We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Exceptional friendly B&B - really clean rooms- very good shower - nice guest facilities - free parking - (almost a small hotel)
Fill Irish breakfast freshly cooked and very high quality - will certainly stay again when I next visit my daughter

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was the BEST BnB in all of Ireland! Clean, spacious, excellent breakfast and more than helpful staff! We'd stay again and again and recommend this BnB to anyone going to Ireland for a visit. Don't forget to check out Duckett's Grove nearby either, it's worth the short drive from here. Excellent Job!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have to say I was very impressed with this house, I stay in B & B s most of the time on my trips to Ireland and this was as comfortable as my own home and is certainly the nicest I've stayed in. I can honestly say that I can't think of any area they could improve on, the place is beautifully furnished and equipped, is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and the breakfast was epic! Even the recommendation for food in town was spot on.

If you are anywhere near Carlow, this is the place to stay. Worth every penny and worth a detour!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Friendly welcome. Clean & well presented b&b. Well thought out to meet individual needs. Lovely choice of breakfasts. Very accommodating & helpful. Good location. A lot of thought has been put into making this a very welcoming b&b.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and enjoined the nice accomodation. The room was really big with a friendly atmosphere. The host was so friendly and helpful, just amazing! If you plan to go to Carlow and want to have a great stay, go to Avlons!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We found this B&B absolutely beautiful, well worth a 5 star ratings. The breakfast was very tasty and the room really gorgeous and extremely clean with lots of goodies like toothbrush, comb, mending kit, razor, etc that you don't often see in B&B's, Tea and coffee facilities, even though it would have been nice to have decaf coffee! Our room was very quiet as we had asked. Town was literally 10 minutes walk and we got the loan of bicycles which was great fun. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglasharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After the poor night before in Wexford this was a haven of peace and comfort. Stayed here 2 days/nights to visit my families home county of Carlow. This is a rare find among B&B's anywhere. The owner is so helpful and obliging, he couldn't do enough to make our stay brilliant.
There are only 5 rooms all en-suite and so comfortable. Free Wi-Fi which was so efficient - come on you big hotels if a B&B can do it why not you???
The breakfast choices were excellent and varied to allow for individual tastes. You can watch a DVD piped to your room or sit in the dedicated lounge for that; there is also a quiet lounge to sit and read. I don't smoke any more but even smokers were catered for with a dedicated smokers outside lounge room (posh shed)..
Carlow is lucky to have this B&B among its hospitality venues and I would not hesitate in not only staying there again but heartily recommend it to everyone. Am looking at our next visit already and this will be our base in Carlow again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.4 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
605 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
22.5 mi away
Newlands Lodge
Newlands Lodge
#2 of 74 in Kilkenny
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avlon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Avlon House Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: £47 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlon House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avlon House Bed & Breakfast Thanks past guests for sharing their experience of our product at Avlon House B&B Carlow as a result of their efforts we have being awarded a 2014 Consumer choice award from Tripadvisor. A big thank you for making Avlon House B&B Carlow the number 2 B&B out of Tripadvisors top 25 B&B's in Ireland 2014. Avlon House B&B also carries an AA "Highly Commended" 4 star award for consistently offering guests a quality of product within the top 10% of AA4 star establishments in UK & Ireland. Our Bed and Breakfast is a boutique Failte Ireland 4 star Irish Tourist Board approved Property. We are located within 7-10 minutes walk north of Carlow Town on the R448. Great rates & Good reviews just some of the reasons to book your accommodation at Avlon House in Carlow Town Ireland. Secure off street free parking with CCTV protection. Breakfast served daily between 7-10am full menus. All Rooms En suites with power showers, Bedrooms are fully equipped with Multi Channel TV, Telephone, Tea / Coffee facilities, Trouser press, Hairdryer, Toiletries & Mineral water are supplied with our compliments (Body Lotion, Shower gel, Shampoo, Conditioner, shower cap, Soap, Razor & Foam, Toothbrush & Paste, vanity kit, Nail Kit, Mending Kit, Shoe Shine), Wired & Wireless Broadband access in all rooms. 2 Lounges for guests use 1 with 700 DVD library, other with daily papers & 300 title book library. For the smokers we offer the use of our log cabin with board Games to help pass the time. During the fine summer evenings you can relax on the patio while listening to the water trickling through the water features or smelling the aromas from the Barbeque. Snack menu available daily from 4-8pm. New for 2012 Avlon House accommodation in Carlow town is now offering complimentary use of bicycles to explore the Carlow Country side to guests staying 2 or more nights (must be reserved at time of reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avlon House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing