We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best B & B we ve ever stayed at !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Canna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tighard Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best B & B we ve ever stayed at !”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Read the previous comments-they are all true regarding welcome ,location,rooms, hospitality & food not to mention our favourite island in the Hebrides-what more could you want-unfortunately , we only had one evening meal as the restaurant ( cafe ) had just opened-our loss as Colins food was divine ( my smoked venison ,goats cheese & beetroot starter was the best Ive had ! )
I can still see the view from the garden to Sanday & Rum sipping coffee & Colins homemade fudge surpassed only by the view from the bedroom window......truly wonderful stay, many thanks

Room Tip: 3 rooms all of an equally high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
35
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My mum and I visited Canna in mid March.  Canna has always been a very special place for us.  Having only ever travelled to Canna on our family yacht, more often than not to take shelter in the beautiful natural harbour from the Scottish Summer Weather!  We were excited to see what Canna's only B+B had to offer. Well, what a treat was in store for us! 


Colin and David were impeccable hosts.  The sitting and dining room have recently been redecorated to a beautiful high standard.  Our twin room was immaculate.  The beautiful details of complementary port and homemade biscuits were delightful.  Breakfast and dinner were superb.  A perfect b+b.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoSurtees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was already very excited at the prospect of a few days in Canna, to experience the Island and be part of the 'Away With the Birds' recce in preparation for the performances in late August.
I was blown away at how beautiful the island was on approach by the ferry and blown away even more on entering Colin and Davids guest house. What an absolute delight! Those chaps are true treasures and have clearly considered everything to make you feel absolutely at home and relaxed in their surroundings. Colin and David show clear flair and creativity in both the interior decoration of their property and in the delicious cuisine that they serve at both breakfast and dinner. The thought of Colin's white chocolate and rose cheesecake still makes my mouth water and I can't wait to sit in the Canna sunshine in August and enjoy a cup of tea with some more of Colin's fabulous cakes when I return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tighard is an unexpected jewel of a guest house on Canna, one of Scotland's small Inner Hebridean islands. The house itself is spacious and elegant, built by the Thom family, owners of the island in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Once you enter the door, you know you are in a unique and special place. Hosts Colin and David have done a wonderful job tastefully decorating the rooms with furniture ranging from the Victorian era to Art Deco period. Bay windows in the drawing room and one of the bedrooms provide spectacular views of the islands of Canna, Sanday and Rum. From the Hyskeir room, where I stayed, the beacon of the Heisgeir lighthouse may be seen at night. The port decanter in each room adds a nice touch of class, too.

I came to Canna for a five-day Gaelic language and song course called "Eòlas Chanaidh - the Canna Experience." Many of the classes, as well as meals, were held at Tighard (in Gaelic Taigh Àrd - the "high house"). The evening cèilidh — a song and storytelling session — was held in the drawing room. The guest house was an excellent and really indispensable location for this event. Colin and David provided great support for the students — from the time we arrived at the Canna pier until we left. They were especially helpful when the return ferry was cancelled due to high winds and rough seas, putting us all up for an extra night and serving extra meals.

I must make special mention of the meals at Tighard. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all of outstanding quality. Much of the food is sourced locally, either on the island (Tighard has its own garden) or from mainland suppliers who source from local farms and suppliers (I now know what sausages are supposed to taste like). Each aspect of preparation and presentation was excellent. I would rate dinner at Tighard high among my dining experiences, both for quality and ambiance. Colin and David also stock a fine selection of wines and malt whisky, and run an "honesty" bar for guests — you write down what you drink and settle at the end of your stay.

Tighard and Canna offered much more than I expected, and were well worth the journey. The island has brilliant scenery and a long and fascinating history going back to the days of Calum Cille or St. Columba of Iona. Canna House is an important archive of Gaelic music, folklore and history. If you're a hiker, I recommend taking a few days to explore the island. And if you're planning a trip to the Inner Hebrides, I highly recommend spending some time at Tighard.

Room Tip: If you like views, one of the forward rooms has bay windows. All rooms were spacious, with very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Radnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had five days at Tighard - our first visit to the Isle of Canna. We could not have asked for more from Colin and David, our hosts, nor from the delightful house which they run. From the moment of our arrival at the quayside, where they met us to take luggage up to the house, they were warm, friendly and fun!! The house is a beautiful Edwardian home with magnificent sea views, the rooms are large and very well-appointed and the food, cooked by Colin, excellent.

We are in love with the whole place, and Tighard lies at the heart of the experience. Thank you both.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew_Deuchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 2 nights on Canna and would have stayed longer if Tighard House had not been fully booked for the festival in August. Colin met us off the ferry with a warm welcome and delivered our rucksacks back to the ferry on the return journey; the weather was so good we preferred to walk. The food was excellent, the Goroghon Room was lovely with a beautiful view and every effort was made to ensure our stay was both comfortable and enjoyable. The island itself was our favourite of the Small Isles and although we didn't spot an eagle, we did see the last of the puffins before they returned to the sea. Canna House is well worth the visit and there are many superb walks. Altogether, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The Goroghon Room was ideal for our needs with en-suite. The Sanday Room is bigger but offers simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I've just returned from a beautiful couple of days on Canna staying at the Tighard Guest House. Colin and David are very welcoming and the food is amazing! I stayed in Sanday room which has great views out over Sanday, Rum and Coll and Tiree in the distance. I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tighard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tighard Guest House

Property: Tighard Guest House
Address: Tighard Tighard, PH44 4RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Canna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Canna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful period Edwardian property situated on a hill overlooking Canna and Sanday with spectacular views from all rooms over the island and to Rum .A truly special and breathtaking place to stay for peace and tranquility as well as special sites of historical interest and a nature lovers paradise.Fantastic walking with excellent birdwatching as well as the hugely important archive of Gaelic folksong and folklore built up by John Lorne Campbell and Margaret Fay Shaw at Canna house owned and managed by the National Trust For Scotland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing