We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Lodges”

Killerig Golf Lodges
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killerig Golf Lodges
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big Lodges”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in the lodges for the weekend. We rented 2 x 4 bedroom lodges. They are well equipped but for rental accomodation cream carpets are a bit unforgiving. The hotel staff are very help and provided us with takeaway and taxi numbers. We had treatments done in the spa which was lovely. Overall a very enjoyable experience. Accommodation could do with a paint and carpet clean.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlow
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We recently stayed in this hotel, the staff were so nice and friendly it was like you knew them, always willing to go beyond expecitation, room was fab also and loved the view from ours, would recommend for families also as we had a look at the lodges and they looked great, will be back

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzyCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were a family of 5 staying in the lodges at Killerig.

Whats Good;

The venue, availability of resource ;access to the hotel, playground and the leisure centre and spa, golf club, bar and restaurant.

The kids club was excellent value for money, well run and included taking the kids to the pool.

The staff were great, welcoming and interested. (Something you don't get too much any more).

The houses were good and well equipped.

What could be improved;

A small arrival kit in the kitchen would be great (washing up liquid, one or two dishwasher tablets and a dish brush). No issues with the utensil supply.

Generally;
The houses are in use and probably need a lick of paint. HOWEVER if you have kids the houses are forgiving in this regard (given the walls were scuffed by previous users there was no need to run around after the kids).

On the wish list would be an kid sized pool...

Restaurant food; Good food, simple but flavour-some and definately good value. Bar food was also good value (go for the salads!)

What's missing;

1. Sky sports - given the hotel has a golf club (it wasn't always open) there should be sports TV availabiltiy in the bar. Not really needed in the house...
2. Welcome cuppa; I think this should be a MUST HAVE for every hotel. On arrival guests (who will most likely spend a couple of hundred euro while staying) should be treated to a complimentary scone and cup of tea! This is something lacking in all hotels in but given there is an open bar and scones are available it wouldn't take much to provide. It might not bring one back but it would definately be a talking point when recommending to others.
3. Newspaper option for the lodges; wasn't offered this but the nearest newsagent is 4 km away.

Recommendations
All in all we would recommend the lodges. If you are booking try and book a playground facing lodge (whilst it does face the main road it's pretty quiet -being able to send the kids out and keep a close watch was good).
Also use the kids club- Cliona and FIona were great and the kids really enjoyed it. It was also nice to get quiet 4 hours every morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfamilydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was not a 4 star property. Very tired and in need of a complete refurbishment.
Carpets and sofas badly stained and dirty. Very limited kitchen equipment, we had to
buy a tin opener!
Staff and facilities at the hotel were very good.Such a pity about the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Couldn't holiday abroad this year because of babies went from Kerry to Carlow. We rented a four bedroom lodge for the first week in July for a family of 7, two adults and 5 children aged 16,14,11, and twins of 16mths. What a dream holiday it was.We just can't believe it!! The logde was fantastic well appointed and wanted for nothing, like moving from one home to another (a bonus with so many of us). The facilities at the hotel were excellent, the leisure facility was lovely and the staff in all the areas where we met them could not possibly have been more helpful or friendly. The food and service at the bar was equally as good. There was also a kiddies club we saw but obviously couldn't avail of just yet but the play ground was both clean and safe with wonderful swings ect. the spa also is good if you have the time with everything else that one can do.
Yes i have to say the house could do with a painting as it would be a shame to leave the houses get any way run down now but that on the whole did not bother us it is just an observation. For a family break with lots to see and do, Carlow is a great town, Dublin only an hour away, local sites are beautiful and of course the lodge no 20, and staff at Killerig are all a bonus. It was certainly a wonderful holiday and we will return next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docoran2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at one of the Lodges for a night when visiting Ireland from London, we found the lodges really well kept and clean and the staff very helpful, our 2 boys (aged 9 and 6) loved the freedom of being able to walk off to the play area without us chaperoning them, as we would in London. The pool and spa area was clean and well equipped and the breakfast was served to perfection.

All in all a very present stay which I would recommend to any one. Carlow is also a charming, small Irish city, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_foinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Family group staying for eight days - five bedroom house plenty of space and facilities (washer dryer, tv, radio)
No problem with security as house was alarmed and staff patrolled estate on a regular basis.
Not my thing but other members of the group availed of the hotel's swimming pool, spa, gym and of course the golf course.

All in all a very enjoyable stay,only one negative was the decor - paint work could do with a bit of reviving and the carpets with a good clean (beige carpets probably not the best colour for rental property!)

We would definitely book again and recommend to others

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIckGLS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
6.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
6.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
5.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Racey Byrnes B&B
Racey Byrnes B&B
#2 of 4 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killerig Golf Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killerig Golf Lodges

Property: Killerig Golf Lodges
Address: Killerig Golf and Country Club, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carlow
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Killerig Golf Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing