We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good ammenities, great pool”
Review of Hotel El Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel El Bambu. The restaurant/bar was very nice. The pool was large and the water seemed clean and warm. Our room was plenty big and the a/c worked wonderfully. The bamboo in the middle of the lobby area (I am thinking from where the hotel gets its name) was all dead and just stumps. It was kind of sad. The town that the hotel is in is also fairly sketchy...especially right at the bus station which is just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Bambu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We must have been lodged on the "other side of the tracks" so to speak. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights while chaperoning a school trip. Our rooms were facing the street, not the "jungle". I didn't even know there was a jungle! The rooms were decent, but were old and smelled somewhat mildewy. Some would say the street was "noisy", while others would say it was "vibrant". My room faced the soccer field which gave me a nice view of the town, the locals playing chess, and the people chillin' in the street. One morning, we saw the open air market setting up, so we made sure to visit it! The people there were all very friendly, and the fruit was delicious. The internet did not work in our rooms, although it did work in the lobby and on the outdoor balcony overlooking the street. The staff was very friendly and wanted to make our stay pleasant. We ate in the hotel restaurant a few times, and had a lunch catered for us in a private area of the hotel one afternoon. We enjoyed the food there and seemed "authentic". The interesting thing is that when I look at some of the pictures on Trip Advisor of the rooms and bathrooms, I would never think it was the same place where we stayed! Our rooms were "old and tired". I think I read a previous review in which the person said to make sure you get the newer rooms - I concur! Our kids went to the pool, which was pretty big, but there were not a lot of lounge chairs, and the surrounding patio seemed old and in need of some makeovers.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the street
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

El Bambu Hotel

Near the bus terminal, this quasi-luxury hotel has a huge pool, nice restaurant ,and spacious rooms with A/C and deck overlooking a few acres of well kept "jungle."

Many of the rooms are reached via a covered boardwalk that heads back under the trees.

I noticed they were not booked up and asked for a 30% discount and got it. But really, the choices are slim in this town unless you're ready to fork out large dollars for one of the major tour lodges in this area, so look like you're about ready to do that.

Although I had to view 4 rooms before finding one that had less of a smell of mold & mildew.

If you find yourself in PV Sarapiqui I do recommend you stay at El Bambu. Just be selective about your room.

Room Tip: Don't accept one of the moldy smelling rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We have spent a lot of time in the region around Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui and had no idea this place existed till now. We would still strongly recommend Alex Martinez's Posada Andrea Cristina just south of town as a first choice: a great local small business, nice rooms in a lovingly kept garden and piece of jungle, very reasonable prices, sweet breakfast with tons of birds, and Alex is a fantastic character. But Andrea Cristina was full so we had to look elsewhere.

There are some real flea bag hotels around Sarapiqui and we were almost resigned to gritting our teeth and staying in one, when we discovered Hotel El Bambu right in the middle of town. With zero expectations, we were startled to find a big, semi-resorty, fairly upscale complex that stretches deep back from the sidewalk frontage in noisy little Sarapiqui, with a series of walkways that reach back into the jungle. We picked a room way in the back and were blown away to have one of the most 'jungley' nights of our lives--and we go out of our way to find that kind of thing. Howler monkeys roaring very nearby, two different kinds of antbirds calling, geckos and gorgeous scarab beetles landing on the screen door. Pretty cool, assuming you are likely coming to this area to go to La Selva and get into the local wildlife. And doubly bizarre with the front of the hotel right in the middle of town.

The rooms, grounds, and restaurant are all nice, pretty modern. This is a great alternative if you need a decent place to stay in the region (and Posada Andrea Cristina isn't available). Perfect launch spot for days at La Selva, just 5 minutes away. You can easily do this travelling by bus. Hotel El Bambu is right near the bus station, and there is always a lineup of taxis across the street that can whisk you off to La Selva for a couple bucks. Bank on north side of town a couple blocks up, several farmacias, a 'Super Sarapiqui' market around the corner past the bank. Good bus connections inland toward Quesada or La Fortuna, or toward Tortuguero (Guapiles etc), and a quick bus to San Jose.

Room Tip: For a slice of the jungle at night, ask for a room far in the back: howler monkeys and ant birds wil...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks like the Rainforest Cafe. The grounds are immaculate and there are exotic plants everywhere. The hard wood floor fells great ok my bare feet. Great shops and cafes right across the hotel. I haven't seen the other hotels here, and quite frankly there is no point looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wowirock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

As others said - don't be fooled by the unremarkable exterior view from the street. Inside everything is very nice. The lobby, the restaurant, the elevated and covered walkways to the groups of rooms, the pool area. The rooms are very nice and open to a nice patio right up against the forest. Although I can't give high marks to food anywhere in CR it was as good here as anywhere. The reception staff was especially nice, friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff was very accomodating and professional. The room was very clean and roomy with a comfortable bed. The pool was being continually cleaned and the pool deck being repainted. The whole place shows signs of continued maintenance even the machete work keeping the forest at bay from the patios. If one is staying in the town of Sarapiqui I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I think there is little difference in any rooms. If one has difficulty walking then there are some r...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I agree with another one of the reviews. This place is nice once you get past the front of the hotel. It is very exotic looking with the rain forest right outside your door. The staff was all very helpful also. I agree about the lamps. Not a lot of light for reading late at night but its enough. Id stay there again. Very good hotel for the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.2 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
644 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
166 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
442 reviews
20.3 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Bambu

Address: | En frente plaza deportes, Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui 3069, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Price Range: £68 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tropic rainforest in a small and welcoming hotel operated by a Costa Rican family just 82 km from San José. At the same time learn about our natural sustainable project, taste our delightful variety of plates in our menu restaurant, rest in superior rooms with queen size beds, air conditioning and terrace. Also take advantage of our safari tour on the Sarapiquí River or enjoy our adventure tours in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Bambu Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing