We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy cottage with friendly owners.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Steenvoorde, Nord, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
stl203
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A cosy cottage with friendly owners.”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We really enjoyed staying at le Refuge d'Onyx, our boys liked watching the turkeys, chickens and goats at the end of our private patio/garden. We would have sat out in the evenings, but as it was the end of March the weather wasn't really warm enough! Rita and Jean Phillipe were charming hosts. There are lovely restaurants in Steenvoorde and we especially enjoyed le Set de Table. It was perfectly placed for tours of the Ypres Salient, with most sites about 15-30 mins away. We could find no faults, though the boys said they would have liked sky tv!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
We are delighted to hear from you and we keep an excellent memory of your kind family. We are proud to be a member of welcoming accommodations of the network Western "Northern France Battlefields Partner" Front 1914-1918 with the respect due to the brave fighters. Thank you for these moments shared during your visit. Yours
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAAGM N
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2018
Nous restons surpris par certains de vos commentaires et désolés pour vous car vous êtes passés à côté des atouts du refuge d'Onyx. Merci pour les suggestions qui permettront d'apporter un plus à nos respectueux et fidèles habitués. Cordialement
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loubou594...
Esquelbecq, France
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
Nous vous remercions pour cet avis qui fait plaisir. Nous ouvrons l'accès à l'annexe santé bien-être du Refuge d'Onyx en option pour ceux qui souhaitent une pause détente au cours de leur séjour comme nous l'apprécions également, tout simplement. Bien à vous et à la prochaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockape1
Meifod, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peaceful location. Though in a small town, we were far enough away from the road and neighbors to have a tranquil stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
It was a real pleasure to welcome you in our " Onyx refuge " in the heart of the hills of Flanders. We strive to keep a benevolent discretion and we are delighted that you have appreciated. We hope to see you soon and more time to share other informal events and develop our exchanges in French and English. Thank you and Yours. Rita & Jean Philippe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing