We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to see the relatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Visit to see the relatives”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The whole experience at Avlon House was a pleasure. The full Irish Breakfast is a must and really sets you up for the rest of the day. The host was very pleasant and very informative on the local area and sites of interest. The room we stayed in was fantastic and comfortable. We will certainly look at returning to Avlon House on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
126
234
56
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Avalon house on 11th July. Our first impressions were fulfilled. Tom introduced himself, welcomed us, asked us to register, then carried bags to our room and left us to settle in
.
Our room was lovely. I can safely say that I have never seen such a bright, cosy room! It was absolutely packed with 'extras' I counted at least twelve, from pamper packs to shaving packs, sewing kits to nail packs, there was fresh water bottles, tea, coffee,, a list too long to mention
.
Breakfast was a feast! Really outstanding! We will certainly recommend this 'Gem' we departed, armed with brochures on places of interest and a print-out of a route to our destination! Well done Tom and thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent b&b. Standard of Accommodation and food was excellent. Comfy bed. Owner very friendly. Loads of living space to avail of ( inside & out) and if you forget anything, your bedroom sports a spare toothbrush, comb, manicure set, shoe shine etc etc. I was very impressed with the standard of this B&B in every aspect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrybabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Tom was a very attentive host and gluten free was excellently catered for. Extensive breakfast menu. Very clean and tidy. Very well placed for Carlow town centre being only 10 minutes walk. We would not hesitate in staying there again if in area

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here with my mother and her partner. I can honestly say this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in, anywhere in the world. The rooms are spotless and the breakfast is superb, with a fantastic menu choice. We opted for the full Irish, most days, and this set us up for the whole day. When we return to Carlow it will be around dates this B&B has availabilty. Kathy & Mick

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Exceptional friendly B&B - really clean rooms- very good shower - nice guest facilities - free parking - (almost a small hotel)
Fill Irish breakfast freshly cooked and very high quality - will certainly stay again when I next visit my daughter

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was the BEST BnB in all of Ireland! Clean, spacious, excellent breakfast and more than helpful staff! We'd stay again and again and recommend this BnB to anyone going to Ireland for a visit. Don't forget to check out Duckett's Grove nearby either, it's worth the short drive from here. Excellent Job!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
2.4 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
1.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
0.5 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
113 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
1,924 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avlon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Avlon House Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlon House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avlon House Bed & Breakfast Thanks past guests for sharing their experience of our product at Avlon House B&B Carlow as a result of their efforts we have being awarded a 2014 Consumer choice award from Tripadvisor. A big thank you for making Avlon House B&B Carlow the number 2 B&B out of Tripadvisors top 25 B&B's in Ireland 2014. Avlon House B&B also carries an AA "Highly Commended" 4 star award for consistently offering guests a quality of product within the top 10% of AA4 star establishments in UK & Ireland. Our Bed and Breakfast is a boutique Failte Ireland 4 star Irish Tourist Board approved Property. We are located within 7-10 minutes walk north of Carlow Town on the R448. Great rates & Good reviews just some of the reasons to book your accommodation at Avlon House in Carlow Town Ireland. Secure off street free parking with CCTV protection. Breakfast served daily between 7-10am full menus. All Rooms En suites with power showers, Bedrooms are fully equipped with Multi Channel TV, Telephone, Tea / Coffee facilities, Trouser press, Hairdryer, Toiletries & Mineral water are supplied with our compliments (Body Lotion, Shower gel, Shampoo, Conditioner, shower cap, Soap, Razor & Foam, Toothbrush & Paste, vanity kit, Nail Kit, Mending Kit, Shoe Shine), Wired & Wireless Broadband access in all rooms. 2 Lounges for guests use 1 with 700 DVD library, other with daily papers & 300 title book library. For the smokers we offer the use of our log cabin with board Games to help pass the time. During the fine summer evenings you can relax on the patio while listening to the water trickling through the water features or smelling the aromas from the Barbeque. Snack menu available daily from 4-8pm. New for 2012 Avlon House accommodation in Carlow town is now offering complimentary use of bicycles to explore the Carlow Country side to guests staying 2 or more nights (must be reserved at time of reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avlon House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing