We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel/guesthouse in a beautiful valley”
Review of Casona de Quintana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casona de Quintana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here after seeing some reviews when we were looking for somewhere quiet to stay off the beaten track in Spain. We came across several excellent review before booking and were not disappointed.
This place is definitely off the beaten track but in an absolutely beautiful area. It is in Cantabria in the north of Spain about an hours drive from the Port of Santander and a little further from Bilbao. The last 15km or so of the roads to the valley are narrow and winding although in excellent condition. It is not hard to find but is not signposted so make sure you have directions.
The hotel is run by a couple and a few staff all of whom could not be more welcoming. They are proud of the area and full of tips and ideas of things to do. The owners and staff all speak some English as well as some French beyond their native Spanish so communications should not be a problem. Efforts at communicating in Spanish though will be rewarded.
The building is an old but sympathetically renovated country house. The rooms are all different and I think vary quite a lot in size - the one we had was billed as a junior suite. It was of a decent size with an nice sun lounge/enclosed patio area overlooking the garden, village and valley. The only small criticism I would have of the room was lack of comfortable seating - there are chairs but they are not designed to sit in for any length which is a shame given the lovely view. The bathroom was large and well equipped with ours including a spa bath and shower.
The is a shared lounge/bar and a small shop on the ground floor with comfortable seating and books and games for when the weather is not great.
Breakfast and dinner is available in the hotel - talk to the owners earlier in the day if you want to take dinner. Food is of a home cooked standard with fresh and local ingredients.

In summary - a lovely place to stay run by really nice nice people.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners as all the rooms vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

My mother and I stayed over at Casona de Quintana on our way from A Coruna to San Sebastián. Every room is beautifully and tastefully decorated and the hosts (owners) were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was also great - we had dinner and breakfast the next day and thing like having a wine list from recommendations from guests and having fresh bread arrive for breakfast made it really special. What we Aldo liked was that all the ingredients for the meals were either locally produced or came from the little herb / vegetable garden on the property.

I'm definitely going to plan a longer visit with my husband this time as it's a very romantic setting in the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Really nice and well run casona in the middle of the mountains. Places to hike : everywhere. Driving/touring potential : exceptional. These mountains are incredible. Really comfortable, well appointed casona. Small and authentic with gracious living spaces and rooms. Nuria (forgive my spelling) and Jose are warm and welcoming hosts. Recommend wholeheartedly. A tiny town in the middle of the Pyrenees. The location is perfect. And Nuria is a great cook.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I'm a little lax in writing this review; I stayed here with my husband and parents in October. We were the only two couples staying that night and we enjoyed having the whole hotel to ourselves. The owners have done an excellent renovation and decoration of this now lovely property in a wonderful location. The owners went out of their way to look after us, with a beautiful meal and wonderful wine. Friendly but not overbearing. A very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The property is a little hard to find, perhaps call beforehand for directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed, as a family of five, at this absolutely amazing hotel in April of this year after having discovered it on Mr and Mrs Smith. The hotel is a gorgeous old building in a stunning location, however what really makes it stand out above and beyond any other similar types of properties is the love and attention it has been given by the owners.

Having both worked originally in the antique business in Spain, Jose and Nuria have furnished their hotel with the most beautifully put together eclectic mix of antiques and furnishings that really complement the building and allow you to be transported back to a period when the building would have been in its very naissance.

Their level of curation does not simply stop at the stunning fit out. Every little detail of your stay has been thoroughly thought out - from the calming selection of Nuria's music quietly playing in the background to Jose's impeccable selection of local wines and cheeses that he has put together from local suppliers.

For all of our three nights we spent at the hotel, we took dinner and breakfast everyday at the hotel simply because the food is absolutely excellent - even if we had already eaten out and were full....it's that good!

If you want to stay somewhere where you are not simply staying somewhere beautiful, but being cared for by such beautiful people....then you, for sure, cannot miss out on staying at Casona de Quintana.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NP757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early October with other friends from England. Upon arrival, I thought I had completed a booking, but found out I had not completed it. The couple that own and run it could not have been more accommodating. They gave us the only room left, the Tower Suite, for the same price as the double we thought we had booked. Exquisite property in a tiny, medieval village that had been completely renovated and furnished in a French antique style. They are antique dealers in the off-season and have a great eye for pieces and how to put them together. The food was outstanding, excellent gin and tonics in the bar, hiking in the national park that it abuts and a great place to unwind for a few days. Highly recommend it for ambiance, service, and food. Don't miss if you are in the region!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are a delight. Great detail throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecoolsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

From our first welcome from Jose we knew we had chosen the right place for a relaxing weekend in Cantabria. All the staff made us feel welcome and had great attention to detail. Jose himself was a mine of local information. We were very impressed with the quality of the restaurant, especially the simple seasonal food.

Room Tip: Our room, El Nogal, was near the front door/lobby area so at times felt a little noisy. But it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToTheLastGrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quintana de Soba
16.3 mi away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
14.2 mi away
Parador de Limpias
Parador de Limpias
#1 of 1 in Limpias
550 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Pasiega
Hotel Villa Pasiega
#1 of 4 in Hoznayo
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
La Casona de San Pantaleon de Aras
La Casona de San Pantaleon de Ar...
#1 of 1 in San Pantaleon de Aras
212 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,301 reviews
22.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de Quintana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de Quintana

Address: C/ Sitio del Castillo 1, 39806 Quintana de Soba, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Quintana de Soba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Quintana de Soba
Price Range: £71 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casona de Quintana 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casona de Quintana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing