We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful days”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Virgen, Sarapiqui, Province of Heredia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Maggie465...
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful days”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and me stayed the first 3 nights of our trip through CR and here was a wonderful start. The house is perfect for nature lovers, you have it all just around you, but you feel absolutely safe. Every morning and evening we enjoyed the short different tracks to the wonderful food of Rita and her warmhearted personality. Howlers and frogs in the night toucans and many other birds. Wendy books you tours if she is working outside. The area around is very good to make your first steps in a foreign country.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r0xanne14
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience!!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I went to Wendy's eco guest house in July with my parents, husban and my 2 kids (5 and 7 yearls old). It is definitly our best memory of our trip to Costa Rica. The family is so welcoming. My kids loved the animals on the farm and had the chance to milk the cow. The meal was a delight. The hawlers monkeys were right beside the house. We also saw toucans! If you go there, you absolutely need to get to the waterfall. I hope I can go back one day to see the hole family again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Lorna...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you so much to Cristel and her parents! Me and my sister really enjoyed the experience, staying in an Eco House. The food Cristel's Mother cooked on our first night was the best food I had in Costa Rica and I also enjoyed milking the cow with her Father, Don Eduardo. The location is brilliant and the tour recommendations were great too.
Zoe

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mallyred
Castro Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An exceptional rainforest paradise hosted by an amazing family!”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My two sisters and I were delighted with our (6) day stay at Wendy's Eco Guest House in Sarapiqui! It was a thrill being in a beautiful eco-friendly house in the middle of a rain forest, visited by howler monkeys, three different kinds of toucans, green parrots, and a plethora of other wildlife while being song to sleep each night by the jungle songs. Wendy and her family were amazing hosts and made us feel like part of their family. We had planned to eat with them only a few times, but we ended up eating every breakfast and dinner because of the scrumptious meals cooked by Wendy's mom and delightful conversations! The food was always delicious, served beautifully, and prepared with love! We thoroughly enjoyed Wendy's waterfall tour, Luis' river rafting tour, Geiner's night tour, and of course, don't forget the sustainable chocolate tour. All the tours were awesome and the tour guides exceptional both in their knowledge as well as their hospitality. We would go back to this rain forest paradise in a heartbeat!! If we could give Wendy's Eco Guest house more than 5 stars, we would!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous family experience surrounded by nature”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Wendy's Ecohouse. The house itself is very spacious and set in a forest, so the only sounds you hear are birds, frogs and the rest of nature. It's just a couple of minutes' walk up to Wendy's family's house, where you can enjoy delicious Tico food with the family. We did a birdwatching tour with Wendy which was really great - we saw lots of brightly coloured birds and she made it interesting for our two small kids. They are building a second ecohouse so hopefully more people can experience this lovely place. We'd love to come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcumby
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful! A true Costa Rican experience.”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What an amazing experience! We were a couple looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience away from the tourist throngs and boy did we get it! Even though the property is just a few minutes drive from some fairly significant tourism attractions, including one of the longest suspension bridges in the country, when you are onsite it feels like you are part of a beautiful family farm. The eco-house is hidden behind the family's residence in a private and secluded grove with no neighbors, just the birds and the monkeys. The house itself is a marvel. Built from native materials by Wendy and her family, it is spacious and inviting and fully appointed with a modern kitchen bedrooms and baths. The house is a fascinating architectural marvel and is great for a couple, though with three bedrooms a larger group or family would be comfortably accommodated. Wendy shares her hostess duties with her incredibly lovely family (it's her mom who makes your breakfast and meals). You eat with the family at their table and the food is locally-produced, totally authentic and delicious (and Wendy's mom really piles it on-we could never finish the huge portions). You feel totally included; you are a part of the family. Wendy herself is an inspiring young woman with boundless enthusiasm and an incredible knowledge of the local nature and culture; her nature walks are highly recommended (we took the night tour with her and it was one of the best experiences we had in a month of exploring Costa Rica). She is articulate, kind, and intelligent, and was very responsive to any need we had during our stay. In summary, my wife and I had a wonderful time with Wendy and her family and we would happily return for another stay. If you want the real Costa Rica, this is your place.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FeistyNom...
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best of rural tourism”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Spent two nights at the guest house, the first in a heavy downpour, and the second in a chorus of jungle sounds. Hard to imagine a better way to experience the Costa Rican rain forest. The guest house is rustic, and not bug-proof, but is comfortable, secluded, and easy to access. We very much enjoyed visiting with Wendy and her family, the farm animals, and the nighttime frog tour. And the absence of tourists (other than ourselves). Meals were delicious, locally sourced, and more than we should have eaten. Spanish language skills helpful but not required.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing