We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“major dissappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Certificate of Excellence
Newburgh, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“major dissappointment”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I am in the middle of our cavation at Veaches Ocho Rios and it is a MAJOR dissapointment. I have been to Sandals and Beaches on 3 occassions and this is our fourth time. What I shock this property has been. The accomodations are poor. The restaurant by the beach is closed for renovations, the swim up bar is closed for rennovations and the Piano Bar is closed for rennovations. That being said my wife and I are always excited to get the kids in camp and enjoy some alone time. Not here. Unless your child is in the 5-7 year range there is no camp to speak of. Our 9 and 11 year old are on their own with mom and dad. If you are already booked and coming, I'm sorry. If you are contemplating, then please choose another destination or you will be dissappointed. they have disspaointed us every chance they have gotten and our last night was no different. My daughter has been excited about the chocolate buffett all day and guess what? It was just cancelled. What a surprise. This was after a day of talking to the manager about our dissapointmenet and hearing how soorry they were.

I regretfully cannot recomend Beaches to any friends or family. What ashame and a huge waste of money.

Room Tip: Choose a room atb a different proprty adn don not waste your money. signed, dissapointed from Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rich p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I would like to extend our most sincere apologies for your stay not meeting your expectations. Being a return guest, you know that we always strive to offer stellar experiences to our guests and it seems your stay was not indicative of the norm.

After checking with our management team on resort, I'm happy to hear that our Director of Guest Services has been in contact with you and addressed your concerns. Thank you for your review and for reaching out to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon for a stay that truly exceeds your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,147
    1,116
    378
    177
    153
See reviews for
3,089
79
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family of four travelled to Beaches Ocho Rios from August 17, 2013 to August 24, 2013. From time moment we got off the plane and was escorted to the Beaches/Sandal lounge, we knew this vacation was going to be something special. The coach that brought us to the hotel was air conditioned, all of our bags were carried in and out of the hotel.

There was so much to do. My children are 9 and 13. They spent most of their time in the water whether it was at the beach, the pool or the waterslide area. My 13 year old and 9 year old opted to not do the kids or teen clubs but the "Sunny Times" provided a schedule of the days events. This is delivered to your room during "turn down" service in the evening.

We ate at all of the restaurants, and even my picky 9 year old enjoyed everything he was given to eat. It was the first time he had tried conch fritters, and he loved them. My 13 year old and myself enjoyed the "kids drink of the day". As I do not drink alcohol, this was a way for me to experience various non-alcoholic drinks. The "Ziggy Marley" was our favorite--we enjoyed it so much that we tried to repeat it at home.

The staff was exceptional. They greeted you all through the day with big smiles, and were always concerned if you needed something. Even while sitting at the pool, the staff would walk around and make sure that you were comfortable and took you drink order. The staff was constantly cleaning and mopping. There were no sandy hallways or dirty floors. The resort was immaculate.

We did not rent a cabana but the service there seemed impeccable from those that did utilize that service. You were provided with your own concierge who would take your food and drink orders, and provide you with towels.

There were always towels available at every site. My daughter spent much of her time in the "ocean". She could not get over the beauty of the water. She particularly enjoyed the banana boat and the hobie cat. We all did the glass bottom boat trip was included. It was so nice not to have to pay for the excursions on the resort property except for suba diving. My daughter also enjoyed the snorkeling excursion.

The only thing that was out of pocket was if you went off the resort. We did the dolphin encounter and bobsled excursions. Also it is customary to tip your driver to the "off resort" spots. I did not use the spa services because I try not to do things on a trip that I can do at home.

This is one trip where we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candi357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am an optimistic traveler. I enjoy myself everywhere I go even when things do not go as planned. I did NOT enjoy Beaches in Ochos Rios. There was no silver lining to be found. The trip started with a 2 hour shuttle ride with a faulty AC system. It was miserable but we were so looking forward to getting to the hotel we didn't let it get us down. Even when we arrived in a poorly lit dingy lobby with filthy furnishings we kept our heads up. Our hearts did begin to sink when we arrived in our room and found it dirty with popcorn and hair on the floor left over by previous inhabitants. We had no running water (couldn't flush toilet, couldn't wash hands), our bathroom door wouldn't close and there was more hair all over the bathroom floor. It took 2 phone calls and 2.5 hours to get the water back running and I am sad to report after 4 visits from housekeeping the popcorn remained on the floor until our departure 3 days later. At the Venetian restaurant that night we were the first guests to arrive yet it took 1.5 hours to receive our meal. When it finally arrived the chicken was completely uncooked in the center. The next day we went to the lunch buffet. Several items were out of stock. We told no less than 8 people while we waited at the bar for items to be replenished. It took better than twenty minutes to restock the times. Several times we considered just going to our rooms without a meal at all because nothing we had eaten had been worth a wait. Later that night we got stuck in an elevator after the hotel staff overloaded the elevator car trying to get people to our event location quickly. We pressed the emergency call button. When maintenance arrived minutes later we were asked to crawl out of the elevator between floors. When we got out of the elevator they tried to put us back in the SAME elevator to go to our event and seemed perplexed when we refused to get back on it. When we finally made it to our event, which was a wedding celebration, a guy came up a few minutes later and asked if everyone was okay and took the names and room numbers of those who were stuck in the elevator. At this point I had had enough. Not wanting to spoil my friend's celebration I decided to go to the reception and go see a manager about my issues the following morning. The following morning, there was no manager on duty when I went down so a nice fellow named Rupert patiently listened to my concerns. He took notes and promised to have the manager call me when he came in. At least 2 times Rupert called to check on us and inquire if the manager had contacted us. Each time he was surprised when I told him the manager had not contacted us. I went to reception desk and waited 20 minutes while they located the manager. To my shock the same guy who took our names and room numbers was the manager. He had not introduced himself as a manager or done anything managerial on the previous evening after we crawled out of the elevator. As such, I calmly detailed my complaints, the exact ones listed here. The manager unresponsive and took little action to improve the situation, though he did offer to call down to one of the property restaurants to make a reservation. He promised connect us with the property manager so that we could reach a resolution. I never heard from the property manager as promised. This was a miserable trip that could have been made less miserable if anyone on the management team had shown any concern for our situation or acted in anyway to improve it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank CourtneyTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We're so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard and we would like to correct the situation and make things right. We will strive in the future to truly give our guests the best Beaches has to offer that most of our guests have had the chance to experience. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to turn this around and showcase the true luxurious experience for which we are known.

Thank you for your feedback. I look forward to making contact with you regarding this matter very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidsonville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our first Beaches experience. With five kids ranging from 2-12 in age, I was encouraged by the "something for everyone" comments on Trip Advisor. They were true. Each of us had a great time. The water park was a hit. The off-resort tours were fun and well-run. The staff was great. One suggestion would be to have the daily schedule posted throughout the resort. We would leave ours in the room and finding a copy (or a staff member who knew what time Elmo arrived at the pool) was nearly impossible. Highly recommend for families. If I was traveling with my wife only I would choose a different resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This all inclusive property is one you would choose if you have kids . Your kids will enjoy it with Sesame Characters roaming around which you can take pictures with your kids or yourself . A lot of slides which they will really enjoy . Pool , white sand beach , a lots of food all inclusive you can choose what you want to eat . The Kids center is also free , where you can leave your kids all day and they have there own activities . Of if you choose to have their own nannies for hire @ nights .
All will really enjoy this property as the staff are really attentive and once again it's all inclusive property with Beaches .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your great review of our resort. We're so happy to hear your excellent feedback about Beaches Ocho Rios.

We look forward to you visiting with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family really enjoyed our trip to Beaches- Ocho Rios. We were at first disappointed in the room we oringinally booked, but after a conversation with management, they moved us into another room without hesitation. The food was certainly above what I had expected for a family all-inclusive, as we found all meals to be very good. The hotel staff was super friendly and accomodating. Renee, our concierge, was awsome. Our children, age 8 & 10, loved the beach and waterpark. The hotel is obviously doing some renovations ( piano bar, Neptune restaurant and pool bar all closed and being worked on), but, not an inconvenience to us. Resort is nice now, and will be even better when work is completed. I would certainly recommend for a family trip!

Room Tip: choose oceanfront terrace- you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiftybur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

100% awesome for children! The kids activities were unlimited! The water park area was a blast, The banana boating was awesome!The kids camp and night time entertainment for kids is unbelievable very entertaining the kids love it! I even enjoy it! Would definitely recommend for families! If you don't have kids then I would recommend a sandals.My four year literally cried...he did not want to leave. Food at the italian restuarant was fantastic, BBQ place was great and of course Bayside. Too many great points to mention and in the end, would definitely travel to Beaches again...anyone one of them.

Room Tip: rooms located above the main lobby area have beautiful ocean view, east wing is closer to everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trinigirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review of Beaches Ocho Rios. We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had such an amazing stay with us. We always strive to offer the best in family vacations and it's great that we were able to exceed your expectations!

Come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
55.1 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
89.4 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
57.7 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.3 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
23.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
8.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Property: Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing