We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curiel de Duero
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magnificent Setting”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Castillo de Curiel is locate on a high plateau with a commanding view of the surrounding country. About five miles or so from Penafiel. We were here for a wedding (that took place in the hotel) and had a large room, tastefully furnished with sofa, chairs and an amazing view. Very comfortable and came with a complementary bottle of wine and fresh fruit. The castle roof is a great spot for socializing, with drinks, tapas and a magnificent view and has a small pool for swimming. The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The castle is rather isolated so probably not the place to pick if you want to travel the area but if you want a beautiful experience in a medieval style setting and are content to enjoy what the castle has to offer then the Castillo is for you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    84
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
112
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
princeton, nj
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We knew more or less what to expect from reading the reviews and we were more pleasantly surprised than we thought- considering we were expecting more "negatives". The location and the views are absolutely fantastic- this is an excellent base to cover the entire Ribera del Duero- within minutes from Penafiel and wineries- just across the road from excellent Comenge bodega, right above a delightful little village. The rooms were spacious but basic and the hotel shows its age, but did not lose the historic charm. We had lunch at the restaurant which was a bit formal but delicious. We didn't use the pool but it seemed just fine. For 80 eur we got to stay in a castle (breakfast included), enjoyed a free bottle of wine in the room and we checked out at 3. Do i need to say more?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great location - a castle on the top of a hill, excellent restaurant. Very friendly manager and staff. Pool on top of the castle, was a bit chilly for me, but my youngest son went in and loved it. Nice hikes around the hotel, and not too far from Penafiel if you are visiting. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GVAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perigueux, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

i have discovered this hotel 2 days ago while looking for wine and decide with my husband to have diner in that hotel restaurant.
what a dream! the owner has explained everything we wanted to know about the castle and it's restauration and we had home made wine excellent and even were privileged to be able to have diner before the normal time in Spain wich was very unusual. the food was excellent and even fair me as a vegetarian the food was excellent. and it was no a parrillada de verdura i cannot stand! next time i go to Penafiel I will book for the hotel. we had the ability to visit a room and the bed was comfortable and not as hard as wood which is also exceptional in spain.. i highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Charming castle with large rooms and a very tasty restaurant. The staff is very helpful and a lot of attention was given to us to ensure a comfortable stay.
Try their homemade wine which is also excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Spent two nights in the castle, we were the only people staying. The rooms were great as well as the staff. Fantastic views from the roof top. It's only a short drive to the next town and all the winerys in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoolKidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

This is the oldest of the castles in the province and it bow hosts a hotel. The installations are pretty modern, the room we had was spacious, clean yet had something of an old residence... We were treated with a courtesy bottle of their wine -Viejo Coso, a nice detail.

The breakfast was good, not very versatile though. I recommend spending sime time on the roof floor, which has a small pool. The views are great on the Duero valley and especially the neighbouring hill of the castle of Peñafiel.

In the village, make sure you visit the church with excellent wooden ceilling decoration, and since you are around go to Legaris and Comenge wineries.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank tomaszsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Curiel de Duero
8.4 mi away
Castilla Termal Monasterio de Valbuena
3.3 mi away
Hotel Convento Las Claras
11.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
#2 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Fuente Acena
Fuente Acena
#1 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
159 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kinedomus Bienestar
Kinedomus Bienestar
#3 of 8 in Aranda de Duero
136 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel ATH Ribera de Duero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel

Property: Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
Address: Calle Trascastillo, s/n, 47316 Curiel de Duero, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Curiel de Duero
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Curiel de Duero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing