We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping in the rainforest”
Review of Hacienda Pozo Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda Pozo Azul
Hobart, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sleeping in the rainforest”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This unique adventure hotel is set up in the middle of the Costa Rican Rain Forest along the Sarapiqui River. The tents have running water and electricity. However, you're in the rain forest, using the lights at night will attract the bugs. We left our lights off for the most part and were able to stay out on the balcony until you couldn't see your hand in front of your face with very few bug issues. This hotel is also affiliated with the Pozo Azul adventures which provides rafting, canopy ziplining and horse back riding - all less than 10 minutes from the hotel. The staff was incredible at both locations and really made you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    37
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
27
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I checked in on august 23rd and check out on August 25th. The staff was really nice! The hotel staff woke up really early to prepare breakfast for us. At night they had a security guy walk around to make sure everything was in order. I felt safe at the place. If the staff is reading this message I WANT TO SAY THANK YOU!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I found this place by chance,we were on a day trip looking for a nearby lodge when we came across it and stopped to check it out. The first impression of the main area was nice,there is a nice restaurant and gift shop. At the reception area, we were welcomed and invited to tour the property, the person in charge was very friendly and when he saw that I had a camera with me, he proceeded to tell me about the trails in the property and the kind of birds that lived there. He then mention that the restaurant was serving a typical buffet for a charge of $14, but he would talk to the manager to give us a deal.
We had an hour or before the restaurant opened,so we went for a walk and came across a nice large organic garden with many types of plants and fruit bearing trees, the path took us through small plots planted with things like pineapples,sugar cane and many other crops grown all over Costa Rica.
On our walk along the trail, we came across a family of wild armadillos digging at the edge of the trail in search of insects. It was a delight to have a close up view of such rare animals and their babies. We also saw many species of birds and butterflies on our walk.
When we returned to the restaurant, we were informed that the restaurant was open and it would cost only $10 for lunch! The choices were limited, but the food was tasty,the coffee and dessert were very good; overall a great value.
There are many activities from whitewater rafting,horseback riding etc. We did not stay overnight,but we enjoyed the day and would recommend it as a day trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

To enjoy yourself at Hacienda Pozo Azul, you need to set your expectations. The accommodations are basic with electricity and water. There is a bathroom, which may or may not have hot water. You are sleeping in a family tent in the jungle, so you'll hear sounds of the native species which start well before dawn and continue into the day.

The Hacienda does provide breakfast. Dinner is expensive there, so you can either have the friendly staff at the front desk call a delivery order for you or you can walk or take a taxi into town. It's 2-3 km depending on whether you're at the lodging or the main restaurant into town.

Bring a flashlight as it's dark in the jungle in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tentsuites, Owner at Hacienda Pozo Azul, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Travlin_boy: Thank you very much for your comments, we are very glad to receive feedback from our visitors, as they provide us with ways to improve our lodge Pozo Azul Tent Suites. Pozo Azul Tent Suites is not a regular lodge, it is a rainforest experience, where we want to provide our visitors a special contact with the enormous biodiversity that surrounds us. As you mention in your comment, our visitors should have their expectations set to this experience. We regret very much that our communication regarding Tent Suites wasn't clear for you thereby your expectations were not met, affecting this your satisfaction. We will, therefore, work on improving our communication to help our visitors set their expectations to our lodge. Again, thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and helping us improve the service given to our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent one night here with a group of colleagues on a team building event. The experience was enjoyed by everyone. Upon arriving we checked in and were notified the camp was full of 8-12 year old kids with chaperones. Really wondered how that was going to turn out, but fortunately the parents did a great job managing them and overall the kids were great. It was actually great to see kids that age enjoying nature. Might want to check ahead of time though just in case a group has booked the place. We were asked to eat after the group had eaten, not a big deal, but that meant a late seating. The meals were good, buffet style with the typical Costa Rican flare, beans, rice, chicken. The kitchen staff was great and the seating comfortable in the outdoors. No worries the bugs for the most part stayed away. The tent rooms were certainly unique, I personally found them great. Beds were comfortable and we were fortunate enough to be there on probably one of the most comfortable nights of the year. Slept okay, but that was only because of laying in bed thinking about where you were sleeping. If you are tired you will sleep. The attached bathrooms are adequate, water temp a bit inconsistent, but if you are looking for luxury accommodations this probably isn't your place. Overall worth the experience, I would come back, but probably for no more than 2-3 nights. Simply put beautiful place, great scenery and a very unique experience!

Room Tip: There is really not a lot of privacy without putting down the tent flaps. If you get a chance you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

On a group tour and stayed one night here. Something different. Tents with attached bathroom.
Was surprisingly comfortable. Did sleep well with earplugs as the jungle sounds are not quiet and the night time rain was quite loud on the canvas. Delightful place and restaurant overlooks open ground. The breakfast staff were all pleasant and smiley. Lots of birds but did not hear howler monkeys which I was promised. Nice little walks in the jungle. A good choice for accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Spent one night here with a group I was traveling with... Got the best night's sleep of my nine days in Costa Rica.Tents provide plenty of privacy with an attached bath for each. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the dining area. Would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
0.2 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.4 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 5 in Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
30.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
12.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Pozo Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pozo Azul

Property: Hacienda Pozo Azul
Address: La Virgen, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in La Virgen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hacienda Pozo Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Pozo Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Pozo Azul Sarapiqui, Costa Rica - La Virgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing