We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't spare the horses”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horquetas
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“They don't spare the horses”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful location. As soon as we arrived, saw otters fishing and playing in the river. Went swimming in the river which is part of the grounds, kingfishers flying all around and the mysterious sounds of the forest our soundtrack. Saw iguanas and toucans and all manner of beast that evening.

Room was big, but gloomy. Food was plentiful, but dull and overpriced. Staff were friendly. The rain forest trail was entertaining.

BUT we had a horse ride booked. On arriving at the stables, we were presented with pitiful and decrepit nags. The bones were sticking through their haunches, there were open sores around mouth and flanks. The alleged guide had spurs. Not only are they unnecessary, we saw plenty of locals riding without spurs, so it's not a cultural thing. if this resort makes such a song and dance about its commitment to wildlife, surely that care should extend to its own ani mals.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan_Crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    59
    27
    9
    12
See reviews for
40
71
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arborfield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The website for this hotel makes it sounds like something extra-ordinary. It really is not that special. The location is OK - by car you have to cross two narrow wire bridges to reach the 'rustic' looking hacienda-hotel. That theme continued throughout the 'resort'. We had booked two junior suites with jacuzzi on the deck. When we arrived at the reception we were told one of the jacuzzis was not working. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned with a stunning view of the park around the lake of the hotel and featured a wonderful deck. Coffee making facilities and a small fridge are provided. We were surprised to notice that there were only 8 guests staying at the hotel which has at least 60 rooms, including the four of us. What is wrong with this place? The girl at reception did not speak English and there was no information available what we could do at or around the hotel. We decided not to eat at the hotel restaurant as it looked very empty and 'passed its sell-by date'. The spa jacuzzi area at the hotel was being repaired and the pool itself was dirty. The pool was cleaned the following day as we asked for this to happen. Again, there is a lot of wildlife to be seen in the grounds of the hotel. We noticed a hummingbird nesting on our deck and took pictures of wonderful small red frogs. However, we could easily have foregone this hotel and not missed a great deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmitUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Not too flash, but really comfortable and large room with bathroom and shower situated on the riverfront. Awoke every day to a cacophony of birdsong. Lovely deck meters from the river. I loved this mountain eco retreat and would go again anytime. It's not the Four Seasons, rather locally owned, friendly staff, good food. The drive from San Jose to the resort with the tour company was a little on the sketchy side – narrow road and pouring in the rain forest, but the driver took us to a truck stop and we feasted on local, yummy fare. Go and enjoy the outdoors.

Room Tip: Not a business centre, but you can get internet in the outdoor lobby. Horses, swimming pool, zip lin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at this resort for 11 days, The grounds of the property are really remarkable, and it is quite extensive.
The rooms are ordinary, and could do with a some refreshment; However, they are clean and comfortable and provide good value for the cost. We were quite happy with the meal choices, some night buffet, and other nights ala carte. We felt the food was pretty tasty!
We enjoyed some horseback riding on the property as well and there are several spots one can go for a swim or dip in the river.
The staff at this property are top notch; they went out of their way to assist us with all our needs and requests.
We had a no hot water issue one day, and the matter was resolved by late afternoon after we reported it to the front desk.
Expect to see lots of nature here, so pack a pair of binoculars. Many birds on the property.
We saw a large Cayman alligator as well on our last day! A real treat...
If you like to walk, you will love this place! Several walking trails on the property.
We purchased a few jewellry items at the gift shop, which were ok.
However, many items in the gift shop are not priced and when brought to the counter, you may
be in for a surprise. We were going to buy a cold drink holder, but when quoted $15 US at the counter we declined. Exact same item in a San Jose market was $3.50. US
I would prefer if prices were clearly marked on items, so the staff don't seem like they are pulling numbers out of the air.

All in all, most satisfactory and we would go back.

PS Who needs an alarm clock? The Howler monkeys will wake you up with their loud noises early in the morning between 5 and 6. If you are a light sleeper, use earplugs!

Room Tip: If you like air conditioning, then book a room with AC or its only a fan. We found that was suffici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayToronto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is well situated. The terrace outside our room had lovely views over the river and we enjoyed watching for birds and trying to spot iguanas in the trees on the far bank. Binoculars are a must for your packing list. The room itself was ok but the furnishings and decor are tired. The beds have four posters but no drapes. We managed to hang a mosquito net using an overhead lampshade so this provided protection during the night. Geckos are attracted to the outside mesh and you can hear their squeaks, which I found added to the experience. The food was quite good but the menu was a bit limited and prices were never displayed. Our bill for two days lunch, 3 course dinner and soft drinks was £65 for two adults which seemed reasonable. The location is wonderful. On the way to the rainforest walk we had beautiful views of the mountains, it was a lovely clear day. The hotel has extensive grounds which are excellent for exploring on foot. The bird life was amazing. The staff were excellent and tried very hard to please. I hope the owners decide to invest some money on refreshing the rooms. This hotel could be excellent with a bit of effort put into maintenance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwerty2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I enjoyed this Eco-Lodge. The grounds are lovely, but it is a bit remote and the accommodations are very basic (no air conditioning, only screens in the windows). This is not a luxury eco-lodge - which is precisely why I liked it. This resort is a bit difficult to find. It is located at the end of a dirt road and you will need to cross a few bridges with some questionable structural integrity. I do not recommend arrival after nightfall. But once inside, I really appreciated the "ambience" of the rain forest and the sound of the animals. If you love birds and tropical flowers and don't mind the sounds of howler monkeys, you will like this place. The staff was very accommodating and friendly and the food was very good.

Room Tip: It depends on what you like. The more "rustic" rooms are located close to the lodge and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkambinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The room was not particularly clean, the windows were all screen instead of glass which meant the heat was unavoidable, and the doors weren't able to fit snugly so bugs got into the room. The only food access was the restaurant, which had pretty bad food and was overpriced. We went ahead and took the horseback riding to the water pool, which was nice except that the horses were very poorly treated. Finally, the internet was only available in the restaurant or reception.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwalindroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
9.5 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
626 reviews
11.7 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
159 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hotel Suerre
Hotel Suerre
#1 of 1 in Guapiles
110 reviews
16.6 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul

Property: Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Address: 12 | Sarapiqui, Horquetas 3630-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horquetas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul has a unique rustic elegance style where good taste and nature stand out. It is a magnificent place to rest and detoxify both mind and body. Sueno Azul is the perfect blend between nature and comfort. With an excellent panoramic view towards lakes and mountains, its 64 rooms are beautifully decorated with a rustic touch, furnished with Queen beds, ceiling fan or air conditioning, private bath with hot water, hair dryer, safety box, and a private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing