We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Unique Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 La Virgen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Clean rooms. 1 full and 1 twin bed in our room. Bathroom with a huge shower - window to common area does not have any sort of screen but we had no problems with bugs. No A/C but the area is amazingly beautiful. They food was fine. Drinks are charged to your room. The service was great!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

On the plus side the hotel gardens are beautiful, with many birds. The next door hotel has its own rainforest "Tirimbina" with many trails. You have to pay an entrance fee at the next door hotel and cross a supension bridge across the river into the forest (doesn't open til 7am unfortunately). Although it is not easy to see wildlife you can hire a guide. We did it on our own and spent two whole days in the forest , and our patience was eventually repaid with motmots, antbirds, toucans, a tinamou,agami heron (!) and an ocelot(!). well worthwhile, even though it seemed quiet for long periods. Our hotel itself was slightly disappointing mainly because of large tour groups at dinner and poor quality lukewarm buffet food. For a rather posh hotel this was the worst food we had in Costa Rica, although the breakfast was good. The rooms are a bit sparten too. However would recommend for the gardens and the rainforest alone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent two nights here with an OAT tour. The 'palenque' lodging was very interesting and the property was wonderful. There was so much wildlife, flora and fauna to see. It was very helpful to have an OAT Tour Leader to help us identify birds and flowers and tell us the natural history of the area.

The room itself was clean and spacious. It was not air conditioned, but the large fan kept me very comfortable. The shower had great water pressure, though the temp fluctuated randomly. The bed was comfortable but mine did not have a mattress pad under the sheet so the bottom sheet slipped around a lot.

The swimming pool was excellent and very visually appealing. The meals we had here were buffet style and there was great variety. The fresh fruit and juices were also very good.

They have a small gift shop and right next door is the Tirimbina bat study facility. We had a great presentation about bats one evening - they were even able to catch some bats so we could see them up close and personal. Very informative!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATerrapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel configuration was in the style of the original Ticos and was certainly unique. All cabins were circular with a thatched roof and 9 rooms. The rooms were very basic - no TV, radio, A/C but the beautiful sights and sounds of the rainforest more than made up for this. The staff was very, very helpful and the food was outstanding. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was more than adequate. There is a demonstration of the pottery making as the Ticos did it many years ago that you can enjoy as well.

Room Tip: If you need a place to get away from the stress of your life, this is a wonderful start.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowagirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were on a small group tour,Easter week,staying in lodges. It seemed like this place is popular on that circuit of travelers.
Hang out in the pool,check out lizards and birds. Walk through the botanical gardens on the grounds-plants are labeled-but they can't label the wildlife.
We slept with just the screen door shut and now that I'm home I really miss the critter sounds.
Definitely go to Tirimbina Biological Reserve and catch their enthusiasm for cute little bats.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eusnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We were on a tour, and this was there choice. It was a good one. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The 6 unit huts are unique. Each unit has a private patio. The front desk had little bats on the high ceiling, a neat picture! This hotel is next to the Tirimbina Biological Reserve, where bats are studied. The talk on bats was one of the best I've ever heard. The young man giving it was so enthusiastic about his subject, you had to leave liking the little critters! There are some walking trails, and a large pool. The food is good, tho basic. The dining room looks out over a lawn full of trees, shrubs and flowers. In the morning the bird feeder is filled with papaya and pineapple, so you eat breakfast with some really colorful birds!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We loved this indigenous-styled lodge with its roundels and thatch set in beautiful grounds. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed extremely comfortable and we loved the clothes hangers!! The bird life was wonderful with so many species to see. All the staff were delightful and welcoming and made our stay a great experience. The food was excellent.
A visit to Tirimbina next door added to our enjoyment - with a 'bat-experience evening'.
While at Sarapiquis, we did a walking tour at La Selva Biological Station, where the tropical rainforest certainly lived up to its name - but didn't dampen our enthusiasm. We had a great guide, who used his laser pen to help us spot wildlife and despite the rain, we saw a great deal. The work that is done here is very impressive and important to the future of our world.
We'd recommend Sarapiquis to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy and Denni... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
0.1 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
168 reviews
4.3 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
650 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
19.2 mi away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
446 reviews
15.0 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge

Address: La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica (Formerly Centro Neotropico Sarapiquis)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Virgen
Price Range: £63 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SarapiquiS Rainforest Lodge, built as a pre-Columbian village and because of an outstanding concept of ecotourism and conservation of indigenous culture - a unique model in Ecotourism in Costa Rica. Proudly we have level three in Certification for Sustainable Tourism, officially certified by the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) The hotel has six ecological structures Palenque type: four units for bedrooms, one with air-conditioned rooms, Amphitheatre and a central building with lobby, restaurant, bar, a photo gallery, administration and boutique gifts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Neotropico Sarapiquis Hotel La Virgen
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge Sarapiqui, Costa Rica - La Virgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing