We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches OCHO RIOS April 12-18”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beaches OCHO RIOS April 12-18”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our family (2 parents in their 50s and one 15 yr old son) loved Beaches Ocho Rios! We have been to Beaches Turks and Caicos twice before.

AIRPORT:
-checked bags w/Beaches Staff
-waited in air conditioned lounge until our ride to resort was ready
-just enough time to get a cold complimentary drink (sodas or beer) before boarding our van
-bathrooms are in lounge area as well
BUS TO RESORT:
-our luggage was loaded onto our air conditioned bus(FYI--Personal loading bags are not with Beaches and would like a tip) and we set off for what was 1 hr and 45 minute ride (no stops-but you could ask for one) to resort. We were aware that it would be this long before booking trip so decided to make the most of it! Our driver was awesome! He filled us in on interesting info about Jamaica-population/history/Bauxite production/even pointed out Usain Bolt's High School! Create your own entertainment--count goats on your side of the road/try to find the Beauxite Factory, the "Next Walmart" or KFC (which they say means-"Keep from Cooking")!
ARRIVAL AT RESORT:
-we were met with cold towels and refreshing punch (choice of alcohol or non-alcohol)
-they took our luggage and we proceeded to check in
-We had booked a Concierge level room so there was no air at all! Our room was even ready! ---We signed up for the WIFI package ($42.99 weekly charge for 5 different appliances). It was well worth it and never had difficulty getting wifi--even at beach!
CONCIERGE SERVICE:
Rayon was wonderful! He was always very accommodating and cheerful! He took care of dinner reservations, questions, and even changed some golf reservations that had been made prior to trip.
ROOM:
-We stayed in Rm 1205 (Caribbean Honeymoon Concierge Veranda Suite).
-Great view and across the resort from main stage were nightly entertainment is.
-Beds were comfortable-even the pullout was fine.
-liked having privacy of our own deck--rooms facing ocean have decks that are also used as public walk ways.
-With concierge level, your fridge is stocked with bottles of water, juices and soda. They also stock beer and wine. We took the bottles of water and juice to the beach with us each day. You can get drinks at the beach but in small cups. It was nice to have a supply of water with us!
-Our toilet handle was cracked, and within minutes-it was replaced with a new one! The furnishings were clean/new and very tasteful. House staff cleaned the room twice a day and left clean towels.
-the resort is on a hill, but there is an elevator and ramps for all to use.
-loved the shampoo/conditioner and soaps in the room! They even had a bottle of aloe vera lotion, as well!
BEACH:
-Small but nice!
-Occasionally, the boat pulling the banana raft would cause seaweed to drift to shore. But the beach staff was quick to sweep it away--leaving the beach beautiful again!
-The Hotel Security was quick to come to the beach if anyone outside resort came near.
-Never had a hard time finding towels.
-Sadly, the beach chair hoarders take over about day 3-4! Would not have a problem if they actually used the chairs!
-Was also surprised at how some of the guests of resort could not bring it to themselves to through away their trash--trash cans were every where. But again, the beach staff did an amazing job at picking up cups left on the beach and finding chairs when they could! Two of our favorites working at the beach were Roneil(told us all about Spearfishing) and Shanek (quiet but very sweet). Mike, from guest services, checked to see how everyone was doing done by the beach. He was funny, personable and very pleasant to talk to!
POOLS/SLIDES:
Never actually used pools or slides but they looked clean and inviting
FOOD/DRINKS:
Neptunes--view was awesome/staff very friendly/brought assortment of appetizers to share/would recommend grilled shrimp
Eleanor's--Service could not be beat!/sit outside if you can/food was good
Bayside Buffet--Our favorite/friendly staff-Scharion fixed us smoothies with a smile every morning! Renardo told us about growing up in Jamaica-very interesting and personable. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly! Food varied each day here. They have a chocolate fountain every other night it seemed. When you check in--hotel staff will suggest you go to grill for lunch--I would suggest you go to Bayside Buffet instead!
Bar B Q Grill--crowded with families with very young kids due to food items(pizza/hotdogs/hamburgers) and close proximity to slide pool. Wait can belong here. We preferred other restaurants.
Creperie--Must try!! Our favorite was the nutella and banana crepe! They make great smoothies, as well.
Breads and Pastries--we were told they make these items onsite. We loved them all--in the name of "research"--we tried them all! HaHa!
ACTIVITIES:
-We snorkeled (glass bottom boat takes you off the coast to great site), sail boated, paddle boarded, kayaked, and even went of the banana boat ride! All were included in your reservation. Lines moved quickly for beach activities!
-My 15 yr old son also signed up for the Scuba lesson--very thorough--class time, videos, pool time and then out to sea! He loved it so much that he completed his PADI certification and is now Resort (35-40ft deep) certified. He went on at least one dive everyday. He got his PADI license 2 days after we returned home! We can't say enough wonderful things about Yogi, his instructor! Personable, friendly, fun and great teacher! My son's favorite outing was a sunken ship dive!
-My husband went golfing twice during our stay. Greens fees are free and so is hotel transfer to course(check in lobby for set drop off and pick up times). It was $60 + tips per day/18 holes for cart(optional) and caddie(mandatory).
PARTIES:
Orville and the entertainment staff did a fine job! I have never seen a more competitive "Simon Says" game in all my life-haha! Theme parties were fun and nothing was held back! Food/decorations/ and drinks were colorful and over the top!
Ian held a fun party for the concierge level folks. Fun games/tons of spirit and again with the food!!
COMPARED TO TURKS AND CAICOS:
SIZE--Turks is so big--we spent most of the time trying to find our group! Ocho Rios is much more intimate! You really come away with the feeling that you have come to know some of the staff in Jamaica!
STAFF--Hands down--Jamaica has this one! Both places have friendly staff and service is great but the staff in Jamaica is much more personable!
LOCATION--Easier to get to Turks resort-takes less time from airport and direct flights from PHL.
BEACH--Turks wins this one(sand is whiter/softer/ and beach goes on forever), but Jamaica was nice, too!
FOOD--I thought service was better in Jamaica but probably enjoyed the restaurants in Turks a bit more--we are big fans of Japanese Steak house/Sushi/ and restaurant on the beach there.
PRICE--Less expensive in Jamaica
ACTIVITIES--no inclusive golf at Turks/no "free" banana boat in Turks/not sure if they have Paddle boards in Turks either/not much wait for equipment in Jamaica(probably due to ratio of equipment per people at resort??) I thought the nightly entertainment in Jamaica was more geared to small kids- very family friendly. The humor at Turks was definitely PG-13-- a little adult at times.
NOISE--Ocho Rios is much smaller and hard to get away from nightly entertainment noise. Did not bother us but might if you had small kids.
OVERALL--Came back happy and refreshed!
Thanks to all the Staff at BEACHES! Great job!!

Room Tip: Rooms across resort from stage area are quieter! We loved #1205! Private deck/nice furnishing/ plen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelsForSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,150
    1,119
    378
    177
    153
See reviews for
3,094
79
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The service was outstanding and everyone was so nice from the start of the trip to the end. I made a lot of friends but not only vacationers. Aaron, Devon, Mark (swim up bar) Rodney (pool), Marco (slides and well, all over the place lol), Anthony (beach), Richard (front desk) and Zane (bar) were amazing and I really connected with all of them! I had such an amazing time at the beach and pool. The food was the best food I have ever had on a vacation. The water slides were also very fun! Over all i give this resort a 5/5 for really making me feel like I was a celebrity!!

Patrick McDonald, 19

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi there Mary Beth,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are delighted that our staff took such excellent care of your family and that you have such fond memories of your time spent with them! Your kind remarks mean so much to us and I will be sure to share them with the team.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We are back for our second stay at Beaches Resort-Ocho Rios. We have been on many family trips over the years, but Beaches Resort-Ocho Rios continues to be one of our favorites. On our last stay we brought our kids, but this stay was for mom and me. We relaxed, enjoyed a massage, went snorkeling, sailing and climbing the Dunn’s River Falls. Oh, and lets not forget the rum punch and a few late nights out dancing at Margareta Ville.

Upon our arrival at the Beaches resort we were greeted by a wonderful group of people who extended a warm and friendly welcome, complete with musicians playing authentic Jamaican music.

Once in the reception area we were met by our friends Rupert and Fiona from the Soon Come Back desk, who helped us complete the check-in paperwork and answered my questions. Rupert continues to be a part of our extended Jamaican family and an integral part of our entire vacation experience. He enhanced our stay by sharing in our daily experiences and sharing himself and his time with us throughout our stay.

We were pleased to spend time with our friends Monique, Shadeen, Dexton, Junior, Kemar and made new friends with O’Shane and Orville. Each of these people shared there time, skills and personalities with us throughout or stay. What a talented group of people who truly went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.

Christopher, the manager consistently checked with us to ensure our stay was memorable. He included us in various activities and was always available to us throughout our stay.

The bar offerings were exceptional. Our favorite bar tender, Zane was top notch, providing excellent drinks and taking good care of us throughout our stay. Thank you Zane for being part of our family and for everything, we are truly looking forward to seeing you in October!

We participated in various water sports while at the resort including snorkeling and sailing. A Special thank you goes out to Donald for a truly exceptional sailing trip. You went above and beyond!

The food was generally good, with our favorites being the Venetian- great Italian food, Eleanor’s- a wonderful formal white glove evening, and the private candlelight dinner on the beach. Our favorite server is always Moreese, you took excellent care of us.

We enjoyed all of our friends and extended family members at Beaches Ocho Rios so much that we have already booked our return trip in October 2014. Our extreme thanks to you Rupert for helping us to schedule this return trip and for all of your help and friendship while we were there.

Our gratitude and thanks to everyone at Beaches Ocho Rios for making this a truly memorable experience for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-Bunny-Mahurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at Beaches 16-23 April. Had a great time. After reading alot of reviews I agree with most of the reviews. Friendly people, clean rooms & resort. Food was from very good to Ok. Big winners was the steak & choclate lava cake from the Veniatian for dinner. The Bayside or the BarBQ park were best for lunch. The ribs, & the Jamaican patties @ the BBQ place were excellent. A must try is the signature drink at Neptunes!!!!!! Small pool near neptunes & Opa bar above the watersports are hidden gems. Smaller & less crowded.
I would like to compliment Zane at Opa bar & Prince with the dive boat. They are the two that made this vacation a great vacation. Zane helped me set up a suprise romantic dinner for 2 on the pier. (Highly recommended)
The one downside I found (previously noted) Is if the walkways are wet, they are extremely slippery. I slipped 3-4 times. I never went down but did tweak my knee.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phatpig612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

From the time you arrive to the time you leave, you feel like you are being 'nickle and dimed'! From the time of exiting the airport and being told that the driver of the bus didn't work for Beaches and we could tip him seperately, to the sign in the bus that says 'tipping is customary and appreciated', to any excursions where you are told how tough things are and that people like us (tourists) come and keep their families going ... to the trip back where you can pay for the privelege of not standing in a queue for an hour - to get to security ...

My family of 5 decided to try a different 'all inclsuive' holiday. Usually we go to Club Med. We chose this Beaches Resort as diving was included - what a joke. The first dive was over a pit of rubbish - with the intention of getting you to pay for 'better' dives. $100,- per person per dive! OBSCENE. Dive master was all about how poor Jamaica is and could we leave dive jackets for them, please! The price of the dive was negotiable, he told me, and every day he checked if I was ready to pay again.... The staff at Reception were contrite and treated you as an annoyance. Our room was well placed - if you didn't want to sit outside. It faced the kitchens of the buffet room - the aircon ran all the time - hot and noisy outside - but the inside was cool and quiet. Seems silly to sit inside when you have such lovely gardens, and birdlife. Being in Jamaica one would like to enjoy the warmth! The food was tasteless in all restaurants and was boring! Truly boring and tasteless. The formal restaurant was lovely - a pity we only went there on our last night. In the time we were there - we say 12 people with stitches! This is because the areas are not well maintained with cleaning up of water and people slip. Chin, back of the head, forehead ... par for the course!

The outright opportunity to buy marijuana, and then to sit at the pool and smoke it around other people and their families was astounding to me. This was not what I expected at a family hotel. When management were asked about this - their response was that you are allowed to smoke in open areas - really - pot - I am not niave, but at a family resort? Beware if you take teens - it's easily available apparently.

There are many many other little annoyances - but in the end - they all added up to a particularly annoying vacation for 5 people.

Most of the staff try hard and are friendly - they do their job to the best of their ability. The one positive was that they made an effort with Gluten Free - if you asked for it.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the airconditioning unit that runs 18 hours a day for the kitchens. Make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Finella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Finella,

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Beaches Ocho Rios and it was very disheartening to know you left with an unsavory impression of the resort. Guest satisfaction is our #1 priority, and we are never pleased to note that our guests return home with a sense of dissatisfaction. I assure you that your experience is not indicative of the norm for us and what you described does not meet our high standards. We appreciate you taking the time to notify us of your concerns and our resort management team will look into these matter immediately.
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My family of four (myself, my husband, 11 year old daughter and 16 year old niece) traveled to Jamaica 4/18-4/25. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. We had booked Club MoBay on arrival and would say it saved us at least an hour's time through check in and customs. From there, we proceeded to the Beaches welcome area where our bags were tagged for transport. We were immediately escorted to our air conditioned bus for the 2 hour ride to Ocho Rios. I've heard people complain about this transport time but we were prepared for it. After all, we learned all about the country and customs of the wonderful Jamaican people.
Upon arrival at the resort, we were greeted with a smile and cool towels by Lesley. This man works long days as when we were in the bar some 11 hours later, he was still working with that smile on his face. We had our orientation the following morning with our new friend, Rodney, from the entertainment committee. He was informative and friendly. Little did I know, that meeting with him would be the beginning of a wonderful friendship. He was always smiling and willing to go above and beyond to make our trip a memorable one. He is one of the main reasons why we have booked a future trip to come back to Beaches Ocho Rios. His professionalism in planning the daytime activities and evening shows were outstanding!!
The most memorable thing about this trip was the outstanding, wonderful employees. I am beyond words how they remember names each and every time you see them.
Special shout outs go to our amazing bartenders Arron, Devon and Mark at the swim up bar. They were always ready to re-fill our drink of the day. Shaushana and Carrie Ann at the front desk were always available to answer any of our questions or concerns. Sherefa (sp?) at the Dive Shop allowed me to book our snorkeling trip for the following day @ 8:15 am knowing that we would be leaving for an offsite excursion at 8:30. She offered to be there for me at 8:15 and she kept her word.
We had chosen to book our offsite excursion w/ Kemrod from Riley Tours rather than book through the resort! What an awesome day! Riley Tours would be a true asset to the Beaches offsite excursions. He was reasonable, honest and always communicated with us in a timely manner. Hopefully, management at Beaches will consider using Riley Tours as another option for their guests. I have reviewed our excursion with Riley Tours on their Trip Advisor page.
Other mentions go to Dane on the entertainment committee- the girls loved hanging out with him in the Xbox room. Raheem (sp?), the waiter from the Venetian was always there with a smile and a pitcher of fresh water. Dwight at the Waterpark kept our daughter entertained teaching her how to skim across the pool from the waterslide.
I had the wonderful opportunity to speak with the hotel manager . He certainly made himself available to listen to our praise for his beautiful resort!
We have booked our future trip with Jadeane and Rupert and look forward to coming back to see our new friends.
We were able to take advantage of all of the onsite water sports! Snorkeling was our favorite activity! We found the food to be very good and the options varied! Loved the antipasto bar at the Venetian! Diane at the Bayside who made the omelets was a true star! Standing over that hot gas stove is not and easy job but she always did it with a smile!
Finally, I completely relied on all of the Trip Advisor reviews to plan this trip. I find it confusing that some people have indicated the rooms are outdated and the food is below average. I did not find any of this to be true. The only drawback for us was the number of stairs to get up to our 3rd floor ocean view room. This is a small sacrifice to have an amazing room with a memorable view!
Thank you to the entire staff at Beaches Ocho Rios for providing us with the best vacation ever, Mon!!
The Madden Family (Katie, Kevin, Erin and Andrea)

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Ocean view room was amazing! Did not use the spa...can't comment but heard it was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinsmom0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello Madden Family!

Thank you for your review of Beaches Ocho Rios and for sharing the lovely photos of your stay with us! It's wonderful that you all returned home with such amazing memories of your time in Jamaica and of our wonderful staff members! We look forward to seeing you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff at Beaches does a fantastic job of making you feel at home... away from home. Rooms, food and complex was enjoyable. I want to specifically point out two persons... Orville and Devon from the main and pool bar... that made our family trip spectactular. They both remembered all 11 of our names (and drinks) the entire week while always going out of their way to make sure everything was going as planned on our trip. My only complaint stems from a problem I think all resorts are having... inconsiderate people that get up very early (5 & 6am) to save chairs at the pool that they in turn never use. We saw this day after day and I think it should be managed better by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
55.1 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
89.4 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
52.3 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.7 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
23.2 mi away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
8.2 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Property: Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing