We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Puerto Viejo”
Review of Hotel El Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here two nights with a student group and found the hotel to be very comfortable. The reviews I read were pretty true. You want a room in the back part of the hotel. These rooms appear to be newer and the atmosphere is really great. As you walk toward the back, past the lobby and pool area, you literally enter the rain forest. Our room was almost at the very end of the elevated walkway and we seemed to be in the middle of the forest! The room was spacious and, although sparsely appointed, very comfortable. There was a nice balcony with a table and two chairs where you could enjoy the rain forest. The sounds are impressive- birds, frogs, and howler monkeys. The rooms in the main or front part of the hotel appear older and I'm assuming were part of the original construction of the hotel. I don't think there are a lot of choices in Puerto Viejo, but you will find Hotel Bambu to be adequate for your needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MexicoTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our room was #32. It was a large clean room, with tv and a large balcony. I thought it was very nice. I would stay there again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was good also. The pool was very popular.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It was OK, but I can not give it a great review because there were some problems. Were it is at was good, because you could to many places. You could see nature just out side. I got to see two iguanas and a family of howler monkeys.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Huge rooms. Nice bathrooms with wonderful showers that jet out endless hot water. Good restaurant onsite that is open late...breakfast isn't included, but the buffet is a good deal. Solid, professional management and friendly staff. Credit cards accepted, but by paying cash you can get an $80 room for half-price. Extremely close to the bus station. Not too far from a large grocery store. They have a pool and free internet, but I didn't use either. This is a very comfortable place...and if you've come from the Reserva Rara Avis, it is a godsend for recovery/rejuvenation...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at El Bambu 3 nights in January, and really loved this hotel. You enter the hotel from a noicy street, get your key at the reception, walk on wooden covered walkway to your room and suddenly you find yourself almost in the rainforest! With a nice private balcony from where you can observe beautiful and colourful birds. The bus station is next to the hotel, so you can easely reach Sarapiqui within two hours bus trip from San Jose (Estacion de buses al Caribe). Rooms are clean and okay with a good A/C. They also have a nice swimmingpool, although the deck chairs had seen better days and should have been replaced. The restaurant was very good, and was actually one of the very few alternatives in this little place, although we found a nice small restaurant for lunch next to the river.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VenaCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a room right at the back of the hotel in the trees, room 37. It was a very large room with 2 queen beds and 1 single and a balcony with chairs and table overlooking the bushes and trees. The room and bathroom were always kept very clean.
We loved being in this town which was very much a Tico town not a tourist town.
We took the bus out of town twice. Once we went to a National Geographic Destination, The Nature Pavilion just outside Le Virgen, which I have reviewed seperately, and once to Selva Verde Lodge. The buses were very good and kept to time.
Everybody we met out and about in town were very friendly and welcoming.
We ate every day in their restaurant and the food and prices were very good.
Lastly, all the staff were very helpful, especially the young girl on reception desk.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of a Spanish tour from the US (high school class from the Midwest). Our particular room on the top floor near the balcony which overlooks the main road, was small and very dated. Air conditioner worked well. Bathroom was interesting: no hot water, and the window right in the shower stall had no latch. It wouldn't shut all the way, let alone lock in any manner. The pool needed to be cleaned desperately. The open air hotel in combination with the restaurant smells and the odors coming from the Main Street out front made for a really stinky hotel. Our clean clothing needed to be laundered at the next hotel because it absorbed all the funky odors from the Bambu. Only really neat thing was all the howler monkeys in the trees in the mornings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
7.6 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
676 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
473 reviews
24 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
22.6 mi away
Hotel Suerre
Hotel Suerre
#1 of 1 in Guapiles
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Bambu

Address: | En frente plaza deportes, Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui 3069, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Price Range: £67 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Bambu 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the tropic rainforest in a small and welcoming hotel operated by a Costa Rican family just 82 km from San José. At the same time learn about our natural sustainable project, taste our delightful variety of plates in our menu restaurant, rest in superior rooms with queen size beds, air conditioning and terrace. Also take advantage of our safari tour on the Sarapiquí River or enjoy our adventure tours in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Bambu Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing