally wouldn't go back it's a bit out of the way from the town and the reception seemed swapped. The dome is handy beside if you have kids and a deep wallet.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauragiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay here with us at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the fact you felt we are far from the town. Carlow town is a pleasant 15 minute stroll through the Town Park and can be driven in approx. 3 to 4 minutes. We endeavour to get our guests checked in as early as possible but this is can sometimes prove difficult at this time of year due to the hotel being at full occupancy. We do provide the facility for our guests to store their luggage and everyone has full use of the hotel facilities as soon as they arrive to us.

I hope that you may choose the Talbot the next time you visit Carlow.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here with our 3month old baby for two nights. We arrived and were sent to our suite which at first we were delighted to get! Then we started to notice things like there were no towels in our bathroom. The seat in the lounge area of the room was shabby, the remote control had no back to keep the batteries in and the TV also would not work properly! We went to read the information folder and found sweet wrappers stuck onto the desk. It clearly hadn't been cleaned. The lampshade had a tear along it on the desk. A picture in the hallway on our floor had the glass loose which was very dangerous. There was a smell of cigarette smoke also in the hall. The staff in the bar were very professional. The design of the bar is not relaxing though. The breakfast wasn't great at all, the teapot was filthy and the tables were all spattered with dried milk on the legs of them, the glass windows in the breakfast room were also dirty between the room and hall area. There were conference rooms that had glass on the doors leading into them and these were also filthy!We went to the swimming pool and the member of staff was not mannerly, the pool was freezing and the chlorine was way too strong! We lasted 10mins with our little boy. Then this morning to too it all off at 6.30am music was blaring for at least ten minutes and woke us all.
This hotel is not a 4star hotel ! Was glad to be leaving....thank god we had Kilkenny down the road to escape for the day yesterday!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shortsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was shocked to read your comments and I apologise most sincerely for any upset caused. I have spoken in great detail to my Accommodation Manager regarding the comments you make towards your room. A full re training programme and a new and updated room checklist is to be implemented immediately to ensure there is no repeat of the items you refer to such as the back of the remote control and the stray sweet wrapper etc.

I was also extremely surprised to read your comments regarding the pool area. We conduct pool temperature and chlorine tests every 2 hours and they readings are monitored closely to ensure that both are at the acceptable level. The loud music you refer to was another guest in a nearby room and as soon as it was reported we had the guest turn it off immediately and I apologise that another guests thoughtless behaviour had a negative impact on your stay.

Thank you for providing your honest and constructive feedback and I hope that you may return to the Talbot Carlow at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely,spacious rooms,very clean,comfy and affordable,stayed here recently with my three sisters,we all enjoyed the resteraunt,bar and leisure facilities,plenty for all age groups with a super library area for a relaxing browse,only fault was reception got our booking wrong at first then eventually sorted it out,and at breakfast,the staff were really understaffed which was a shame because they were all so lovely,yet run off their feet!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Siobhan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Siobhan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review based on your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read that yourself and your three sisters had such an enjoyable time whilst staying with us. I wish to apologise for any mix up there may have been at check in but delighted that we were able to sort it out as quick as possible.

Thank you once again for your time and your feedback and I hope that yourself and your sisters get to visit again soon.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Talbot for three nights B & B plus three dinner basis in mid-June. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay.
The welcome at reception was very warm, our top of the house room was spacious with great views. The bed was very, very comfortable. All facilities were very good. The restaurant was on the same floor. Service was excellent, choice on the various menus was very good and the food itself was excellent also. The entertainment in the bar at night was good.
All in all we had a lovely few days there at reasonable cost. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Seek 4th floor(top floor) room. Great view over pleasant surrounding farming countryside. The rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review based on your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was our pleasure looking after you and I was delighted to read that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding both your bedroom and our food and I hope it will not be too long until you have the opportunity to return.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a nice hotel. Fairly average in accommodation but unfortunately a bit expensive for what u get . Room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately our room faced onto the main road and with the recent heat , the window had to be left open at night . There were no fans available for the room ! The staff were very helpful but it was beyond their control. The food in the bar was fairly average and a little on the expensive side as was the beer, even considering it was a hotel.

Overall, the stay was relaxing if not expensive !

Room Tip: Keep away from the main road side, beside the roundabout,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbafanMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you felt that the staff were helpful and that you found your stay relaxing. We pride ourselves in offering value for money, in particular with our food offering, and we will continue to monitor all aspects of our pricing in order to ensure we remain both competitive and offer exceptional value to our customers. I will certainly take your comments on board and discuss our pricing with my management team.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Talbot Hotel Carlow in the future and thank you once more for the time you have taken in writing and posting your review.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice hotel but not in the city centre and without car not really in walking distance.no airco in the rooms so when the sun is shining and you have the bad luck to enter a room on the west facade around 4 or 5 pm be prepared for 33 degrees celcius. So ask for a room on the east side in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post a review of your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

It was an unprecedented spell of exceptionally hot weather we experienced during your stay and the hotel became very warm for the week or so that the weather lasted. We are outside of Carlow Town but a short walk through the local town park will have you in the main street within 15 minutes.

We hope to see you back in the Talbot Carlow in the not too distant future and thank you once more for your time in writing your feedback.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
603 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range: £57 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's longest serving four star hotel located 5 minutes’ drive from the town centre only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favourites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Talbot Fitness Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. . A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music in Corries Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing