We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and full of character”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Andrea Cristina
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and full of character”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very friendly welcome by the family, serpentine paths through the tree and plant filled garden, rustic and spacious chalets. A fridge in the breakfast area for your beer, water or fruit.
I was able to get a photo of their famous red eyed frogs soon after checking in. There was road noise, but it was soon drowned out by the pouring rain. Alex was kind enough to show me the two rescue parrots and baby kinkajou that they are getting ready for release, the two resident sloths (1 rescue, 1 volunteer) were hiding in the tree-tops, Just the place to relax, or as a base for wildlife expeditions, or fun on water or horseback.
It is not 5* luxury, but for 35$ it is great value for money.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rejsharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    30
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
68
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
basel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

As pointed out before, the owners are very friendly, breakfast is excellent and there are lots of birds and even frogs to spot right on the facilities. The place is very close to La Selva and rooms are just great to relax in the evening. Drawbacks are the proximity to the highway and the omnipresence of wildlife (the nasty kind, too). Watch out for those ants crossing the paths!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaak_ionsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We spent 2 nights here, family of 3. Cozy hammock on the patio, 2 large beds, hot shower, excellent breakfast and very hospitable hosts. We took the early morning wildlife walking tour with Kevin, the owner Alex's son. He identified well over 30 - 40 different types of birds, fantastic.
Short walk into town for evening meals. Very beautiful grounds, a little noisy by the highway, but we still slept well. There was a sloth in the trees while we were there. A great place to stay while visiting the Sarapiqui area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My wife and I spent three nights in the original tree house during a surprisingly rainy period in late February and loved the adventure of it. As everyone says, Alex is a terrific person, really special, with amazing knowledge. His son Kevin is also extremely nice and a great birding guide, as we found out on a morning hike. The breakfasts are as superb as described, the frogs, sloths, and birds wonderful to see. Admittedly, one can hear the banana and pineapple trucks on the highway outside; bring ear plugs. But do not fail to stay here during your stay in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The tree houses really are in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rduples1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, this is the wrong place. If you love animals, plants and cozy accommodations, there is hardly any better! Alex is one of most friendly persons I have ever met and does this job only with passion! If you like frogs, just wait for until 6pm and open your eyes!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoscara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Alex Martinez runs a really charming place: the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious. He is a first-rate birder and can set you up with great local guides for bird and wildlife walks. There were sloths and baby sloths in the garden trees! We spent one night in a standard room and one night in the treehouse: both were perfectly lovely in their own way.

Room Tip: The treehouse is really fun! (But don't rent it if you're afraid of a little lizard now and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candace l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Alex the owner was the most friendly person we have met in Costa Rica! This B&B is a great family runned place. And the accommodations are nice. If you are going to Sarapiqui: Go to this place! Greetings Elisabeth and Robert

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
125 reviews
4.3 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
606 reviews
10.5 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
187 reviews
18.8 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
406 reviews
6.9 mi away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Andrea Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Andrea Cristina

Property: Posada Andrea Cristina
Address: Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Posada Andrea Cristina Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing