We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful time!”
Review of Moxons Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moxons Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a wonderful visit to Moxon's this past Christmas. Our room overlooking the sea was peaceful and tranquil. The food was delicious. The staff was absolutely fantastic, friendly and professional. We can't wait to get back to Moxon's next winter. It really feels like a home away from home. There's an intimate and private feeling that you just can't get from a resort or other beach hotels on the island. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moxonsguest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I decided this Valentines we were going to break away from our daily routine. So we headed to Jamaica, Moxons Beach Club in St. Mary. The perfect place to relax, eat great food freshly made by the best chef's in town, including the unforgettable blue mountain coffee with its great aroma, and the Jamaican Breakfast, our number one choice of breakfast. Our room had full view to the ocean, that also had a terrace for sun bathing, and right outside our door another sitting area for friends and family to sit and chat some more. The room was beautifully decorated, simple but yet elegant. We enjoyed our day by the deck, sun bathing, Kayaking, and a bit of snorkeling. Lunch was served anywhere where in the hotel, in our room, by the pool, and most frequently by the deck. The staff was friendly, they went above and beyond. Come and see it for yourself, an unforgettably place.
Our thanks to the owner "Ms. Mac", is how the locals call her, her name is Johanne MacDonald. Our thanks to the staff, Milton, Ricardo, Omar, Enrico, Stephanie who hunted down a taxi for us, and so many others. Planning to come back next year with friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matty473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

On first seeing the hotel from the road it seems very ordinary,but on entering the reception area you find yourself in a very unusual building,and we fell in love with it right away.It is beautifully designed,and on walking down a few stairs to the restaurant(not to good on the knees)it only gets better.From there down to the sea there are terraced areas where there are many places to sit, dine and look out over the fantastic view.On the main dining level the is a small pool,or at sea level there are two jetties that form a horse shoe where you can just float in the sea.
The food (all though slightly dearer than other locations)was excellent,and we had many lovely evenings just sitting there wining and dining,enjoying the great views and the company of the staff,who i must say,were a pleasure to meet and get to know.
I can honestly say,that if you have the opportunity,give it look,you wont be disappointed.
Sorry,can't seem to load my photo's yet.

Room Tip: An upper room with a view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Short stay at Moxon's beach club while attending Golden Eye's New Year's Eve Party. The property is very unassuming from the curb, until you walk in and see this dynamite view. We had a group of 5 and we were all a little speechless from this unexpected and spectacular view. Loved this spot, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TjoyceMontclairNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Johanne does a fantastic job of making you feel like family. This was our second family Christmas spent at Moxons and our third time staying at the hotel. It is a little out of the way (short cab ride from Ocho Rios, long cab ride from Montego Bay airport) but if you want to get away to relax and explore the "real" Jamaica, this is the place to go. Very personal service. Breakfast tends to be a bit long in arriving, but we always occupied our time waiting by playing backgammon or walking down to one of the 2 piers jutting into an amazingly blue/green ocean. We have made friends of many of the staff as well as local Jamaicans (met on our long walks up the mountain to Content, down to the beach at Rio Neuvo and into Oraccabessa) whom we visit every time we come to Jamaica. This is not your big, resort-style hotel and that is exactly why we love it so much!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

There was a bit of an issue with the booking process but it eventually was taken care of. We were asked by the owner to go down to the restaurant area and wait for the room. We are greeted with this "Amazing" view that frankly had me speechless for a moment. Beautiful location, the staff was very nice, very quiet! I snorkeled for my first time. I had to chance to play a game of pool. The overall experience at this location was great! The food took a little longer than expected but the meals were delicious. The bartender Omar made some of the best drinks I've had in years! Again the view is breathtaking! I recommend waking up early and just sitting out on the balcony and just take it all in. 15 min drive to the Ocho Rios Beach! If your looking to dance Margaritaville is a 20 minute drive from the hotel. (not too far from the beach) I plan to go back at the end of the year!

Thanks, Johnny Hill

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306 right next to the gong, which I thought was pretty cool. 3 Beds 1 Queen, 2 Ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J6Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Rooms are great, staff are friendly.... Food was very poor. Place was empty, very over priced. viinigar holder was very dirty, and the bar man sliced the lemon and used his finger to drop into drink! Would not recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
5.8 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,352 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
255 reviews
30.8 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
90.9 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#31 of 80 in Negril
1,382 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tamarind Great House
Tamarind Great House
#2 of 2 in Oracabessa
46 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moxons Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moxons Beach Club

Address: Boscobel, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range: £130 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20 room boutique hotel offers a self serve complementary continental breakfast , it is built on 4 levels cascading down to a private beach flanked by 2 large piers. We are on a one mile reef making this some of the best snorkeling around. 70% of the rooms face the sea with large private verandas. The other rooms face our charming courtyard. We do have a restaurant but also encourage you to tour our island and get the full Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Moxons Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moxons Beach Club Hotel Boscobel
Moxons Beach Hotel
Hotel Moxons Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing