We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodge but shame about the butterfly garden....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 La Virgen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here for one night on a recent small group tour of Costa Rica.This is a very spacious lodge, family owned and run, with about 50 rooms on a large site next to the river, including a butterfly house and two small shallow swimming pools. A 1500m trail winds around the property with well established vegetation and resident caiman in one pond. They cater for birders, wildlife enthusiasts and actively encourage wildlife: there's a living roof and feeding station for birds that attracts tanagers, hummingbirds and other colourful species. Night walks around the property provide another chance to spot other wildlife, including a wide variety of photogenic frogs. Rooms are spread out with secondary seating areas offering hammock and chairs either overlooking the river or the gardens. My river view room was disabled friendly (which I didn't require), clean and adequate but the deck, views and comfy hammock made up for any shortfall in decor or design. Although the lodge was fully booked, we didn't feel cramped and noise levels were low. Food was buffet style with plenty of choice and lots of fresh fruit and veg. 24/7 tea and coffee was a treat! Good eco credentials with plenty of produce grown on-site but just one gripe: the butterfly garden was badly in need of renovation. The mesh was covered with leaves and the small number of specimens inside were battling to reach any available light. Please either set the butterflies free or overhaul this attraction so that it reflects best practice in providing a healthy habitat for butterflies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

La Quinta strives to have little, to no negative impact on its immediate environment and that is evident in every aspect of their property. The local owners have spared no expense to ensure that their quaint lodge is held to the highest sustainable standards. Complete with a butterfly garden, river bank, a pond )that serves as a home to 3 caimans), 2 swimming pools, a small farm, beautiful landscapes, a delicious restaurant and housing for both families, couples and large groups, La Quinta was my favorite Eco-Lodge that I stayed at through-out my trip in Costa Rica. Their customer service is excellent and my group was very much taken care of. Not to mention how DELICIOUS the food was. La Quinta is great for both groups and families. All of our excursions including white water rafting and a pineapple tour were just a few minutes away. You can read more about my stay in Sarapiqui here...http://livinitupashayup.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/costaricasarapiqui/

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at La. Quinta de Sarapiqui for a couple of nights. It's quite a simple inn, we had one of the better rooms with a veranda that felt like we were in the rainforest. Staff were very nice here. A bit off the beaten track so too far to walk to nearest small towns, we had buffet that was offer each night. Favourite place it seems with uni and student groups , visiting area as part of studies. Good place for just sitting watching birds and monkeys, bats flew into our veranda at dusk.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BucksLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We recently stayed at La Quinta with a large family group spanning 3 generations and had a fantastic time. Even before arrival, one of the owners, Beatriz, patiently spent a lot of time with us arranging excursions and transportation. Our rooms were spacious and clean but basic. The grounds were beautiful with plenty of wildlife and the facilities were fine. We felt very relaxed and welcome. The food was healthy, plentiful and delicious. We were within a short drive to many wildlife viewing opportunities as well as zip lining and rafting. Arenal Volcano was a nice day trip from La Quinta. We enjoyed cooking lessons and a fiesta night with dancing, ice cream making and a piñata. There were no crowds or long lines.

If you want a five star facility with gourmet restaurants then choose a big name hotel. This was much better for a family group...an authentic family run inn that felt like home while we were there. Many thanks to Beatriz, Leo and Ana for your warm hospitality. I highly recommend La Quinta.

Room Tip: Our family was in a section called Kinkajou Town. The rooms there are perfect for families. Each had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on a large family vacation and loved our time there. There were wildlife including monkeys, frogs, caimen, birds and butterflies throughout the grounds. Our children enjoyed exploring the large gardens and grounds. The staff provided fishing equipment for them to catch fish in the creek. We had the opportunity to meet a group of students at a local school when one of the staff acompanied us. Our children loved seeing and learning about kids their age. We took several tours and zip lined within 15 mins of the hotel. The staff was awesome, they made our large group feel very welcomed. The kids loved the pool. The rooms are simple but provide all that is needed. The family even enjoyed an evening of cooking and dance lessons. We would recommend this hotel to any travelers that are looking for an authentic, Costa Rican experience and enjoy wildlife!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBGraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Everything about this place is sad.

Rooms: "exfoliating" & thin towels, pilly sheets, AC set to 24C , no adjustments allowed, just on/off, towel bar loose, hot & cold water in sink reversed, broken shower head, broken safe, bathroom tile looked like it was installed by someone doing it for the first time. Walls so thin one can hear a conversation next door.

Staff: no manager in sight, unable to answer the most simple of questions ie:what is the second key for? (For patio door...) front desk closed at 9.

Dining: marginal buffet. Avoid if possible. Fruit & coffee at breakfast are good. Clueless staff who cannot answer what is in a dish (needed to know if vegetarian)

Grounds: sad, poorly maintained. Large screened butterfly garden with 3 butterflies. Woke to the sounds of trucks and chain saws nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenagamez, Propietario at La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We are all very sad to hear you had a bad stay at La Quinta.
Please allow us to give you the explanation that you deserve.
While this is not a luxury hotel and we do not advertise as one, we do expect a level of excellence and we assure you that we will act based on your comments.
We wish that you, or your guide, would have brought these complaints to the front desk, where Beatriz the owner and manager checked you in, so we could find a solution.
There are always members of the staff on duty regardless if the front desk looks closed. We live here. During your stay, we were also training staff and that is the reason why they were not able to answer your questions. We apologize for this situation.
The air conditioning is set to 24C but every room has a remote available for check out, with no charge, to lower or raise the temperature. The safe also has a key available, with no charge, to open and lock the safe. Both can be found at the front desk where the other members of your group checked them out for their rooms.
Had you brought these problems to the front desk we would have been able to resolve most of your complaints.

Our Sincerest Apologies,
La Quinta Owners and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here. Saw an amazing array of wildlife and enjoyed the accommodation, especially the lovely outside area with a hammock. I enjoyed a full body massage for fifty dollars which lasted a full hour and ten minutes. One of the best massages I have ever had!
Food was fine and the customer services were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
3.5 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
659 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
169 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Pozo Azul
Hacienda Pozo Azul
#1 of 4 in La Virgen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge

Address: | 95 kilometers from San Jose, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in La Virgen
Price Range: £85 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Sarapiquí Lodge is a simple but charming hotel, located 95 kilometers from San José. This perfect destination combines a tremendous biological diversity with comfortable accommodations, easy access and personalized Costa Rican hospitality. It is an ideal base for both casual and avid birders. Our lodge has 5 rooms in bungalows, most of them accesible by wheelchair, complemented by a roofted porch with a hammock and rocking chairs. Our rooms are surrounded by tropical gardens rich in heliconias, gingers, palms and flowering trees, which are home to hundreds of different species of flora and fauna. On site features include a butterfly house, a frog land, lush tropical gardens, two swimming pools, reforestation area, vegetable garde, animal production units and pathways along the riverside. We also offer homemade jams cooked with a 100% renewable energy using products from our gardens. One of the very few Costa Rican hotels certified with 5 leaves in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta De Sarapiqui Country Hotel Sarapiqui
La Quinta Sarapiqui Lodge Costa Rica - La Virgen
Country Inn Sarapiqui
Sarapiqui La Quinta
Sarapiqui Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing