We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!! We're on our way back next year.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killerig Golf Lodges

Killerig Golf Lodges
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killerig Golf Lodges
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!! We're on our way back next year.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Couldn't holiday abroad this year because of babies went from Kerry to Carlow. We rented a four bedroom lodge for the first week in July for a family of 7, two adults and 5 children aged 16,14,11, and twins of 16mths. What a dream holiday it was.We just can't believe it!! The logde was fantastic well appointed and wanted for nothing, like moving from one home to another (a bonus with so many of us). The facilities at the hotel were excellent, the leisure facility was lovely and the staff in all the areas where we met them could not possibly have been more helpful or friendly. The food and service at the bar was equally as good. There was also a kiddies club we saw but obviously couldn't avail of just yet but the play ground was both clean and safe with wonderful swings ect. the spa also is good if you have the time with everything else that one can do.
Yes i have to say the house could do with a painting as it would be a shame to leave the houses get any way run down now but that on the whole did not bother us it is just an observation. For a family break with lots to see and do, Carlow is a great town, Dublin only an hour away, local sites are beautiful and of course the lodge no 20, and staff at Killerig are all a bonus. It was certainly a wonderful holiday and we will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docoran2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at one of the Lodges for a night when visiting Ireland from London, we found the lodges really well kept and clean and the staff very helpful, our 2 boys (aged 9 and 6) loved the freedom of being able to walk off to the play area without us chaperoning them, as we would in London. The pool and spa area was clean and well equipped and the breakfast was served to perfection.

All in all a very present stay which I would recommend to any one. Carlow is also a charming, small Irish city, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_foinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Family group staying for eight days - five bedroom house plenty of space and facilities (washer dryer, tv, radio)
No problem with security as house was alarmed and staff patrolled estate on a regular basis.
Not my thing but other members of the group availed of the hotel's swimming pool, spa, gym and of course the golf course.

All in all a very enjoyable stay,only one negative was the decor - paint work could do with a bit of reviving and the carpets with a good clean (beige carpets probably not the best colour for rental property!)

We would definitely book again and recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIckGLS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

We stayed in the golf lodges,just outside the hotel. The house was ideal,really clean & had everything a family of 2 adults & 3 children aged 7,4 &1 needed. Beds were so comfy,even the kiddies slept all night!!!! The food in the hotel was amazing & the staff too. There was a kids club on for the week we were there & the kids could'nt get enough(painting,bingo,baking,karoke & trips to the playground) even my 1 yr old got involved!!!! it was a very child friendly hotel!!??

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank killerig199125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killerigkidscamp, Manager at Killerig Golf Lodges, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Hi there, glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Killerig Resort. Just to let you know we have a new kids club programme running this summer, under new management. Starting on the 5th of July we will have a programme for the summer from Mon - Fri 10am - 2pm, with new activities including:

I'm a kid get me out of here, based on the tv show, we have lots of fun trials planned!
Pet Farm
Wii Games Championship
Obstacle Course with some great games
Art Attack! A paintballing game with an arty twist
Sports Days
Cookery Corner
Treasure Hunts
Garden Games including a sand pit

Lodge 19 will be the base for this years summer camp, the green area at the front of the houses has been fenced off and is a safe and secure area for the children to do the activities. The Lodge has also been decorated to suit the younger taste!

The evening programme will be ran from 6:30-8:30pm with movie time, bingo, kareoke and more!

We also have trips for families to local historical and interesting sites like, Huntington Castle and Altamont Gardens.

We have some great special offers for the summer. Just call our reception team on 059-9163050 and they will be happy to help you.

Thank you again for your great review and we hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Rose Lawlor
Kids Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We had a lovely time at Kellerig Lodges. The lodge we were in could do with a bit of an up-date and lick of paint but it was spotless. The living area was upstairs so had to put chairs across staircase in case the kids tried to go down by themselves. When I mentioned this to one of the staff on departure was told that they had gates for them - why they didn't put them in when we got there as they had to bring a cot and highchair so they knew that we had young kids. For 3 days they had problems with the pool it was freezing and the kids would only last 10 mins but thankfully it was fixed. We only had 3 channels on our tv and complained and were told that they could move us but that they had someone working on it but when it still wasn't fixed I went back again and they put me off being moved. Even when leaving it wasn't fixed and I heard the girl on reception saying that it was being fixed to someone staying in a hotel room. the food in the bar was delicious - only complaint would be one night we had relatives staying and two of us got our food 5 mins before everyone else. Overall very impressed and found the staff to be very efficient and friendly. Will go back again with kids they had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mullbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Halloween weekend...

We got an e-mail with an offer on the lodges so we did... The lodge very tastefully decorated inside - had everything you needed even the sports channels. For breakfast we strolled to the hotel and like the last time had a smashing breakfast!!! We have 4 kids - 8, 5, 4 and 1 - and they bar the 1 year old had a ball at the Halloween party... they had a number of very well dressed Teddy's & Ghosts, the hotel kitted out to high standard in general... A very well run Disco beside the bar with 6/7 staff members playing and watching all the Children... At around 9pm we all went to the back of the hotel and they arranged a White Horse to gallop passed us with a headless man on it's back all the Kids couldn't believe it, very well done.... The children had an absolute ball, food was great and the staff amazing! The other great thing about Killerig is I had been in the hotel before and upon checking in, the two ladies knew who I was, check-in was made so easy, all the forms filled out for me and I was told and shown on the map where the lodge was, (Near the playground)….

It was a kid’s weekend that was brilliant! All the kids playing in the ballroom and the pool the next day…

Can not recommend this place enough - great value for money!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenbeigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killerigkidscamp, Manager at Killerig Golf Lodges, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Hello there,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us at Killerig Resort. Our Halloween kids club programme was a great success! Just to let you know we have a new kids club programme running this summer, under new management. Starting on the 5th of July we will have a programme for the summer from Mon - Fri 10am - 2pm, with new activities including:

I'm a kid get me out of here, based on the tv show, we have lots of fun trials planned!
Pet Farm
Wii Games Championship
Obstacle Course with some great games
Art Attack! A paintballing game with an arty twist
Sports Days
Cookery Corner
Treasure Hunts
Garden Games including a sand pit

Lodge 19 will be the base for this years summer camp, the green area at the front of the houses has been fenced off and is a safe and secure area for the children to do the activities. The Lodge has also been decorated to suit the younger taste!

The evening programme will be ran from 6:30-8:30pm with movie time, bingo, kareoke and more!

We also have trips for families to local historical and interesting sites like, Huntington Castle and Altamont Gardens.

We have some great special offers for the summer. Just call our reception team on 059-9163050 and they will be happy to help you.

Thank you again for your kind review and we hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Rose Lawlor
Kids Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

I stayed in these lodges in July for a hen party, initially we thought the house was great for our group. But a number of items were stolen from our house including ghd straighteners, karen millen dresses, purse and internet boadband either while we were out in Carlow town or asleep. The house was locked while we were out. When we realised the items were taken we called management, who didnt seem to believe us, thought we might of misplaced them, didnt believe we locked the house, that manager also said there was no CCTV or spare keys, we had the only keys. They said the would call the gardai the next day to come out but this never happened. The manager the next day told us there was CCTV and extra keys, they checked CCTV to no avail. The hotel took no responsibility for what happened, we have not been reimbursed or compensated in anyway, I would definatley not recommend this hotel or lodges.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank husseycolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
6.6 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
5.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
6.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.5 mi away
Racey Byrnes B&B
Racey Byrnes B&B
#2 of 4 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killerig Golf Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killerig Golf Lodges

Property: Killerig Golf Lodges
Address: Killerig Golf and Country Club, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carlow
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing