We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kathryn B
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom

Did what it said on the tin

Review of Olde House
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Jun 2014
Comfortable stay, spacious room, food reasonable, good pub grub. The hotel is set in a housing estate which was a surprise. It's an old farmhouse originally with modern additions. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Just a shame about the location.
Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£114
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £117
  • Algotels
    £107
  • Official Hotel
1.2 miles from Olde House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn bedroom
PremierInn.com
£46
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • Algotels
1.4 miles from Olde House
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£46
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
1.5 miles from Olde House
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Travelodge
£49
  • Vio.com
1.2 miles from Olde House
Free parking
Booking.com
£80
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £86
  • Agoda.com
    £80
1.6 miles from Olde House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £41
  • ZenHotels.com
    £40
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Olde House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    £66
  • Booking.com
    £84
3.0 miles from Olde House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£145
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £145
  • Expedia.com
    £145
  • Tripadvisor
    £145
2.8 miles from Olde House
Breakfast at Harleys Bar.
Booking.com
£80
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    £75
  • Agoda.com
    £80
4.2 miles from Olde House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £140
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £139
3.9 miles from Olde House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Newbold
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
126
100
39
23
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
126
100
39
23
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub peak district nice stay plenty of hot water stayed here for one night following morning car park comfy bed visiting chesterfield an overnight stay full english breakfast chatsworth house bath fayre peaks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We recently organised a 60th birthday party at one of the Olde House's function rooms and decided to stay overnight to make life easier. We could not have made a better choice.

Right from our first enquiry we were met with pleasant, helpful staff and every query or suggestion we raised was treated with a positive, "can do" attitude. On the night itself, the party went swimmingly. All the staff worked hard, providing all we asked for on time and cheerfully. The food we had chosen was excellent and plentiful and everyone had a great time.

The rooms we had booked to stay in overnight were large, clean and comfortable, and furthermore, reasonably priced.

The Olde House then went well beyond the call of duty in kindly agreeing to let 11 further family members, who were staying elsewhere in the town, join us for breakfast. This was only arranged late on during the party evening, but on the morning itself, a long table for 18 was laid out for us all, the additional guests welcomed warmly and an excellent breakfast served. We must have created a lot of extra work for the staff, but were never made to feel we were being a nuisance.

At the end of the weekend, even a small confusion over the bill was quickly and pleasantly sorted out.

As a party venue and pleasant place to stay, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Olde House and would certainly use the hotel again.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twotartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our third stay in this hotel and its picked for its convenience to the peak district and in particular Baslow where we do a charity walk of 14 miles. The rooms are large and very clean but I would not describe them as executive. Good powerful shower with plenty of hot water and large towels, too often the towels will barely go round my waist (36 inches) in other hotels so I am always pleased to get one of a decent size. Bed comfortable. The rooms are well away from the pub and the function room so you do not get any noise from those areas but as there was a wedding at the venuwe this time around we were awoken by noise of other guests returning to their rooms a little worse for wear. Breakfast is very good and cooked to order. Have eaten evening meal at the pub each time I have stayed and I think the menu is going downhill in terms of choice however if you like your food portions massively 'man sized' you will not be disappointed.

Room tip: All the rooms away from pub and function room but I would recommend the first floor rooms to have minimum interuptions.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, very comfy bed, spacious rooms and friendly staff.

Surprisingly peaceful given how busy the pub side of things is. Would definitely stay again as it poses great value for money. Good quality breakfast too!

Near the Town Centre, couldn't comment on evening menu as didn't eat there but looks nice enough.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KrisMarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here as we going to a concert at the football ground so it was an ideal location. Very friendly staff the guy who checked us in was lovely and he booked us a taxi to go out later on. The rooms are advertised as "executive" but even though they were clean and comfortable I wouldn't rate them as executive they need a little TLC around the edges. Good value cocktails when we got back after the concert and breakfast on Sunday was lovely too.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great place to stay for exploring the Peak District. Staff were very friendly and welcoming explaining everything about our stay. Even though the hotel rooms are part of a pub, the rooms were at the back and were very quiet and clean and modern and we had a very comfortable nights sleep. Great cooked breakfast. Very hard working and friendly staff. You can even buy real ale here and take it back to your room! And a great price for a night's stay. We will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrMrsHappyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews