We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Amazing!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Amazing!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just returned from our trip last night. 7 Days at the Beaches Ocho Rios. We had the best time and did not want to leave. The employees were always there to make our trip enjoyable and make us feel welcome. Whorms and Aaron at the pool bar made our days by the pool the best. They made the best drinks for my husband and myself as well as made sure our kids received what they wanted as well. The service they provided was just EXCELLENT. Lacy-Ann also was very pleasant around the pool. Stopping by to make sure that we did not need anything. Ashley, Fabian, Sheldon, Kemar, Chloe, and Dexton kept my kids entertained the whole time. There was always something for the kids to do during the day and in the evening and it was not over the top. They would come find the kids to make sure they were involved and enjoying themselves which made it great that they were never bored.

The food was very good. The only problem is that you wait way too long for your food to arrive in the restaurants. We waited over an hour for our food to arrive at the Venetian.

Another downfall is the internet service. We paid $40 plus dollars for internet service and it was always down. When we called to ask about the internet service they charged us $11 for the call. They did take it off our bill but that is something to be aware of.

I would have to say that the cleanliness of the resort, the endless amount of activities for our kids to do and the food would bring us back. Along with the employees at the pool bar, activity centers, etc. I did think that the staff at the main desk and concierge desk were arrogant. We booked a concierge level room and when we arrived at our room there was a letter addressed to another family. No big deal. I did not go to the desk until the second day because we needed more pillows in our room. They wanted to know why I had not contacted them and just rubbed me the wrong way. So booking a concierge level room was a waste of money.

The bartenders in the evening at the main bar were somewhat unfriendly too. They were nowhere near as friendly as the bartenders at the pool bar.

Overall the trip was great and we had an excellent time. Would definitely return.

Thank you Whorms, Aaron, Ashley, Fabian, Sheldon, Kemar, Chloe, Dexton and Lacy-Ann for going above and beyond and for making our trip really special!!!! You are all the best and we wish you well and would love to return to see you all!!!!

P.S. And I would like to give a shout out to #3. You know who you are!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cnorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,115
    1,098
    371
    175
    152
See reviews for
3,034
79
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Excellent customer service and extremely friendly staff. Rooms are large and all remodeling seems to be complete. This was our 2nd visit to a Beaches (T&C March 2012) so I can compare the two. Waterpark at Boscobel much better but it doesn't open until 10am, kind of tough with a 3 year old who had us at the pool with bkfst complete by 8 or 830 am daily. We didn't eat at Eleanors but I can discuss the others. BBQ Park was fine, typical pool side burgers, pizza etc. We didn't find the service slow, Venetian was our best meal. Bayside is typical all inclusive buffet, nothing great but it was exactly what you would expect. The Bayside salad bar was a letdown compared to T&C, but it was serviceable. Our disappointment was Neptunes, slow service, bland food although location is the best of the 4 restaurants we visited. The beach is small but is fine for families with small children. The other reviews are right on about everyone reserving pool and beach chairs by 7am, but this is also typical of most resorts, not a Beaches problem alone. We would find chairs with wadded up towels, pull the towels and replace with our clean ones, never had a problem. Kids club is fabulous. The 2 hour ride from the airport wasn't bad. We stopped halfway for restroom, drinks and snacks. This is nice with lots of little ones on the bus. The scenery and guide/driver made the ride enjoyable Resort is much smaller than T&C so getting around is quick and easy. We never had an issue with the stairs, it was nice to walk off the meals. The only issue we had with this resort and it's something that T&C does a great job is communication. We arrived on a Tuesday, that evening we noticed a private party on the patio outside of the Venetian. My wife and I commented that it would be nice to have a corporate meeting at a beach resort thinking this was just that? The next morning a letter was slid under our door inviting us to a private party for returning guests, Tuesday night! Also, daily sheets were rarely found, not only not delivered but the front desk didn't even have them. The nightly shows and themes (Sesame Street parade, chocolate night, etc.) were an enjoyable SURPRISE. All in all, good resort. In a final comparison with T&C, restaurants, pools/beach size, chair availability and staff communication all better at T&C. Boscobel wins on Waterpark features. With a 3 yr old, the Waterpark is pretty important so we will return after trying out Beaches Negril next year.

Room Tip: I've seen lots of room recommendations on this site with everyone having their own opinion. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our family of 4: 2 boys ages 2 and 4 returned from 10 days at Beaches, Ocho Rios from March 5-to-14, 2013, and had a unforgettable experience. Our room was on the east side main floor Hibiscus luxury Mega family suite with a large walkout patio facing the entrance to the Bayside restaurant. The added space provided enough room for our high-energy kids to enjoy with excellent amenities and room service. Overall service within the different categories:- Firstly, the day care facilities was phenomenal in the loving arms of the day care workers (Kimone, Dahlian, Michelle and Stacy) who greeted all kids with smiles and hugs. Our kids made new friends within the daycare and enjoyed many of the planned activities. Secondly, the water park had fabulous staff and life guards greeting all kids while maintaining a high safety standard. Thirdly, the food was excellent all of the restaurants on site. The staff at the Bayside were always welcoming and accommodating with our kids. The Chef Gavin kept us well entertained with his singing and humour while preparing the food. Servers such as Dean, Juanita and numerous other staff made our dining experience enjoyable with the kids. Fourth, the entertainment staff was phenomenal in particular Fabian paying particular attention to all of the kids at the resort! The Sesame Street characters put on great shows and greeted everyone warmly! The least enjoyable was the long shuttle service from Montego Bay to the resort. Although the driver was entertaining, the kids were tired from the long travel. Hopefully, Ian Flemming International airport will be open by the time we return next year that will only take 10 minutes. Finally, with the whole package its too bad the management does not consider free wifi. Thank. Amar, Rosie, Vinay (4), & Sanjay (2)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amargupta_duggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica and our first time booking through Beaches. Overall, it was a great family trip and we would go back. Not sure if we would go through beaches again....pretty pricey, but that is the price you pay for "a piece of mind". We booked through Mitch from travel guys, which is a super efficient company. Here is a break down of pros/cons. There were five of us in the trip, myself, my husband, and our three kids: 1, 9, and 10.

Service: EXCELLENT!! Jamaica is known for great people and they didn't disappoint on this trip. They were great with our kids and always tried to keep them entertained. By the end of the trip my 1 yr old was blowing kisses to Gracelyn, who was a server that we saw regularly.
Value: booking through Beaches is expensive. So based on the amount you pay there are a few things that should be better. For example, we shouldn't have to pay for our shuttle ride to the hotel. I have booked vacations through other companies and it is free. We were not aware that we would be shuttled by an outside company that overly encourages tips. Our driver sped the entire way there and was even pulled over by the police. This isn't good when you bring kids and no car seats! The driver Mercy gave a couple dirty looks because they didnt give a tip. The bus was in poor shape too. I noticed that Apple vacations had really nice shuttle buses.
Location: the drive to boscobel is long, but you get to experience how Jamaicans really live, which is interesting. We really enjoyed the small island. Perfect for a family and we felt very safe. The only annoying thing was the family in yellow shirts that lure vactioners over to the other side of the island to buy their over priced goods. If you go over a security guard takes down your name and room number. Just in case you come up missing. This makes the hotel appear shady and less professional.
Rooms: this was probably the most disappointing part of the trip. We payed extra for a family hibiscus suite. The space is not big enough for a family and is far from a suite. The rooms are in need of an upgrade, definitely not resort quality.
Food: we enjoyed the food. The only place we didn't like was the grill. Food wasn't good quality. Everything else was great!

Overall, this was a great trip and we are planning to go again. Love the staff at beaches and they are the one reason we would book through beaches again. Make sure you swim with the dolphins! Our kids did not want to go home and they have been talking about Jamaica for the past month!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have just spent 5 days at this beautiful resort, and everything was included! From the accommodations to the buffet restaurant, to the entertainment, everything was primo. Plenty of things for the kids to do, as well as adults. Shout outs to Fabian and Ash, who are fun and games leaders! Love them. A special thank you to Justin, our concierge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This was our first trip to Jamaica and our first time staying at an all inclusive. We were not sure what to expect. Upon arrival at the airport in Montego Bay we boarded our bus and rode for about 1 hour and 45 minutes to Beaches Resort. We were traveling with a group of 35 and we were not the only groups headed to Beaches on this day.

The Bus ride was not too bad, a little warm as I don't think the Jamaican vehicles have much air conditioning. We did make a stop just out of Montego Bay for some drinks and food. Red Stripe was cold and the Jerk Chicken was awesome. I did get asked around the rear of the building and shown some strong marijuana, but politely declined and made my way to the bus.

Upon arrival at Beaches you are told to go to the lobby to check in and your luggage will be brought to your room. This was probably the worst part of the experience for us. I thought they would be a little more organized with as many people that they knew were coming in on this day and at this time. They appeared to be a little dis organized and things were chaotic. We did get your room fairly quickly (others in our party had to wait several hours) and our bags did make it to our room a little while later. Overall this was the worst part of the vacation, but as they say in Jamaica, no worries mon!

Our room was very nice and we had two adults and two children in the room. We had a king sized bed and a pull out couch along with a roll away. We ordered the roll away in advance and it was in the room upon arrival. We only stayed in the room to sleep so we did not need a huge sweet. I think there are some available, however you do pay more. Some of our party had minor problems with rooms (ie safe not working, shower not working, etc..) the air conditioner worked well in the room and we were never hot in the room.

The beach was somewhat smaller than what we had originally thought, but it sufficed. It is man-made as the resort sits on the side of a cliff and if you have a room like us we were up higher so we had to make our way down to the beach every day. just enough stairs to work off the rum and food that you eat. The lounge chairs are first come and people start trying to reserve them early. We had some designated person to get chairs saved at about 6 am. There were some people at the beach before that! We never had a problem reserving 15 or so chairs but we did see some problems arise between other guests, but I think the guest in question was trying to save chairs at 9 pm the night before and the workers would move his things while cleaning up and he would lose his chairs and then want to fight. remember the saying "no problems mon!"

There were numerous things to do while at the beach, snorkel, tri cycle ride in the ocean, small sail boats, banana boat rides, paddle boards, kyaks, Scuba Diving, or just lying in the sun and waiting to be served. We had three employees that took a liking to us and really kept us replenished with towels, drinks, excitement, etc... Chantel was the waitress in our area and she was great. Great personality, great enthusiasm. Gregory was taking care of us with the water equipment. He would take the kids out on the sail boats, get them kyaks, get you drinks, towels, basically just make your stay enjoyable. Also Romaine was with Gregory and took care of us as well.

This was my first SCUBA trip as I just got certified. you get two free Scuba dives a day and they book quickly. BJ is in charge of the Scuba shop and she is great. She took care of us as we had several first timers that had just been certified as well as several that needed to finish certification dives to get certified. She had it all in check. I enjoyed the diving personally, however a few of the more experienced divers in our group said they had dove at some better locations that were not as "fished" out as the ones we went to. We did not go to any protected reefs so that may have been the difference. however for a first time Scuba diver it was great and I got great video on my GoPro camera.

We also booked the Catamaran boat trip to Dunnes River Falls. This was a great excursion. The Catamaran I believe was an additional $90 per person but it was worth it. you ride the catamaran and half way to the falls, they let the group out to snorkel for about 30 minutes. then you continue to the falls where you hike up the middle of the falls 900 feet to the top. You need to wear water shoes or tennis shoes they will not let you go bare footed. If you don't have either, they will rent you water shoes for the trip. It was a great time, and expect to get wet from head to toe. We went on Wednesday and we were told it would be busy due to two cruise ships that had docked in Ocho Rios the night before. I think if you go on Monday it is not as crowded as the ships are not in port. The ride back on the catamaran is an open bar as well as food and a DJ. It was very nice. I would sit on top of the catamaran and when i was finished with my drink, the captain would honk the air horn and someone would come running and go get me another drink. What a way to live.

The food at the resort was great. I never had a meal that I did not like. There are 4 or 5 restaurants on the resort and I think 3 of them take reservations. The buffet is open for all three meals and it was great. Not a long wait in line, and they had all different kinds of food at each meal and plenty of it. The BBQ restaurant stayed open the latest, I think until like 2 or 3 am and would serve hamburgers, fries, pizza, etc...The kids loved this spot. The only problem with the food in the restaurants was it was small portions. but since you could eat as much as you wanted, you just ordered two or three entrees when they came around. Problem solved!

The swimming pool was great and there was always some type of activity going on around the pool at the stage. The characters (Elmo, Oscar, Cookie Monster, ect.) would be around, they would have dance competitions, fashion shows, pool vollyball, ping pong. The resort would put a daily activity sheet in your room door every morning giving you the times of all the activities for each age group and location to find them. There was a small water park with 3-4 slides, tennis courts, basketball courts, chess court. All kids of all ages had something going on all day if they wanted.

Checkout was not as hectic as check in and we placed our bags outside our room and they were taken to the front lobby to wait the bus. We had another 1 hour 45 minute bus ride back to the airport and the vacation was over. All in all it was a great time. Our group was loud, but fun and we had a great time. I would consider going back in the future.

Room Tip: I would have to say I would pick one of the rooms facing the ocean, but not on the beach level. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, KS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We just returned from 7 days and nights at Beaches Ocho Rios for spring break, and had a fabulous time. There are 5 of us in our family, my husband and I, twin 12 year olds and a 10 year old. We had read many many reviews on Trip Advisor before leaving, so we came armed with information and helpful hints from fellow travellers. The most important standout at this property was the staff - always helpful, accomodating, funny, and willing to go the extra mile. The unemployment rate in Jamaica is obviously very high, so many employees told us that working at Beaches was a very coveted job, and they wanted to keep it. The biggest downer about this property is the 2 hour bus ride to and from Montego Bay. That's just the way it is (at least it's a paved highway). When we arrived, our room was ready - I requested an upgrade at check-in, and that our room have a walk-out patio with table and chairs, not a balcony. Both were granted. Our room had 1 king bed, a pull out couch, and a rollaway. I had already checked in online with the rollaway request, and it was waiting in our room. Very clean room, serviced twice a day (housekeeping came while we were at dinner and changed out tools, remade beds, general tidying up). Our room looked out to the pool and ocean beyond, just beautiful. I read a few complaints about waiting at restaurants - the trick here is GO EARLY. We are an early-riser family, so we were awake and moving by 6:30 every morning, kids down (exhausted from the sun and fun) by 9 or 9:30. We never had to wait for a table. The food was incredibly good for an all-inclusive; make sure you read the Sunny Times newspaper every day, and keep a lookout for the "Pirate's Bounty" in the Bayside Buffet, because that means all you can eat lobster tails! I felt bad for people sitting in Venetian having spaghetti, who hadn't "read through the lines". When you go to Eleanor's, don't miss the crabcake. All wines are by Beringer, and were very drinkable (of course you can order off a different wine list and pay, but that seemed unnecessary to us, then again, we're not sommeliers). As far as watersports, my kids did tons of snorkeling, glass bottom boats, we took water kayaks out every day. We did have a problem with waiting our turn for these the last few days of our stay, but that was when the resort was super-busy with new families arriving (Saturday seemed to be the big arrivals day). Yes, you're going to have to keep a few beach towels in your room from the day before to lay over your pool and beach chairs - no big deal. We scored a free covered cabana on the beach every day, but then again we were down there at 6:30am laying towels. Yes, the beach is small, but I saw many adults venture past the roped-off area and do a little swimming out in deeper water. One note for whoever is packing bags in your family - bring more sunscreen than you think. The shop sells it, but it's exhorbitant. We had 3 full cans for our family, and literally ran out the last day. As far as activities go, my kids are scheduled to the hilt here at home, so we just let them do whatever they wanted to do. They always knew where we were stationed ("we'll either be at the pool, beach, or in our room, let's meet here at 12:30 for lunch"). The kids club activities looked tons of fun, we didn't register them, tho. The Xbox room was a good draw in the afternoon for a break from the sun (we had 85 and sunny every day, btw). One tip if you have a daughter - don't get her hair braided at the resort for $130, go see the ladies who hang out by the dive shop, and get it done for half that amount. Carlene, Susan and friends are very nice and will do a super job. We did do one excursion - Dunn's River Falls, which is a blast. After you climb the falls, you're going to have to walk past a mega-market of sellers, just say "no, mon" politely and they'll leave you alone. For us, this trip was all about relaxation and unstructured time, and if that's what you're looking for, then Beaches Ocho Rios will definitely fit the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank badgermomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
55.2 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
89.4 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
57.7 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
23.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
6.9 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Property: Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Hotels.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing