We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but family rooms not very cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 La Virgen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We really liked this hotel. The reception area and the restaurant is an open area without walls in the middle of a nice garden. The breakfast and dinner buffets are good (but not excellent) for Costa Rican standards. You can see a lot of birds in the garden and there are some short footpaths in the surrounding "jungle". The location of La Quinta is good for visiting La Selva Biological Station (recommended) or for rafting on the Sarapiqui river.

What we didn't like was the family room that were very basic with just four beds, no other furniture, white plain walls, and cold fluorescent light.

Except for the family room, we had a great time in Sarapiqui and we would be happy to return (then choosing some other rooms).

Room Tip: Avoid family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenSkibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

We saved the last few days of our trip in Costa Rica to spend time at one of our favourite lodges. Upon arrival we were given the friendliest of welcomes by the owner and shown to a delightful room. I believe all rooms have been upgraded since our previous visit and the one allocated was most comfortable and in an enchanting setting overlooking a garden and the river. The grounds are quite extensive and great for those who like to enjoy birds and indeed the many other small wildlife to be explored there. Great care is taken by the staff to keep the bird feeding station replenished and it is always rewarded with an exotic array of birds.

The swimming pool is of a good size and maintained in top condition. The restaurant served us a good selection of food and drinks with coffee available throughout the day. We found everything about the place to be both relaxing and charming and in particular the friendliness of the staff made for a memorable stay. Special thanks to Beatrix for the kindness displayed on all our visits to La Quinta.

Janet and Roy. United Kingdom

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieAnne_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Generally a nice place, if a little tired, with nice gardens and a splendid bird feeding station that attracted an excellent array of birds in the morning. Clean and tidy but the food was unexceptional and the noise of heavy lorries, presumably from the nearby pineapple fields, using their engine breaking early in the morning was sometimes very noticeable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Spent just one night here as part of our August 2012 family holiday in Costa Rica. Staff are pleasant and helpful (the barman was a bit grouchy) but the whole place is in need of a freshen up. Huts were plain but comfortable and set (like most Costa Rican hotels/lodges) in pretty gardens and the buffet food was of a reasonable standard. Pool towels seemed in very short supply. Take plenty of insect repellent or you will get bitten. Fun to watch the beautiful birds come down and eat the fruit that's put out for them by the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaggyQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I should mention we dont care for the resort/lifestyle type of travel and were in Costa Rica purely for eco-tourism. Beatriz, Leo and their manager (Adrian?) were the the nicest & kindliest people on our entire trip and helped with advice, help with bookings, translation etc. They really knew their stuff and were great hosts.
On our first day I remember going to Leo and requesting a banana shake. He look at me funny and said why come all the way to Costa rica and have banana - you should try my cantaloupe fruit shake. It was delicious. He remembered me and made me a new fruit variety everyday. This inn was full of these little personal touches and where we finally started to have fun. Before this, we had stayed in the Guanacaste area in these isolated resorts that gave us no flavor of the local community or wildlife. We were just dollar bills to those people.

Room Tip: You're here to see the birds and sights but if you also want to sleep-in on occassion, bring ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This property was on day four of our 12 day trip.
The Inn was a good location for the tour to the pineapple farm and the white water rafting.
The inn had wi-fi in the lobby .
The rooms are basic and had the feeling of a ski lodge as the room had two beds.The rooms are clean
The food was buffet and food ok. They have nice grounds and a small butterfly garden.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suntripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at LaQuinta-Sarapiqui last week as part of a tour group. Upon arrival we checked the bedding and the condition of our room as we always do. Our fitted sheet had five stains across the middle, each about two to three inches wide. It took several minutes for the woman at the front desk to understand that we wanted them changed. However, they were then changed pretty quickly. Unfortunately, the next set was very pilled - almost like sandpaper. Overall, the entire complex was poorly maintained and the food was mediocre. After the cleanliness and good food at our somewhat rustic lodging in Tortuguero, it was a huge disappointment. Of the five different lodgings we stayed at while on a tour of Costa Rica, it compared very unfavorably. The complex does have great potential and could be good if it were brought up to the standards it may have had years ago. The rooms are a good size and the private patio with hammock and two rocking chairs was very nice. Some items, though, like the bedding, need to be replaced and the entire complex needs a thorough cleaning and renewal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2seniors53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
3.5 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
658 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
169 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Pozo Azul
Hacienda Pozo Azul
#1 of 4 in La Virgen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge

Address: | 95 kilometers from San Jose, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Virgen
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Sarapiquí Lodge is a simple but charming hotel, located 95 kilometers from San José. This perfect destination combines a tremendous biological diversity with comfortable accommodations, easy access and personalized Costa Rican hospitality. It is an ideal base for both casual and avid birders. Our lodge has 5 rooms in bungalows, most of them accesible by wheelchair, complemented by a roofted porch with a hammock and rocking chairs. Our rooms are surrounded by tropical gardens rich in heliconias, gingers, palms and flowering trees, which are home to hundreds of different species of flora and fauna. On site features include a butterfly house, a frog land, lush tropical gardens, two swimming pools, reforestation area, vegetable garde, animal production units and pathways along the riverside. We also offer homemade jams cooked with a 100% renewable energy using products from our gardens. One of the very few Costa Rican hotels certified with 5 leaves in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta De Sarapiqui Country Hotel Sarapiqui
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge Costa Rica - La Virgen
Country Inn Sarapiqui
Sarapiqui La Quinta
Sarapiqui Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing