We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with adventure, simple basic adventure hotel with AC for $40”
Review of Tirimbina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tirimbina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Yes all the reviews you have read in TA are true!
Yes not a luxury hotel. But a unique adventure with comfort amenities
for $90 plus tax ($15x2 entrance fee and $10x2 breakfast) for a base cost of $40/night.
Rooms:
ours single + Q, yes the Q is next to the wall. We just moved the night stand to another part of the very very large room then moved the bed away from the wall., Plenty of room for both of us to get out and used the single for our suitcases etc. Bed comfortable. AC worked extremely well. Crystal clear wall of windows (some one is washing them daily) with own bird show if inside looking out or sitting on patio. Simple tile floor and furnishings including safe and pleanty of hanging and get your stuff off the floor open storage.. Plenty of hot water- just let it run until it gets to you then it never stops. Yes water Is NOT potable so fill your pitcher from the water coolers for brushing your teeth.
Yes, as all over CR. TP goes into trash not toilet.
Other room choices: 2 bunks with AC, 2 bunks with no AC.
Food:
Missing: ice but water coolers everywhere with cold water, and cold drinks in cafeteria and can buy cola in gift shop
We loved the food. Simple typical tico but very well executed. We ate next door at the rain forest lodge one night (contiguous with a gate between). Their food on menu included chicken kiev but ok food but Tirimbina just done better.
Home made bread. Eggs to cook your style (just ask). 2 main dishes with rice, beans, plantains, salad, fruity ice tea or fruit juice, coffee and tea.
Tours:
Missing: mosquitos. never had to use deet
From your room or an the grounds : Flowers everywhere. Parking lot Toucans, just outside dining room macaws, hummingbirds, woodpeckers gorgeous "other" birds outside my patio. Red/blue legs frogs on my patio
Guided walk: birds galore, sloths, monkeys, snakes (running away form me of course), flowering bushes and trees.
Cocoa tour: a popular and big hit even for the skeptics
Lazy boat tour down the river: holler monkeys, iguana, birds galore, caymen crocs. The hotel even arrange pick up and drop off for us.
Tip: schedule your tours before you come. Big groups come in with prearranged tours. The front worked hard and found a places for us at but not clear that would happen.
Large tours (think 8 grade groups and large birder groups) come in for lodging and tours. Not feel crowded but not a place for luxury romantic stay- no room service etc.
I loved the place, the service, nature and food. Like an well done summer camp.

Room Tip: Note that some rooms are 2 bunks some with and some without AC. We choice the single and q room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The research center hotel is a fine place to stay and enjoy the nature of the area. The night walk is always a nice evening activity. Staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and fairly large, although they can be a bit noisy if your neighbors are enjoying the evening later than you

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We are rather puzzled by some of the rave reviews of this place. Maybe it depends where else you have been and where you have stayed. We stayed in a "de luxe" room, which was pretty basic and over-priced compared with other lodges we have stayed in. Our room was large and very simply furnished. The beds were not ver comfortable. We had a double bed and a single, but the double was pushed against the wall, so not good for a couple if one has to get up in the night and climb over there sleeping partner. The little patio was ok, but did not have the rocking chairs the website mentions.
The restaurant is more canteen in style and quality. The food is just basic Costa Rican fare, filling but very simple. Rice and beans at every meal. The staff were lovely, though. Other than a small gift shop there are no other facilities here. No bar, or anywhere other than your room to go to after an early dinner, unless you go on the night walk, which was excellent. This may not be a problem for guests with their own transport, otherwise you're pretty much stuck.
Many reviewers have praised the grounds and rainforest trails, and these are good, especially the long hanging bridge, but it is worth noting that for a small admission fee you can visit these without staying here. Same goes for the other tours people mentioned.
Would we stay here again? No way. The whole place had more the air of a hostel than a decent lodge. The only upside is access to the forest, and you don't have to stay here to get that.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms have private patios where you can watch the birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greenings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The actual accommodations here are just ok. But don't let that stop you from coming here. It was one of our favorite stops of our whole two week trip! The rooms are large, air-conditioned, clean, but plainly decorated. The beds were only average comfortable. But the patio was great to sit out on and watch the many different species of birds that flew by. The food in the restaurant was buffet, and I am not particularly a fan of buffet food. But I would come here again in a minute! Why? This lodge is part of a research facility, and they have trails into the rainforest, including the longest suspension bridge in the country which goes over the Sarapiqui River and offers a stunning view. You can walk the trails at your leisure which is such a great thing! You can also take a trail down to the river. Best of all, they offer a night hike with a guide which was so much fun! We saw sloth, raccoon, possum (a different species from North America), and a porcupine. Not to mention walking across the suspension bridge in the dark with only flashlights and the stars (so beautiful) to light your way! It is also not real touristy, so you can walk the rainforest trails and only see a few people during your whole walk. It is like being in the jungle all by yourself-loved it!

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room with a patio. It is so worth it just to relax and watch the wildlife from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

La Tirimbina is a fantastic "natural" location to stay in Costa Rica. By natural I mean that the priority of this ecolodge is ecotourism. This means the accommodations are comfortable, but this is not a resort, nor would I want it to be. The rooms are comfortable with bunk beds, air conditioning, daily maid service, a shower (using solar warmed water), and a beautiful porch. Breakfast (the only meal I had there) was delicious Costa Rican fare with warm personable service. However the main attraction of this site is the rain forest and the tours.

Manuel did a fantastic job with the bat and chocolate tours we were on. He was excited, entertaining, and even showed us his bat tattoo bashfully. Our guide for the rain forest was knowledgeable and passionate. He could tell you how frigs reproduced, and could sing to the birds and get a response.

Walking the amazing suspension bridge was just one of the many wonders of this organic, soulful place. The gift shop also had a wonderful array of hand made items, chocolate, and various tourist gifts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A great trip after a 20 minute nature walk across a 264 metre canopy bridge to the tended area where chocolate making is explained and you taste every stage of the production.rather expensive at $27 per person and the promised unlimited chocolate was just a few spoons of the liquid - shame at that price. be warned they will not allow you in without covered up feet, even open topped shoes were banned unless you had socks on and you would have to wear their wellies (without socks, so not an option) or sign a waiver negating them of any blame if bitten. The nature trek was not arduous and the only think likely to attack your feet were the leaf ants which generally dont bother - a little over cautious I thought. The chocolate tour was great fun - watch out for the hot stone and some of us got blisters from the heat and were not warned. Also saw a great preying mantis which kindly remained for numerous photos - a bonus!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tirimbina, General Manager at Tirimbina Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

So sad, that you can not appreciate our tour. We had some snakes accidents in the past, so this is why we ask to wear shoes, if this make you umcomfortable our apologies, but we are trying to keep you safe. The reason why we are not giving that much chocolate, is because we do not have a real plantation, is just some cacao trees, and we depend on others to bring the chocolate. next time we will have more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Tirimbina Lodge is the perfect combination of interesting tours and information about the jungle and a relaxing time. We stayed for just one night but had an amazing time. The chocolate tour with Michael and especially Dennis who was doing the demonstration was really cool.

The food could do with a little upgrade and the ladies with a smile, but otherwise a perfect stay! The hanging bridge over the river into the jungle is worth the trip itself!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
4.4 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
665 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
199 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
10.6 mi away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirimbina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimbina Lodge

Address: Tirimbina Biological Reserve, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
Price Range: £45 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirimbina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sarapiqui region, the Tirimbina Rainforest Lodge along the Sarapiqui River, is contiguous to a Biological Reserve of 852.5 Acres.We offer 12 comfortable rooms with A/C, safe deposit box, hot water, WI-FI, and phone. Enjoy our welcoming atmosphere and discover the exciting tropical forest, walking along several trails and suspension bridges of tropical forest and river discoveries from our study trails and bridges.Services (Restaurant, laundry , 24h security, a be-lingual staff welcomes)Facilities (souvenir shop, parking lot, A/C conference room, library, internet access) Attractions: (More than 9km trails, chocolate tour, bird watching, bat program, self walking tour, guided tour, night walking tour, eco education programs, volunteer and research opportunities and more) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Tirimbina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimbina Hotel La Virgen
Tirimbina Lodge Sarapiqui, Costa Rica - La Virgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing