We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful shell for average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curiel de Duero
Certificate of Excellence
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
134 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Wonderful shell for average hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We knew more or less what to expect from reading the reviews and we were more pleasantly surprised than we thought- considering we were expecting more "negatives". The location and the views are absolutely fantastic- this is an excellent base to cover the entire Ribera del Duero- within minutes from Penafiel and wineries- just across the road from excellent Comenge bodega, right above a delightful little village. The rooms were spacious but basic and the hotel shows its age, but did not lose the historic charm. We had lunch at the restaurant which was a bit formal but delicious. We didn't use the pool but it seemed just fine. For 80 eur we got to stay in a castle (breakfast included), enjoyed a free bottle of wine in the room and we checked out at 3. Do i need to say more?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    71
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
95
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great location - a castle on the top of a hill, excellent restaurant. Very friendly manager and staff. Pool on top of the castle, was a bit chilly for me, but my youngest son went in and loved it. Nice hikes around the hotel, and not too far from Penafiel if you are visiting. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perigueux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

i have discovered this hotel 2 days ago while looking for wine and decide with my husband to have diner in that hotel restaurant.
what a dream! the owner has explained everything we wanted to know about the castle and it's restauration and we had home made wine excellent and even were privileged to be able to have diner before the normal time in Spain wich was very unusual. the food was excellent and even fair me as a vegetarian the food was excellent. and it was no a parrillada de verdura i cannot stand! next time i go to Penafiel I will book for the hotel. we had the ability to visit a room and the bed was comfortable and not as hard as wood which is also exceptional in spain.. i highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Charming castle with large rooms and a very tasty restaurant. The staff is very helpful and a lot of attention was given to us to ensure a comfortable stay.
Try their homemade wine which is also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Spent two nights in the castle, we were the only people staying. The rooms were great as well as the staff. Fantastic views from the roof top. It's only a short drive to the next town and all the winerys in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolKidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

This is the oldest of the castles in the province and it bow hosts a hotel. The installations are pretty modern, the room we had was spacious, clean yet had something of an old residence... We were treated with a courtesy bottle of their wine -Viejo Coso, a nice detail.

The breakfast was good, not very versatile though. I recommend spending sime time on the roof floor, which has a small pool. The views are great on the Duero valley and especially the neighbouring hill of the castle of Peñafiel.

In the village, make sure you visit the church with excellent wooden ceilling decoration, and since you are around go to Legaris and Comenge wineries.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tomaszsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Pros- It really is a castle set up on a hill in the ribera del Duero region. It is convenient to the wineries. The rooms are air-conditioned and relatively modern and spacious by european standards.

Cons- The steep winding driveway to get up that hill to the castle is not for the faint of heart, espicially if your not used to driving a manual transmission car. The rest of the castle is not air-conditioned- meaning that you are forced to stay in your room when it's 95 degrees outside. There is a tiny roof top swimming pool that is frigid since the temperature drops dramatically at night. There is nothing within walking distance and nowhere to eat until their restaurant opens at 9 pm. We speak very little Spanish, and the staff was very cold and unfriendly to us, and made us feel unwelcome. We were supposed to stay 2 nights, but left after the first.

Summary- If you are fluent in Spanish and don't mind staying in your room, while you are at the hotel, then this may be the castle for you. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curiel de Duero
3.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Las Claras
8.3 mi away
Castilla Termal Monasterio de Valbuena
11.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
#2 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
#1 of 1 in Sardon de Duero
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel ATH Ribera de Duero
13.6 mi away
Fuente Acena
Fuente Acena
#1 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel

Property: Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
Address: Calle Trascastillo, s/n, 47316 Curiel de Duero, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Curiel de Duero
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curiel de Duero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing