We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We only ended up staying in Carlow and the Talbot because we were looking for some nice for a short break for myself, my sister, and my niece (who is 8) , and we happened upon a good deal in the Talbot with the the Supervalu breaks. We're really glad we did - we had a wonderful 3 days in Carlow and would highly recommend the Talbot.

Rooms
Our room was lovely - very clean, a good size, tea and coffee making facilities, iron, hair dryer. There was also a TV but for the first time ever we never actually turned it on during the 3 nights we stayed - because there's so much to do in the area we never had time.

Food
We ate at Corries Bistro on two evenings (because we liked it so much the first evening). Everything we ordered was delicious and our waitress was absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough for us. I would recommend getting there early though as it's very popular. Breakfast was a buffet in the Liberty Tree restaurant with wonderful views of the barley fields.

Parking
This is always a worry for me as I have a fear of multi-storey car parks. Wasn't a problem here though as there's plenty of parking (although again, it's popular so it was busy). There's ground level parking and a split level car park. The split Level has underground parking but it also a ramp to above ground parking which even I could cope with so was grand. There's also parking at the Dome next door.

Thins to do
There are lots of things to do within driving (or even walking )distance of the Talbot. Our favourites were
The Dome - right next door - bowling , air hockey, slot machines
Delta sensory gardens - just a couple of Kilometres away - 20 tiny beautiful gardens - highly recommended
Rancho Reillys - 10 minutes drive - very friendly Pet farm with a good play area and obstacle course
And Dunnes is right across the road for shopping!

Staff
The most important aspect of any hotel for me is it's staff - i can overlook a lot of things as long as the staff are nice. And the staff of the Talbot are actually quite exceptional. Every single member of staff went out of their way to be helpful - from the receptionist offering to look after our bags while we were waiting for our room (we arrived early), to the waitress at breakfast taking us straight to a window table because she spotted me admiring the view, to the waiter at the bar good to a lot of trouble to find the stuff that made the Frog (a child's cocktail) green. He had already explained to us that he had run out, and we hadn't minded at all and had just paid him. We thought he had gone for change but when he came back he not only had the change but the necessary 'green stuff'. Those wonderful little things happened to us with many different members of staff at the Talbot - it's really a credit to them and the hotel management and is why I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Talbot to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    326
    147
    64
    52
See reviews for
498
333
19
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visited the Talbot Hotel On Sunday 17th August for Lunch we were so impressed with the good service and Food we decided to stay overnight, From the moment we entered the Hotel the service was excellent We got a lovely lunch the food was hot well presented , Cutlery was clean and we were asked by Restaurant Manager was everything to our satisfaction, which was nice to see caring and very well trained staff,
The Reception Desk Staff were very helpful and explained everything to us
This is one of the best Hotel I have visited in Ireland.Everywhere was clean ,Rooms were very good also comfortable Beds all clean and Fresh .

Room Tip: All Rooms were good .Ask for a Room at front with a view of countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a wedding. Had no issues throughout, no complaints with the room or the service. All staff I dealt with there were helpful and attentive. Activities for the children and the free play area next door were great to have. Pool is small but serves its purpose. food was enjoyable also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kony21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 weeks for work the hotel was nice but very loud they had a lot of things going on weddings and so on that we're very loud and kids running amuck but this was not the hotels fault. The staff was great and the friendliest group i have ever seen a lot of things were out of their control but anything they could do was done quickly over all the staff was under staffed I would stay again just because of the great staff

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

my wife and I booked into the Talbot at 1945 on sunday 10/8/14. book in was quick/easy .our room was very good/spacious/clean .reception staff were excellent. instant hot water in bathroom all time. restaurant food and staff excellent many thanks to lee, Victoria, danka, narili, and carol .nice hotel but very noisy with too many kids using ground floor,stairs and lifts as playground. We stayed as part of coach party. We had to be up at 4am on 14/08 to catch ferry back to cornwall but there was wedding party in on wed night going all night till 4am and so kept us awake all night .not good when one has a 14hour coach journey same day

Room Tip: our room on 2nd floor next to and above main road ,quite busy and noisy. Big dunnes store around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank godfrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fermoy, co cork
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

just getting to leave a two night stay at talbot carlow with my husband and two children (10 yrs and 10month old baby). had a very enjoyable stay, room was spacious and clean, beds were comfy. staff in hotel were very polite. food in bar delicious and good value for money. breakfast was good to. pool had a little to much chlorine for baby but older lad enjoyed it he made alot of friends as lots if family visit. hotel about 25 mins walk from carlow town. overall a very enjoyable stay...would return and recommend to friends.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank claire q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review based on your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was delighted to read that you had such and enjoyable time and that you had the opportunity during your stay to avail of all of our facilities. I hope its not too long before we have the chance to look after you again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights B&B. Check in was fast and earlier than expected as our room was early. The reception staff were the friendliest I have seen in a hotel. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean but so, so hot. It was stifling! It wasn't particularly warm outside but the room was so warm we all slept on top of the bedding on both nights. The bathroom was unbearably warm.....Breakfast was plentiful and delicious but we had to ask for tea and toast several times on both mornings. We ate in the bistro in the evening and we found the food to be delicious but my husband thought the portions could be a little more generous. Our waitress was superb and I regret not finding out her name!....As for the Kids club, it was my first experience with a kids club and Louise was excellent! Although I was a bit miffed with the 'Splash and Dash' session in the pool as it was basically the kids in the pool with the staff watching on...I was glad we were also in the pool as we actually entertained them....The changing facilities are very good in the leisure centre. We went to the Dome leisure/entertainment complex next door which is also owned by the hotel but at €7 a head entry and €5 for coffee and a small danish, it is pricey. I really liked this hotel and the relaxed atmosphere but I have to say I wouldn't return in summer because of the lack of air con.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDevenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write an post a review of your recent short stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that you found all of the team here at the Hotel helpful & friendly. I will take on board your comments and we will discuss as a management team as to how we can continuously improve what we offer. It was exceptionally warm weather during the period that you stayed with us and I apologise that the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms had a negative impact on your stay.

We do hope to have the chance to look after you once again in the future and thank you for your honest and constructive feedback.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.3 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
584 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,914 reviews
10.6 mi away
Clanard Court Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Property: Talbot Hotel Carlow
Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing