We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda La Isla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed here back in 2010 for nearly 6 weeks as I was working in the area. I absolutely loved my stay here. I felt at home. The owner Jean-Pierre and his family are fantastic hosts along with the amazing service of his chambermaid/cook. The lodges have a boutique feel and therefore never overcrowded. The swimming pool feels like it is almost set amongst the forest and each morning we took a dip before work a monkey would swing down and play from the over-hanging branches.....idealic....there was wildlife everywhere and Jean-Pierre would always be on hand to inform us of every creature. Everything had an outdoors feel, from the tv room to the bar and restaurant areas....all connected with little stoned pathways. This would also make a very romantic stay and I will definitely return some day soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room that has the overhead rotating fans as this will aid a more comfortable ni...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda La Isla Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

We decided to go to this hotel during our Flexivoucher trip just after we arrived in Costa Rica; a beautiful hotel to get used to the environment and allow ourselves a slow start. The owner was very nice and the premises were very quaint. We loved our room and the seccluded swimmingpool next to the forest's edge, not to mention the hotel's own trail, which we walked with the owner's dog. The minor disadvantage we can name in our room is that the bathroom is seperated from the living/sleeping area with walls but not a ceiling, which causes the room to get damp easily. Another minor disadvantage is that the rooms can only be reached by walking over the other room's terraces. The major disadvantage we can name about the hotel itself was the ridiculous price we had to pay for dinner. This was our first day in Costa Rica, and especially from a hotel owner who originates from a neighbouring country, we didn't expect to have to pay the jackpot for a very tasty, but otherwise not that special dinner. We payed over 100$ for a three course meal, and although it was nice we had better -and- more haute cuisine dinners during our trip for less. We immidiately learned to ask for prices before ordering anything, but honestly we never found another place where we felt ripped off more than we did than at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building, furthest away from the reception; that way you won't...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolanda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We did spent 2 nights in this marvellous place in August 2012. First surprise was the wonderful location, really in the middle of nature between forest, bush and a small creek. The next good thing was the welcome by the owner, Jean-Pierre. Not only did he make us feel at home, but we got a detailed explanation about the area and the possibilities to explore it at best. Our room was very nice, and the decoration was "in style" and tasteful. No airco, but a ventilator could keep it comfortable. The experience of a tropical rain- and thunderstorm while sitting outside on the patio, is one that you would not like to miss. Also not to miss is the dining at the outside restaurant : with a view on the creek and a small alligator looking at us from litterally only 10 feet away, the kitchen surprises with traditional local dishes with a modern flavour. A good selection of wine makes the evening complete and makes you ready for a quiet night in this paradise. Don't miss out on the recommended excursions to "Frogs' heaven" where you will be turned into an expert on these wonderful Costa Rican animals, or the "Night Walk in the rainforest", a bit scary but fascinating to walk around between giant ants, colourful spiders and snakes crossing your way once in a while. The swimming pool is a bit cold, but this was compensated by the sight of a Jesus Christ Lizard walking across over it ! Definitely a place where Costa Rica is at its best !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

When we arrived at the lodge we were warmly received by Jean Pierre and his dog. After we put our luggage in our room, we started the walk through the forest, a nice trail on the lodge's own grounds. The dog was joining us! Afterwards the cool beer on our private porch was very good! The rooms are spacious and well equipped. In the evening we had dinner in the restaurant. Both choices, fish and meat, were very tasty! So all in all a place that we truly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights with our family at La Hacienda. The personal hospitality of Jean-Pierre and the service of his staff was awesome. They do anything to make you feel at home, the rooms were very comfortable, From the terrace at the restaurant you have a wonderfull view at the garden and pound with its beautifull plants and wild animals such as a cayman. You can make a really nice walk at the Hacienda property to discover a lot of wild animals and beautiful flowers and plants. A lot to do and see in the neighbourhood, like rafting, horse-riding, hiking, canopy's etc. We had both evenings dinner at Jean-Pierre's restaurant, and the meals were great, very fresh ingredients and everything prepared with care and a personal touch. A wonderfull place to stay, which we highly recommend to everybody who intends to travel to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidy-Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Costa Rica is an overwhelming experience... and there are some jewels in the crown. Like Hacienda La Isla. A few hundred meter off road, and suddenly... hundreds of miles from 'Western hectic reality'. Nature, optima forma. Tranquility. A small scale honest accommodation, with all the comfort you can wish and even more hospitality. If you want a 'whow' experience, want the experience of being 'one of the lucky ones' ... visit the Hacienda!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We toured Costa Rica in September 2011. We were very surprised when we saw the rooms! Very beautiful and very clean! The food was also very good, as were the fruitcoctails. :-)
In the early morning, we went for a walk in their wonderful garden. Lots of animals and plants.
The owner was very friendly and took his time to chat with everyone who wanted.

Room Tip: Every room has its own theme. So, be surprised! :-)
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saapken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
9.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
139 reviews
18.4 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
166 reviews
17.1 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,291 reviews
19.1 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda La Isla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda La Isla Lodge

Address: Horquetas, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Horquetas
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda La Isla Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in the foothills of the impressive Braulio Carrillo National Park, the Spanish colonial-built Hacienda La Isla Lodge is very well located in the center of numerous top attractions of Costa Rica.A perfect gateway for your visit to the rainforests and the adventure sites (rafting, canopy, horseback riding, etc.) of Sarapiqui, the exotic Caribbean beaches, the active volcano Arenal or the world famous Tortuguero canals and sea turtles. Guests will encounter the mysteries of the rainforest while enjoying a comfortable stay in the historically designed rooms of the hacienda. Hacienda La Isla lodge is a unique departure from the common tourism experience in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda La Isla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda La Isla Hotel Horquetas
Hacienda La Isla Lodge Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing