We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£58
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
£58
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Julia C
Romford

Highly recommended

Review of Olde House
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jul 2014
Have spent 3 nights at the Olde House , Chesterfield with friends. The rooms are spacious with good facilities. It's very quiet and the beds are comfy. The staff are very friendly.
Breakfast are very filling. Choice of cereals, yoghurt , fresh fruit and juice. The cooked breakfast is lovely, especially the bacon! You can have as much toast as you want as well as tea and coffee. Looked forward to the breakfast each morning.
We also ate in the restaurant each evening, it being a Marston's Pub. What a great choice. Thoroughly enjoyed every meal we had.
Loads of car parking areas.
The hotel is ideal for visiting Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area. Thanks a lot to all the staff.
Date of stay: July 2014
Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 and our friends in Room 12. Very quiet.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
    0.3 miles from Olde House
    Booking.com
    £114
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      £120
    • Vio.com
      £84
    • Expedia.com
      £117
    1.2 miles from Olde House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Premier Inn bedroom
    PremierInn.com
    £46
    • Trip.com
    • Vio.com
    • Algotels
    1.4 miles from Olde House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    PremierInn.com
    £46
    • Trip.com
    • StayForLong
    • Vio.com
    1.5 miles from Olde House
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Booking.com
    £58
    Fully refundable
    • Tripadvisor
      £58
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      £58
    0.0 miles from Olde House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £65
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      £65
    • Vio.com
    1.5 miles from Olde House
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Travelodge
    £49
    • Vio.com
    1.2 miles from Olde House
    Free parking
    Guest room
    Booking.com
    £41
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      £40
    • Expedia.com
      £41
    1.8 miles from Olde House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £81
    • Expedia.com
      £98
    • Agoda.com
      £66
    • Priceline
    3.0 miles from Olde House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £118
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      £130
    • eDreams
      £118
    1.7 miles from Olde House
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Newbold
    Reviews (324)
    Filter reviews
    325 results
    Traveller rating
    126
    100
    39
    23
    37
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    126
    100
    39
    23
    37
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews the pub peak district nice stay plenty of hot water stayed here for one night following morning car park comfy bed visiting chesterfield an overnight stay full english breakfast chatsworth house bath fayre peaks
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    236 - 241 of 325 reviews
    Reviewed 2 July 2014

    Lovely room at very reasonable price. Surprisingly quiet so slept well. Staff all lovely. Perfect breakfast. Will be regular visitors when in area from now on. Great bar and food menu. They really try hard to please you.
    Thankyou.

    Date of stay: July 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank john d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 2 July 2014

    the hotel is a bit out of the way.. if your drinking its a bus or taxi ride into town didn't like having to walk through the pub cases in tow on a busy friday evening a seperate entrance would be better, the room was a good size here's what we found .... bed was to soft and pillows hard i know thats a personal thing but thats us.. the sink plug was stuck down had to prise open so we could get the water down.. the bath filled up when you had a shower.. the soap dispenser wasn't refilled ...bed made properly.. the window was near impossible to open ..thank god there wasn't a fire.. the food in the pub was ok ..breakfast was good though the staff here very good and in general good ..apart from ..the cleaning staff who need to be shown how to dust and hoover properly also some of the fixtures and fittings needed to be maintained /upgraded i know it isn't five star but to clean properly costs next to nothing in real terms but can impress so much

    Date of stay: June 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank heanoid
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 June 2014

    Comfortable stay, spacious room, food reasonable, good pub grub. The hotel is set in a housing estate which was a surprise. It's an old farmhouse originally with modern additions. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Just a shame about the location.

    Date of stay: June 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank DorisandGeorge
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 June 2014

    We recently organised a 60th birthday party at one of the Olde House's function rooms and decided to stay overnight to make life easier. We could not have made a better choice.

    Right from our first enquiry we were met with pleasant, helpful staff and every query or suggestion we raised was treated with a positive, "can do" attitude. On the night itself, the party went swimmingly. All the staff worked hard, providing all we asked for on time and cheerfully. The food we had chosen was excellent and plentiful and everyone had a great time.

    The rooms we had booked to stay in overnight were large, clean and comfortable, and furthermore, reasonably priced.

    The Olde House then went well beyond the call of duty in kindly agreeing to let 11 further family members, who were staying elsewhere in the town, join us for breakfast. This was only arranged late on during the party evening, but on the morning itself, a long table for 18 was laid out for us all, the additional guests welcomed warmly and an excellent breakfast served. We must have created a lot of extra work for the staff, but were never made to feel we were being a nuisance.

    At the end of the weekend, even a small confusion over the bill was quickly and pleasantly sorted out.

    As a party venue and pleasant place to stay, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Olde House and would certainly use the hotel again.

    Date of stay: June 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank twotartan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 June 2014

    This was our third stay in this hotel and its picked for its convenience to the peak district and in particular Baslow where we do a charity walk of 14 miles. The rooms are large and very clean but I would not describe them as executive. Good powerful shower with plenty of hot water and large towels, too often the towels will barely go round my waist (36 inches) in other hotels so I am always pleased to get one of a decent size. Bed comfortable. The rooms are well away from the pub and the function room so you do not get any noise from those areas but as there was a wedding at the venuwe this time around we were awoken by noise of other guests returning to their rooms a little worse for wear. Breakfast is very good and cooked to order. Have eaten evening meal at the pub each time I have stayed and I think the menu is going downhill in terms of choice however if you like your food portions massively 'man sized' you will not be disappointed.

    Room tip: All the rooms away from pub and function room but I would recommend the first floor rooms to have minimum interuptions.
    Date of stay: June 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Ian M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews