We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 La Virgen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Sarapiqui Rainforest Lodge buildings are unique; six+- rooms are in a circular cone shaped building with a palm frond roof. The rooms are comfortable with a common covered porch (with chairs) that surrounds the perimeter of the building. Lighting levels are quite low, but this seems to be a common occurrence in Costa Rica. After all, you are in an ecolodge which strives to be environmentally friendly. For example, they are replacing the natural palm fronds with ones made of plastic (you can't tell the difference) in order to eliminate cutting down palm trees. The grounds are very nice and there is a small pool outside the main building which houses Reception, the bar, and the restaurant. The lodge is adjacent to the Tirimbina Biological Reserve. You really feel like you are in the rainforest. Birdwatching is great; there are hundreds of different birds that you will see just walking the grounds or sitting on your porch. You can cross the river on an 860 foot long swinging bridge and wander through the rainforest on a variety of trails (a guide is recommended, particularly since they can identify flora and fauna for you as well as get you back safely). We also went to a presentation on the many different kinds of bats one evening; got to touch several bats that had been caught by the researchers at the biological reserve. Food was quite good; the ever prevalent buffet for tour groups. You can expect rice and beans as part of just about every buffet. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fosoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel looks very traditional and fits in to its surroundings beautifully. We arrived in the afternoon and chose (from many outdoor activities) the Chocolate Tour, which was a delight and was one of our favorite things on our tour. We were shown the ancient and traditional way of making chocolate from cacao trees on the property - in an outdoor open air shed, not a factory, and we enjoyed the guides and the tour very much. We then crossed a suspension across the Sarapiqui River and into the rainforest, where there were narrow trails for those who wanted to hike. Our room, as noted in another review, was spartan and not at all well lit, but it was spacious and clean and had a double as well as a single bed. The bath was small but adequate. Dinner and breakfast were fine, and the grounds are very pretty. For once on this trip it didn't rain us out of our planned activity, tho' we did have late afternoon and evening rain. November is not the best month for Costa Rica. Some of the buildings had plastic on the roofs instead of the thatch, which made it seem a little shabby. Others on our tour were pleased with rafting, horseback riding, etc., but we recommend the chocolate tour - a unique experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bojean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We found the Centro Neotropico Sarapiquis (aka Sarapiqui Rainforest Lodge) to be more than adequate. The room, while spartan and not terribly well lit, was spacious and the bed comfortable. Our bathroom actually looked like it came from a more upscale lodging facility, so we were very pleased with it. The room was located in one of a number of palenque, a circular building with a faux thatched roof. No bugs noted, which I found amazing since we were in the rainforest. We arrived late in the day, but I still had time to walk the grounds and spot several species of birds. There is a paved, winding garden walk near the main building; I found the garden to be well-manicured. The features that pleased me most were the dinner and breakfast buffets. They were wonderful, with a much wider selection of tasty offerings than I expected -- entrees, side dishes, desserts. Outside of the drenching downpour the morning we left, nothing to complain about and lots to like. Oh, yes, the Cacao tour was very worthwhile and informative. There was also a white water rafting trip offered; the folks who did that activity rated it highly as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

traditional cabins nice gardens good breakfast spacious room

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I was really looking forward to our stay in this hotel. The pictures from the site were so nice (traditional wooden cabins , wonderful swimming pool. Driving in the lane to the hotel we saw the tops of the roofs were in plastic, and the garden wasn't so well maintained anymore. After a night sleeping I was full of bites on my arms. Checking the matrass, just a simple sheet was covering the matrass, and I so all dirty spots man man man ... and small black things were to be seen on the sheet. I went to the reception, and they were not surprised... but tried to find a solution. Wonderful service of them ! We could change from room to the backside of the hotel. A kingsize bed, great clean and newer bathroom, thicker towels, and clean matrass ! Talking to our neighboor she mentioned that she was traveling with a group of americans and that their guide had arranged the best rooms for them. Check this out before booking !

In all we are pleased with the service of the hotel, and a wonderful relax with a cocktail at the swimming pool. Start bird watching !

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BennyFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The Sarapiqui Rainforest Lodge is quite a nice place to stay. The "native" style habitat is interesting and being next to the Tirimbina Reserve is wonderful (if you can take the "cocoa tour", be sure to do so). The room itself, although not air conditioned, was spacious and very pleasant. Although as a result it was quite hot and humid at night, the beauty of the surroundings, especially in the morning, sitting outside and watching many birds swooping and perching more than made up for that.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravlelingFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Arrived after a very long trip, didnt realise that the road past Poas volcano has been closed for many months since an earthquake, so had to return to Heredia and then take highway 32 and 4, which once we were on them, were pretty quick.

Only two other couples were staying at the hotel. When we arrived the receptionist, female, was less than happy to see us. The 3 available tours are all over priced and a waste of time. The archeological site is a few holes in the ground surrounded by stones in an unkempt garden. The botanical garden has no flowers, which could be the time of year, but the path was treacherous as very slippery. The museum was also closed.

The swimming pool looked toxic and uninviting. We had planned to stay for 3 nights, but checked out after one as we had no water or electricity throughout our stay. The evening buffet was non existent too. We were offered salad for a starter, followed by either meat or fish for main. No menus, significantly overpriced at 15 dollars.

The only positive from the stay was an excellent guided trip in to Tirimbina with a guide called Willy who really new his stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
0.1 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
178 reviews
4.3 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
676 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
203 reviews
19.2 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
471 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge
#2 of 3 in La Virgen
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge

Address: La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica (Formerly Centro Neotropico Sarapiquis)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Virgen
Price Range: £62 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SarapiquiS Rainforest Lodge, built as a pre-Columbian village and because of an outstanding concept of ecotourism and conservation of indigenous culture - a unique model in Ecotourism in Costa Rica. Proudly we have level three in Certification for Sustainable Tourism, officially certified by the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) The hotel has six ecological structures Palenque type: four units for bedrooms, one with air-conditioned rooms, Amphitheatre and a central building with lobby, restaurant, bar, a photo gallery, administration and boutique gifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Neotropico Sarapiquis Hotel La Virgen
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge Sarapiqui, Costa Rica - La Virgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing