We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic Christmas!”
Review of Moxons Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moxons Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another fantastic Christmas!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Johanne does a fantastic job of making you feel like family. This was our second family Christmas spent at Moxons and our third time staying at the hotel. It is a little out of the way (short cab ride from Ocho Rios, long cab ride from Montego Bay airport) but if you want to get away to relax and explore the "real" Jamaica, this is the place to go. Very personal service. Breakfast tends to be a bit long in arriving, but we always occupied our time waiting by playing backgammon or walking down to one of the 2 piers jutting into an amazingly blue/green ocean. We have made friends of many of the staff as well as local Jamaicans (met on our long walks up the mountain to Content, down to the beach at Rio Neuvo and into Oraccabessa) whom we visit every time we come to Jamaica. This is not your big, resort-style hotel and that is exactly why we love it so much!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    29
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
54
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

There was a bit of an issue with the booking process but it eventually was taken care of. We were asked by the owner to go down to the restaurant area and wait for the room. We are greeted with this "Amazing" view that frankly had me speechless for a moment. Beautiful location, the staff was very nice, very quiet! I snorkeled for my first time. I had to chance to play a game of pool. The overall experience at this location was great! The food took a little longer than expected but the meals were delicious. The bartender Omar made some of the best drinks I've had in years! Again the view is breathtaking! I recommend waking up early and just sitting out on the balcony and just take it all in. 15 min drive to the Ocho Rios Beach! If your looking to dance Margaritaville is a 20 minute drive from the hotel. (not too far from the beach) I plan to go back at the end of the year!

Thanks, Johnny Hill

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306 right next to the gong, which I thought was pretty cool. 3 Beds 1 Queen, 2 Ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J6Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Rooms are great, staff are friendly.... Food was very poor. Place was empty, very over priced. viinigar holder was very dirty, and the bar man sliced the lemon and used his finger to drop into drink! Would not recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

What a lovely spot! If you want to go to a private boutique hotel that you can get away from everything and relax, this is the spot. Every room was one of a kind and unique and clean(and I had a chance to look at few of them). The service was excellent and the hostess wonderful. Love this spot!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belleneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We arrived very late after a four-hour odyssey from Montego Bay via Appleton Estate. Even though the hour was late we were well received, greeted personally by the owner, and upgraded to two great rooms. The morning can be spent sitting on the balcony with a great view of the ocean, the fishermen, and the seabirds. The dining room offers a great breakfast. It takes a while but that's kind of the point. What's the hurry?
The place and the pace really grows on you after a few days (we stayed four). It feels like you are a guest at a friend's beach-side mansion, mahogany stairs and an old bookcase add to the ambiance, and that any moment a guy will order a martini from the bar, shaken not stirred, and say, "The name's Bond...James Bond." There's even a nearby beach called James Bond's beach. This is a great place if you want to get away from it all, and Ocho Rios is just a short, five dollar cab ride away. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pittpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The lavish but quant hotel From the James Bond movie took my breath away.
$25ea way from MBJ airport and 1 1/2 hours to Resort. Our gracious host and Owner Ms Mack gave us a warm welcome upon arrival to Moxons with some sparkling water and a cool damp washcloth.
Most rooms wifi
June through November rainy season.
Has a great Snorkeling beach

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotAGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I recommended the Moxons Beach Club to a couple of friends almost two years ago. The hotel is only about three miles from the beautiful home of my dear friends where my family and I stayed. This time I needed total relaxation after a fast pace year. I checked in Aught 31 to September 4, 2012. It was like I struck gold, the staff was amazingly friendly and attentive to my every needs. The charm of the hotel with its own private beach, kayaks, music videos at the pool at night and star gazing. My room (405) on the top floor over looks the entire beach area, spectacular view. Coincidentally, it appears that the Moxons is under the orbit of several satellites, I counted 7 satellites in one night sitting on the deck star gazing. Since my stay was the slow season, I was given even more special attention and that's great when ordering a drink at the beach. The Moxons has a special charm that exudes character. I did venture into Ocho Rios and that's a quick eighteen minutes and about $120 Jamaican. It's a boutique hotel without frills of an all inclusive but a joy to experience just like the tasty pomegranates on property. Total R & R.

Room Tip: Room 405 has the best view with its adjacent room. Also room 102, closer to the beach and dining, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
5.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
90.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
236 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxons Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxons Beach Club

Property: Moxons Beach Club
Address: Boscobel, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moxons Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly built 20 room boutique hotel and restaurant built on 4 levels cascading down to our own private beach flanked by 2 large piers. We are on a one mile reef making this some of the best snorkeling around. 80% of the rooms face the sea with large private verandas. The balance faces our charming courtyard. We do have a restaurant but also encourage you to tour our island and get the full Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moxons Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxons Beach Club Hotel Boscobel
Moxons Beach Hotel
Hotel Moxons Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing